Das Potenzial der Kundenbindung nutzen

Bild eines Laptops

Einzelhändler sind gerade dabei, mit der Terminologie für den Customer Experience-Markt Schritt zu halten – einige weithin akzeptierte Schlagworte in CX-Kreisen sind Omnichannel, Clienteling, Assisted Sales und Endless Aisle. Aber es ist die Interpretation dieser Begriffe durch die Einzelhändler, die sich als größere Herausforderung herausstellt. Einige verschmelzen Omnichannel mit Multichannel und andere denken, Klientel bedeute einfach, besonders nett zu Kunden zu sein. Kundenbindung ist viel mehr als das – sie ist der Schlüssel zu Kundenbindung, Wahlmöglichkeiten und Loyalität, und 45 % der Einzelhändler in einer kürzlich durchgeführten Umfrage von Red Ant stimmen zu, dass dies eine Priorität ist.

Wir befinden uns in einer Welt, in der Kunden Marken allzu leicht fallen lassen, wenn die Erwartungen nicht erfüllt werden, wie PWC berichtet, dass 46 % aller Verbraucher eine Marke aufgeben, wenn die Mitarbeiter sich nicht auskennen. Wenn sie Marken sehen, die es gut machen, wissen Kunden, dass diese Fähigkeiten vorhanden sind und dass es viele Tools zur Erfassung von Daten gibt – sie erwarten, dass eine Marke „weiß, wer ich bin“. Die Unterstützung der Customer Journey durch dedizierte Software und die Veränderung der Einzelhandelskultur, um sich um die Kunden zu kümmern, ist für Marken von entscheidender Bedeutung, um Einnahmen zu erzielen.

Was ist Klientel?

Clienteling ist eine perfekte Mischung aus Technologie und menschlichem Fachwissen, die die Customer Journey unterstützen und die Beziehung zwischen Kunde und Marke aufrechterhalten kann – dies kann entweder mit einem Verkäufer oder mit Tools zur Unterstützung geschehen. Es kann die Beziehungen zu Kunden ausbauen, indem es mit ihnen in Kontakt tritt und die richtigen Informationen bereitstellt, sei es per E-Mail, SMS oder Chat.

Kundenbindung bedeutet, die richtigen Kundendaten zu nutzen, um einen Verkauf zu unterstützen oder zu steigern, idealerweise mit einer einzigen integrierten App, auf die Ladenmitarbeiter im Geschäft und online auf einem Gerät zugreifen können, um eine Eins-zu-Eins-Verbindung zwischen Kunden herzustellen. Durch die Verwendung einer Plattform für die intelligente Anwendung von Kunden- und Produktdaten können sich Filialmitarbeiter als Markenbotschafter und vertrauenswürdige Berater etablieren und einen wirklich personalisierten Service bieten.

Berater können Erkenntnisse aus Daten zu historischen Einkäufen, Gewohnheiten und Einkaufspräferenzen der Kunden ziehen, kombiniert mit Details zum gesamten Produktsortiment des Einzelhändlers. Besonders wirksam bei
Angesichts der zunehmenden Nachhaltigkeitspräferenzen der Kunden können Berater Informationen zu ethischer Herstellung und Nachhaltigkeitsnachweisen anbieten, um ihre Bedürfnisse zu befriedigen. Intelligente Analysen des Kundenverhaltens geben Ladenmitarbeitern die Gewissheit, Produkte, Dienstleistungen oder Veranstaltungen vorzuschlagen, ob im Geschäft oder virtuell. Zu den besonders ansprechenden Funktionen der Kundenbetreuung gehört die „Kundennachverfolgung“, mit der der Filialmitarbeiter erinnert werden kann

Follow-up mit dem Kunden während eines Verkaufsprozesses oder um eine Benachrichtigung über wieder auf Lager befindliche Artikel zu machen. Kundenanalysen können Einzelhändlern mitteilen, wer ihre umsatzstärksten Kunden sind, damit sie sie in der Kundenbindung, z. B. in Chats, angemessen ansprechen können. Einzelhändler können sich bezüglich einer Kundenreparatur oder Online-Bestellung mit Kunden in Verbindung setzen. Beispielsweise kann ein Luxusjuwelier einen Kunden über die Größenänderung seines Rings auf dem Laufenden halten – die App ermöglicht es dem Ladenmitarbeiter, den Reparaturfortschritt zu verfolgen, um die Erwartungen eines Kunden zu verwalten und ihn während des gesamten Prozesses zu begleiten.

Klientel ist nicht nur dem Luxusgütermarkt vorbehalten und kann an alle Größen angepasst werden
und Arten von Einzelhandelsgeschäften durch die Integration der Kanäle zu den Kunden, um ein nahtloses Erlebnis zu schaffen – eines, bei dem sich der Kunde durch sein Browsing- und Kauferlebnis wirklich unterstützt fühlt.

Vorteile der Kundenbindung

Die Verbesserung der Fähigkeiten der Filialmitarbeiter, ein besseres Kundenerlebnis zu bieten, kann sich direkt auf das Endergebnis auswirken. Laut den Beratern von Attune geben Kunden, die Kundenerfahrungen gemacht haben, jährlich 3.5- bis 4-mal mehr aus und werden mit 33 % höherer Wahrscheinlichkeit Stammkunden. Die durchschnittliche Warenkorbgröße ist ebenfalls um 63 % größer als bei „nicht kundengebundenen“ Kunden.

Umsatzsteigerungen sind darauf zurückzuführen, dass Kunden empfohlene Produkte im Geschäft oder online kaufen, dank nahtloser kanalübergreifender Warenkörbe und Follow-up-Kommunikation, bei der Ladenmitarbeiter Kundendaten verwenden, um für sie nachzubestellen, Cross-Selling oder Upselling. Eins-zu-eins-Beratungen ermöglichen es Einzelhändlern, ein bestimmtes Erlebnis zu präsentieren, wie z. Diese können verwendet werden, um ein bestimmtes Erlebnis oder eine Veranstaltung zu starten, Styling-Tipps zu geben und können im Geschäft und virtuell angeboten werden.

Clienteling kann zusätzliche betriebliche Effizienz fördern, beispielsweise durch Vermeidung von Bestandsverzerrungen, bei denen eine Unter- oder Überbevorratung von Produkten andernfalls zu Gewinnverlusten führen kann. Ebenso große Vorteile werden innerhalb der Belegschaft des Einzelhändlers gesehen, da sich ein Filialmitarbeiter, der mit allen Kunden- und Produktinformationen, die er benötigt, in einer App ausgestattet sind, sachkundiger, engagierter, produktiver und motivierter fühlt. Business Resource Leaders Expert Market berichten, dass Unternehmen mit engagierten, vernetzten Mitarbeitern eine Produktivitätssteigerung von bis zu 25 % verzeichnen. Die eigene OnePoll-Umfrage von Red Ant unter 1,000 Filialmitarbeitern mit Zugang zu Tools zur Kundenbetreuung zeigt, dass 65 % sagen, dass sie ihre Arbeit besser machen, und 63 % sagen, dass die Tools ihnen geholfen haben, den Umsatz zu steigern.

Überlegungen, bevor Sie beginnen

Es gibt einige wichtige Überlegungen, um das volle Potenzial der Kundenbindung auszuschöpfen. Um voll wirksam zu sein, müssen die Kunden- und Produktdaten eines Einzelhändlers über alle Kundenkanäle mithilfe einer Omnichannel-Plattform integriert werden. Die effektive Nutzung dieser Informationen macht die Kundenbetreuung zum Erfolg. Erfolg besteht nicht nur darin, die Werkzeuge zu haben, sondern sie richtig einzusetzen. Das heißt, bevor Sie beginnen, ist es wichtig, sich auf die Probleme zu einigen, die Sie lösen möchten, und darauf, wie Sie sie lösen können.

Vor allem ist ein Umdenken wichtig, um eine langfristige Kundenbindung aufzubauen. Obwohl es einige Wochen oder Monate dauern kann, bis das Kundensystem und die Prozesse etabliert sind, werden alle Tools und Technologien, die Sie einsetzen, unterstützt, wenn Sie die notwendigen Änderungen an Ihrer Kultur vornehmen, um sich um Ihre Kunden zu kümmern.

Von: Lydia Hawkridge, Head of Strategy and Implementation bei Red Ant

Ab Initio arbeitet mit der BT Group zusammen, um Big Data bereitzustellen

Lukas Konrad • 24. Oktober 2022

KI wird zu einem immer wichtigeren Element der digitalen Transformation vieler Unternehmen. Neben der Einführung neuer Möglichkeiten stellt dies auch eine Reihe von Herausforderungen für IT-Teams und die sie unterstützenden Datenteams dar. Ab Initio hat eine Partnerschaft mit der BT Group angekündigt, um seine Big-Data-Management-Lösungen auf BTs internem...

Die Metaverse verändert den Arbeitsplatz

Lukas Konrad • 28. Februar 2022

Wir betrachten die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten, wie das Metaverse den Arbeitsplatz und die Arbeitsweise von Unternehmen verändern wird, mit Kommentaren von Phil Perry, Head of UK & Ireland bei Zoom, und James Morris-Manuel, EMEA MD bei Matterport.  

Metaverse: Die Zukunft ist da!

Erin Laurenson • 24. Februar 2022

Wir haben einige Meinungen von Experten der Technologiebranche zum Metaverse eingeholt, darunter Lenovo, Alcatel-Lucent Enterprise, Plumm und Investment Mastery.

Embracing the potential of clienteling

image of a laptop

Retailers are just about keeping up with the terminology for the customer experience market – some broadly accepted buzzwords within CX circles include omnichannel, clienteling, assisted sales, and endless aisle. But it’s retailers’ interpretation of these terms which is proving more of a challenge. Some conflate omnichannel with multichannel and others think clienteling means just being especially nice to customers. Clienteling is much more than this – it’s the key to customer engagement, choice, and loyalty and 45% of retailers in a recent Red Ant survey agree it’s a priority.

We’re in a world where customers all too easily drop brands if expectations aren’t met, as PWC reports 46% of all consumers will abandon a brand if the employees are not knowledgeable. From seeing brands that are doing it well, customers know these capabilities exist and that there are lots of tools to capture data – they expect a brand to ‘know who I am’. Supporting the customer journey through dedicated software and changing the retail culture to start caring about customers is vital for brands to build revenue.

What is clienteling?

Clienteling is a perfect blend of technology and human expertise, which can support the customer journey and maintain the relationship between customer and brand – this could be with either a salesperson or tools in place to support. It can grow relationships with clients by engaging with them and providing the right information, whether it’s by email, SMS or chat.

Clienteling means harnessing the right customer data to support or elevate a sale, ideally using a single integrated app, which can be accessed on a device by store associates in-store and online to provide a one-to-one connection between clients. Using a platform for the intelligent application of both customer and product data allows store associates to establish themselves as brand ambassadors and trusted consultants and give a truly personalized service.

Consultants can draw insight from data on customers’ historical purchases, habits and shopping preferences, combined with details of the retailer’s entire product range. Particularly effective in
light of customers’ increasing sustainability preferences, consultants can offer information on ethical manufacturing and sustainability credentials to satisfy their needs. Smart analysis of customer behavior gives store associates the confidence to suggest products, services or events, whether in-store or virtual. Some particularly engaging features of clienteling include ‘customer follow-up’, which enables the store associate to be reminded

Follow up with the customer during a sales process, or to make a re-stocked item notification. Customer analytics can tell retailers who their top spenders are so that they can appropriately address them in customer engagement, for instance, chats. Retailers can connect with customers regarding a customer repair or online order. For instance, a luxury jeweler can keep a customer updated on their ring resizing – the app allows the store associate to track the repair progress to manage a customer’s expectations and hand hold them right through the process.

Clienteling is not just the preserve of the luxury goods market and can be adapted to fit all sizes
and types of retail business by integrating the channels to customers to create a seamless experience – one where the customer feels truly supported through their browsing and buying experience.

Benefits of clienteling

Improving store associates’ abilities to give a better customer experience can directly impact the bottom line. According to Attune consultants, customers that have experienced clienteling spend 3.5 to 4 times more annually and are 33% more likely to become repeat customers. Average basket size is also 63% bigger than for ‘non-clienteled’ customers.

Sales increases are due to customers buying recommended products, in-store or online thanks to seamless cross-channel baskets and follow-up communications, which see store associates using customer data to reorder for them, cross-sell or upsell. One-to-one consultations allow retailers to showcase a particular experience, such as a makeover, to make a high return on their clienteling investment. These can be used to launch a particular experience or event, to give styling advice and can be offered in store and virtually.

Clienteling can drive additional operational efficiencies, for instance through preventing inventory distortion, where under- or overstocking of products can otherwise result in loss of profit. Equally big benefits are seen within the retailer’s workforce, as a store associate who is empowered with all the customer and product information they require on an app feels more knowledgeable, engaged, productive and motivated. Business resource leaders Expert Market report that businesses with engaged, connected employees see productivity increase by as much as 25%. Red Ant’s own OnePoll survey of 1,000 store associates with access to clienteling tools reveals that 65% say they are better at their job and 63% say the tools have helped them increase sales.

Considerations before you start

There are some key considerations to achieving the full potential from clienteling. To be fully effective, a retailer’s customer data and product data must be integrated across all customer channels using an omnichannel platform. Effectively using this information is what makes clienteling a success. Success is not about just having the tools, it’s about using them in the right way. This means before you start it’s important to agree the problems you want to resolve and how to solve them.

Above all, a shift in mindset is vital to develop long-term customer loyalty. Although it can take a matter of weeks or few months to get the clienteling system and processes established, making the necessary changes to your culture to start caring about your customers will support any tools and technology you put in place.

By: Lydia Hawkridge, Head of Strategy and Implementation at Red Ant

AI alignment: teaching tech human language

Daniel Langkilde • 05th February 2024

However, Embodied AI refers to robots, virtual assistants or other intelligent systems that can interact with and learn from a physical environment. In order to do this, they’re built with sensors that can gather data from their surroundings, with this they also have AI systems that help them analyse data they collect, and ultimately learn...

CARMA announces acquisition of mmi Analytics

Jason Weekes • 01st February 2024

CARMA announces acquisition of mmi Analytics, expanding expertise in Beauty, Fashion, and Lifestyle sectors The combined organisation is set to redefine the landscape of media intelligence, providing unparalleled expertise and comprehensive insights for PR professional and marketers in the exciting world of beauty, fashion and lifestyle.

Managing Private Content Exposure Risk in 2024

Tim Freestone • 31st January 2024

Managing the privacy and compliance of sensitive content communications is getting more and more difficult for businesses. Cybercriminals continue to evolve their approaches, making it harder than ever to identify, stop, and mitigate the damages of malicious attacks. But, what are the key issues for IT admins to look out for in 2024?

Revolutionizing Ground Warfare Environment with Software-Enabled Armored Vehicles

Wind River • 31st January 2024

Armoured vehicles which are purpose-built for mission-critical operations are reliant on control systems that provide deterministic behaviour to meet hard real-time requirements, deliver extreme reliability, and meet rigorous security requirements against evolving threats. Wind River® has the partners and the expertise, a proven real-time operating system (RTOS), software lifecycle management techniques, and an extensive track...

The need to prove environmental accountability

Matt Tormollen • 31st January 2024

We are currently in the midst of one of the most consequential energy transitions since records began. The increasing availability of clean electrons has motivated businesses in the UK and beyond to think green. And for good reason. Being environmentally conscious attracts customers, appeases regulators, retains staff, and can even gain handouts from government. The...

Fuelling Innovation in Aftermarket

Jim Monaghan • 31st January 2024

One section of the motor trade is benefitting from the cost-of-living crisis: with consumers keeping their cars for longer, independent repairers are in huge demand. But they are also under pressure. Older cars need more repairs. They require more replacement parts, tyres and fluids. With car owners looking for value and a fast turn-around, independents...

The return of the five-day office week

Virgin Media • 25th January 2024

Virgin Media O2 Business has today published its inaugural Annual Movers Index, revealing four in ten companies are back to the office full time, despite widespread travel delays and disruptions With 2023 cementing the cost-of-living crisis, second hand shopping and public transport use surged as Brits sought to save money Using aggregated and anonymised UK...