Wird Technologie die Menschheit vor dem Klimawandel retten?

Kredit: Cisco

Der Klimawandel erreicht einen kritischen Zustand. Wird künstliche Intelligenz uns alle vor dem drohenden Untergang retten oder verschärft sie das Problem sogar noch?

Das Land kam an dem Tag zum Stillstand, an dem Boris Johnson zum nächsten britischen Premierminister ernannt wurde. Das Chaos in Großbritannien in der vergangenen Woche wurde jedoch eher vom Wetter als von politischen Veränderungen verursacht. am vergangenen Donnerstag war dies erst das zweite Mal in der aufgezeichneten Geschichte Großbritannien registrierte Temperaturen über 100F.

Es war ein unbeständiger Sommer. Die sengende Sonne hat dicken, schweren Regen unterbrochen; Gewitter wüteten letzte Woche über Großbritannien und es sieht so aus, als würde vor dem Herbst eine zweite Hitzewelle durch den Süden fegen. Angenehmes Wetter ist schön, wenn es anhält, aber es bringt Bedenken mit sich. Es scheint, als würden europäische Länder jedes Jahr ihren Rekord für heißes Wetter brechen. Der Klimawandel lässt sich immer schwerer leugnen.

Der ökologische Untergang ist seit langem für die 2020er Jahre geplant. Doch wenn das Wetter wärmer wird, steigt auch die Innovation. Künstliche Intelligenz macht große Fortschritte, um die alltägliche Technologie zu revolutionieren, und auch am Horizont. Auch das Internet der Dinge hat das Potenzial, Technologie billiger und effizienter zu machen; Das Aufkommen dieser neuen Technologien verändert die Industrie und offenbart Erkenntnisse über Daten, die Menschen allein niemals hätten finden können.

Sicherlich kann KI im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel helfen? Oder ist das zu viel Utopie? Müssen wir wirtschaftliches und damit technologisches Wachstum wirklich dem Wohle des Planeten opfern? Oder kann technologisches Wachstum gut für den Planeten sein?

Wie könnte Technologie im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel eingesetzt werden?

Milliardäre wie Elon Musk und Bill Gates sprechen viel über die Umwelt. Einige glauben, dass es ihnen wirklich wichtig ist. Skeptiker glauben, dass es Gepolter ist, um uns dazu zu bringen, Produkte zu kaufen.

Es ist jedoch unbestreitbar, dass die Teslas von Musk die Art und Weise revolutioniert haben, wie die Menschen über Elektroautos denken, während die Boring Company – ein etwas augenzwinkerndes Unternehmen, das Flammenwerfer auf den Markt brachte – mit dem Ziel gegründet wurde, den Straßenverkehr und die Umweltverschmutzung damit zu reduzieren .

Es ist sicherlich ein gutes Geschäft, so auszusehen, als würden Sie sich über den Klimawandel Gedanken machen. Gates hat sein Geld jedoch dort hingelegt, wo sein Mund ist: der Microsoft Der Gründer hat in eine Kohlenstoffabscheidungsanlage investiert, die die Arbeit von 40 Millionen Bäumen erledigt, indem sie Kohlendioxid aus der Atmosphäre aufnimmt und es zu saubereren Kraftstoffen synthetisiert. Die Direct Air Capture-Technologie kann negative Emissionen in großem Umfang verursachen, indem CO2 direkt aus der Atmosphäre entfernt wird, und dies ist nur ein Beispiel für mehrere Startups, in die Gates Milliarden investiert hat.

Das CO2 mit einer riesigen Maschine aus der Luft zu saugen, gehört zu den weniger ausgefallenen Ideen, die Experten haben, um die Erdwärme zu reduzieren. Es wird seit Jahrzehnten theoretisiert, dass der Bau einer Wettermaschine die Sonnenstrahlen zurück in den Weltraum reflektieren könnte, aber IoT und KI machen eine so verschwommene Idee viel klarer, um sie in der Realität zu bauen.

J. Storrs Hall, der Autor von Nanofuture: Was kommt als nächstes für die Nanotechnologie?, hat ausführlich geredet über den Aufbau einer dünnen globalen Wolke aus winzigen, transparenten Ballons, die das Sonnenlicht aus der Stratosphäre abschatten oder reflektieren könnten. Jeder Ballon würde ein GPS, einen Computer und einen Spiegel enthalten. Theoretisch könnte diese Ballonwolke so programmiert werden, dass sie die Sonneneinstrahlung auf den Planeten begrenzt.

Ein programmierbares Treibhausgas könnte die wichtigste Erfindung in der Geschichte der Erde sein, obwohl es auch seine Schattenseiten hat. Wer würde eine solche Maschine kontrollieren und was würde sie davon abhalten, sie für das Böse einzusetzen? Die Macht, das Wetter für jede Nation auf dem Planeten zu verändern, ist vielleicht nicht eine, mit der Menschen ausgestattet sein sollten.


Bei all der großartigen Arbeit, die auch Bill Gates und Elon Musk leisten, ist es leicht zu argumentieren, dass es nur ihre Verantwortung wert ist.


Abgesehen von der fernen Zukunft und der ausgeklügelten Technologie hilft die KI Wissenschaftlern, den Klimawandel viel genauer als früher zu erfassen. Künstliche Intelligenz erfordert riesige Datenmengen, und da mehr Daten als je zuvor zu Emissionen, Temperaturen und sogar Tieren und Pflanzen gesammelt werden, können wir genaue Aufzeichnungen finden und die meteorologischen Veränderungen aufzeichnen.

Es wird ständig über Entwaldung und Aufforstung geforscht. Es ist vielleicht nicht die Hightech-Lösung, aber mehr Bäume zu pflanzen und die Waldpopulationen im Auge zu behalten, würde die Gesundheit des Planeten erheblich verbessern. KI hilft, diese Situation zu überwachen.

Kann Technik schlecht für die Umwelt sein?

Trotz all der guten Arbeit, die KI leistet, läuft sie nicht auf Dampf. Trainings-KI ist energieintensiv und es wird vorhergesagt, dass der COXNUMX-Fußabdruck des Trainings einer einzelnen KI etwa fünfmal so hoch sein könnte wie die Lebenszeitemissionen eines durchschnittlichen Autos.

Bei all der großartigen Arbeit, die auch Bill Gates und Elon Musk leisten, ist es leicht zu argumentieren, dass es nur ihre Verantwortung wert ist. Es ist unwahrscheinlich, dass diese Milliardäre mehr zum Planeten beigetragen haben, als sie sozusagen genommen haben.

Wir befinden uns noch in den Anfängen der künstlichen Intelligenz und vergeuden ist immer noch hoch. Server benötigen immer noch viel Energie. Die Technologie bringt der Umwelt trotz positiver Anzeichen noch keinen Nettonutzen.

Die nächsten Jahre sind für die Umwelt kritisch. Einige Wissenschaftler sagen voraus, dass wir den Punkt ohne Wiederkehr bereits überschritten haben; andere befürchten, dass ein solcher Tag noch nicht vorbei ist, aber in Zukunft kommen wird.

Wie auch immer die Menschheit den Klimawandel bekämpfen wird, es wird eine so enorme Anstrengung von Wissenschaft und Technologie erfordern, dass es schwer vorstellbar ist, dass KI, IoT und andere aufstrebende Technologien ihre Rolle nicht spielen.

Lukas Konrad

Technologie- und Marketing-Enthusiast

Ab Initio arbeitet mit der BT Group zusammen, um Big Data bereitzustellen

Lukas Konrad • 24. Oktober 2022

KI wird zu einem immer wichtigeren Element der digitalen Transformation vieler Unternehmen. Neben der Einführung neuer Möglichkeiten stellt dies auch eine Reihe von Herausforderungen für IT-Teams und die sie unterstützenden Datenteams dar. Ab Initio hat eine Partnerschaft mit der BT Group angekündigt, um seine Big-Data-Management-Lösungen auf BTs internem...

WAICF – Tauchen Sie ein in die KI und besuchen Sie eines der ...

Delia Salinas • 10. März 2022

Cannes veranstaltet jedes Jahr eine internationale Technologieveranstaltung namens World Artificial Intelligence Cannes Festival, besser bekannt unter dem Akronym WAICF. Eine der luxuriösesten Städte der Welt, an der französischen Riviera gelegen und Gastgeber der jährlichen Filmfestspiele von Cannes, der Midem und des Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity. 

Resilienz von einer Naturkatastrophe erholen

Amber Donovan-Stevens • 16. Dezember 2021

In den letzten zehn Jahren haben wir einige der extremsten Wetterereignisse seit Beginn der Aufzeichnungen erlebt, die alle durch unseren menschlichen Einfluss auf die Anlage verursacht wurden. Unternehmen versuchen schnell, neue umweltfreundliche Richtlinien umzusetzen, um ihren Beitrag zu leisten, aber der Klimawandel hat Unternehmen auch gezwungen, ihren Ansatz zur Wiederherstellung nach Katastrophen anzupassen und neu zu definieren. Curtis Preston...

Will technology save humanity from climate change?

An image of climate change, AI, Will technology save humanity from climate change?

Credit: Cisco

Climate change is reaching a critical state. Will artificial intelligence save us all from impending doom or is it actually exacerbating the problem?

The country came to a standstill on the day that Boris Johnson was announced at the next Prime Minister of the UK. However, the chaos in Britain last week was caused by the weather rather than political change; last Thursday marked only the second time in recorded history that the UK registered temperatures over 100F.

It’s been a volatile summer. Scorching sun has interrupted thick, heavy rain; thunderstorms rumbled across the UK last week and it looks like a second heatwave is set to blaze through the South before autumn. Pleasant weather is nice when it lasts but it comes with concerns. It seems like every year, European countries break their record for hot weather. Climate change is becoming harder and harder to deny.

Environmental doom has long been scheduled for the 2020s. Though as the weather heats up, so does innovation. Artificial intelligence is making huge strides to revolutionise everyday tech, as well as on the horizon. IoT too has the potential to make technology cheaper and more efficient; the advent of these new technologies are changing industry and revealing insights on data that human beings would never have been able to find alone.

Surely AI can help in the fight against climate change? Or is that too much of a utopian vision? Do we really have to sacrifice economic and therefore technological growth for the good of the planet? Or can technological growth be good for the planet?

How could technology be used in the fight against climate change?

Billionaires like Elon Musk and Bill Gates talk about the environment a lot. Some believe they genuinely care. Sceptics believe it’s bluster in order to get us to buy products.

It’s undeniable however that Musk’s Teslas have revolutionised the way that people think about EV cars, whilst the Boring Company – a somewhat tongue-in-cheek venture that launched flamethrowers – was founded with the aim of cutting down street-level traffic and pollution with it.

It’s certainly good business to look like you’re bothered about climate change. Gates, however, has been put his money where his mouth is: the Microsoft founder has invested in a carbon capture plant that does the work of 40 million trees, taking carbon dioxide from the atmosphere and synthesising it into cleaner fuels. Direct Air Capture technology can deliver negative emissions on a huge scale by removing CO2 directly from the atmosphere and this is just one example of several startups that Gates has invested billions into.

Sucking the CO2 out of the air with a giant machine is one of the less outlandish ideas that experts have for reducing the heat of the earth. It’s been theorised for decades that building a weather machine could reflect the sun’s rays back into space, but IoT and AI make such a hazy idea much clearer to build in reality.

J. Storrs Hall, the author of Nanofuture: What’s Next for Nanotechnology, has talked in depth about building a thin global cloud of tiny, transparent balloons that could shade or reflect the sunlight from the stratosphere. Each balloon would contain a GPS, a computer and a mirror. In theory, this cloud of balloons could be programmed to limit the amount of sun that the planet receives.

A programmable greenhouse gas could be the most important invention in the history of Earth, though it comes with its downsides. Who would control such a machine and what would stop them from using it for evil? The power to alter the weather for any nation on the planet is perhaps not one that human beings should be endowed with.


For all the great work that Bill Gates and Elon Musk may be doing too, it’s easy to argue that it’s only their responsibilities’ worth.


Distant future and elaborate tech aside, AI is helping scientists to chart climate change a lot more accurately than they used to. Artificial intelligence requires huge amounts of data and with more data being collected than ever before on emissions, temperatures and even animals and plants, we can find precise records and chart the meteorological changes.

There is constant research being conducted on deforestation and afforestation. It might not be the most high-tech solution, but planting more trees and keeping an eye on forest populations would significantly improve the health of the planet. AI is helping to monitor this situation.

Could tech be bad for the environment?

Despite all the good work that AI is helping to do, it does not run on steam. Training AI is energy intensive and it’s predicted that the carbon footprint of training a single AI could be around five times the lifetime emissions of an average car.

For all the great work that Bill Gates and Elon Musk may be doing too, it’s easy to argue that it’s only their responsibilities’ worth. These billionaires are unlikely to have contributed more to the planet than they have taken, so to speak.

We are still in the early stages of artificial intelligence and waste is still high. Servers still require a lot of energy. Technology is not making net benefits to the environment yet, despite positive signs.

The next few years are critical for the environment. Some scientists predict that we have already crossed the point of no return; others fear that such a day has not passed just yet but will in the future.

However humanity is going to fight climate change, it will require such a colossal effort from science and technology, that it’s difficult to imagine AI, IoT and other emergent tech not playing its part.

An image of climate change, AI, Will technology save humanity from climate change?

Luke Conrad

Technology & Marketing Enthusiast

More Than 30% of Malicious Attacks Target Shadow APIs

Ameya Talwalkar • 04th October 2022

The latest research paper by Cequence Security details the top API threats detected during the first half of 2022. The report is based on analysis of more than 20 billion API transactions and reveals organisations are being plagued by shadow APIs, API abuse and Account Takeover (ATO) etc. It provides some real insights into the...

Supply Chain Commerce & The Green Imperative

Ann Sung Ruckstuhl • 04th October 2022

We are in the midst of a real-time, seismic shift as consumers transform expectations of global supply and demand models. The pandemic exposed the fragility of many supply chain networks. An inability to sense and dynamically adjust to shifting demand signals, consumer preferences, labour requirements, transportation, storage, inventory and trade policy changes caused havoc to...

How tech firms can manage a globally distributed workforce

Elise Muller • 03rd October 2022

For employees, remote working provides far greater work/life balance and fits the requirements of modern workers much better. This has all given rise to globally distributed workforces. But managing such a workforce can be challenging. Here are our five main tips on doing so successfully.

Hacking Cyber Security’s battle for workers

Andrew Marsh • 30th September 2022

Cyber attacks are increasing exponentially, cyber professionals are quitting, and ultimately, no one is replacing them. Worldwide, the cyber workforce shortfall is approximately 3.5 million people. We have a mountain to climb. While there are rising numbers of people with security degrees and qualifications, this falls way short of industry demand.

Getac becomes British Touring Car Championship official technology partner

Chris Gibbs • 29th September 2022

In competitive motorsports, the smallest detail can be the difference between winning and losing. Getac is the official technology partner to the British Touring Car Championships (BTCC) helping it achieve its digital transformation goals, putting a wealth of information at the fingertips of both race officials and teams alike, and helping deliver incredibly exciting racing.

The Time is Now for Digital Transformation

Paul Waddilove • 29th September 2022

According to a McKinsey research report, 70% of enterprises that had taken on digital transformation reported in 2020 that their momentum had stalled. It is worth understanding the reasons–culture or scale for example–causing the slowdown as the payoffs from digital transformation can be impressive. It can lead to more efficient operations, with enterprises enjoying autonomy...

Addressing the environmental impact of the data centre

David Watkins • 29th September 2022

David Watkins, solutions director at VIRTUS Data Centres , share how you may have seen the recent news that Thames Water has launched a probe into the impact of data centres on water supplies in and around London, as it imposed a hosepipe ban on its 15 million customers in a drought-hit area. Ensuring that...