MSP-Risiken und wie man sie reduziert

Bild von Daten

1) Den größten Kunden verlieren

Wie das klassische Sprichwort sagt, legen Sie nicht alle Eier in einen Korb. 

Tom Lawrence erzählte eine Geschichte von einer Zeit, als er im Unternehmen einer Organisation arbeitete, die 92 % ihres Umsatzes von Ford erwirtschaftete.  

Tom und seine Kollegen scherzten über diese Abhängigkeit von einem Kunden, indem sie sagten: „Wenn Ford eine Erkältung bekam, bekamen wir die Grippe.“  

Eine weitere Erfahrung, die Tom Lawrence mitteilte, betraf die Bereitstellung von IT-Dienstleistungen für einen Kunden der Kommunalverwaltung. Wahlen bedeuten Veränderung, und manchmal bedeutet diese Veränderung, dass Sie durch einen „ausgerichteteren“ IT-Dienstleister ersetzt werden.

Um dieses Risiko zu mindern, hat Tom die folgenden Tipps gegeben:

  • Bauen Sie eine möglichst große Kundenbank auf (Ressource: Beginnen Sie mit dem Aufbau eines Empfehlungsprogramms)
  • Diversifizieren Sie Ihre Kunden und die Branchen, die Sie bedienen, wenn Ihr Unternehmen die richtigen Werkzeuge dafür hat
  • Beachten Sie Kundenbeziehungen, die schwierig sein könnten, wenn sich die aktuellen Bedingungen ändern, und tun Sie so, als ob dieser große Fischkunde bereits auf dem Weg nach draußen wäre (Situationen können von einem internen Familiendrama in einem kleinen Unternehmen bis zu einer neuen Verwaltung reichen, die zu einem lokalen Regierungskunden kommt)

2) Ein schwerwiegender Sicherheitsvorfall

Sie können das Sicherheitsrisiko nicht zu 100 % mindern; Es ist etwas, mit dem alle Unternehmen konfrontiert sind. Davon abgesehen kann die Art und Weise, wie Sie auf einen schwerwiegenden Sicherheitsvorfall reagieren und ihn einem Kunden mitteilen, der wahre Wendepunkt sein, wenn es darum geht, das Cybersicherheitsrisiko zu mindern. 

Sowohl Tom Lawrence als auch Georg Dauterman haben ihre Erfahrungen mit der Reaktion auf einen Sicherheitsvorfall sehr ausführlich dargestellt, aber Tom Watson fasste es wirklich zusammen, indem er sagte:

„Dokumentation und Transparenz gegenüber dem Endbenutzer sind die besten Möglichkeiten, diese Art von Risiko zu mindern.“

3) In die falschen Tools investieren

Die Gefahren des „Overtooling“ sind sehr real, und die Praxis bringt auch einige schwerwiegende Nebenwirkungen mit sich. Von der Verwirrung der Mitarbeiter bis hin zur Zersiedelung der Anbieter, die wertvolle Dollars verschlingt, sind die Gefahren des Overtooling etwas, auf das MSP-Eigentümer achten müssen. 

Es ist wichtig, auf die Tools zu achten, die Sie mitbringen, und sicherzustellen, dass jedes neue Tool einem bestimmten Zweck dient Ihre Geschäft.

MSP-Besitzer bleiben oft in Reddit-Formularen stecken, die eine Liste von Tools anbieten, die ihr Geschäft zum Besseren verändert haben, aber diese Tools haben ihrem Geschäft geholfen; sie könnten ein Anker für deine sein. Lassen Sie sich nicht dabei erwischen, Monat für Monat Geld an einen Anbieter zu überweisen, den Sie einfach nicht nutzen. 

Der beste Weg, dieses Risiko zu mindern, ist die Prüfung Ihrer Tools. Tom Watson empfahl eine Überprüfung aller Tools, die Ihnen alle sechs Monate in Rechnung gestellt werden. Wenn Ihr Team seit dem Kauf kein Tool verwendet hat, ist es wahrscheinlich an der Zeit, es zu entfernen. 

4) Herausforderungen bei der Einstellung und Mitarbeiterabgang

Die Einstellung und Rekrutierung, insbesondere von Vertriebsmitarbeitern in einem technischen Umfeld, kann eine Herausforderung sein, aber zu lange mit der Einstellung eines Vertriebsprofis zu warten, kann das Unternehmenswachstum einschränken, während die Einstellung des falschen Vertriebsmitarbeiters mit einigen potenziellen Reputationsproblemen einhergeht, denen Sie sich bewusst sein sollten. 

Vertriebsprofis repräsentieren Ihr Unternehmen gegenüber der Community bei Veranstaltungen, Webinaren und bei jedem Verkaufsgespräch, das sie führen. Sie fungieren als Speerspitze, wenn es darum geht, Ihr Unternehmen auf den Markt zu bringen. 

Tom Lawrence teilte seine persönliche Erfahrung mit der Einstellung eines Verkäufers, der ein Alkoholproblem hatte. Dieses Problem wirkte sich dann negativ auf seine Beziehungen zu Mitgliedern der örtlichen Handelskammer aus, sodass die Risiken erheblich sind. 

Um dieses Risiko zu mindern, müssen bessere Onboarding-Prozesse entwickelt und transparente Kennzahlen erstellt werden, die der Vertriebsmitarbeiter mit dem Geschäftsführer teilen kann. 

Vergessen Sie in unserem aktuellen kandidatenzentrierten Arbeitsmarkt nicht die Risiken einer ins Stocken geratenen Rekrutierungspipeline und des Burnouts von Mitarbeitern aufgrund von Personalmangel und erhöhter Arbeitsbelastung. Hier sind einige Ressourcen zur Minderung von Burnout und Fluktuation von Mitarbeitern: 

  • Erstellen Sie ein Empfehlungsprogramm für die Rekrutierung von Top-Talenten
  • Überprüfen Sie die durchschnittlichen Gehaltsdaten und verstehen Sie, welche Prioritäten Kandidaten haben, um wettbewerbsfähige Angebote zu präsentieren 
  • Investieren Sie in Mitarbeiterschulungen und -zertifizierungen 
  • Ergreifen Sie proaktive Maßnahmen zur Vorbeugung und Bekämpfung von Burnout

Es ist riskant, ein Unternehmer zu sein

Alle Unternehmer verstehen, dass der Besitz eines Unternehmens, ob groß oder klein, mit Risiken verbunden ist. Aber die besten Unternehmer haben Taktiken und Strategien implementiert, um dieses Risiko zu mindern, wodurch sie ihren Konkurrenten voraus sind. 

André Schindler

Als General Manager EMEA bei NinjaOne gründete André Schindler das EMEA-Büro in Berlin und baute sowohl den Vertrieb als auch den Service in Europa auf. Als Vice President Strategic Partnerships ist er verantwortlich für strategische Geschäfts- und Technologiepartnerschaften, einschließlich der Planung und Umsetzung von Markteinführungsstrategien.

WAICF – Tauchen Sie ein in die KI und besuchen Sie eines der ...

Delia Salinas • 10. März 2022

Cannes veranstaltet jedes Jahr eine internationale Technologieveranstaltung namens World Artificial Intelligence Cannes Festival, besser bekannt unter dem Akronym WAICF. Eine der luxuriösesten Städte der Welt, an der französischen Riviera gelegen und Gastgeber der jährlichen Filmfestspiele von Cannes, der Midem und des Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity. 

Die Evolution von VR und AR

Amber Donovan-Stevens • 28. Oktober 2021

Wir sehen uns an, wie sich die Extended-Reality-Technologien VR und AR vom reinen Gaming zu einer langsamen Integration in andere Aspekte unseres Lebens entwickelt haben.

MSP Risks And How To Reduce Them

Image of data

1) Losing your biggest customer

As the classic saying goes, don’t put all your eggs in one basket. 

Tom Lawrence told a story of a time when he used to work in corporate at an organization that drove 92% of its revenue from Ford.  

Tom and his colleagues used to joke about this reliance on one client by saying, “when Ford got a cold, we got the flu.”  

Another experience Tom Lawrence shared was around providing IT services to a local government client. Elections mean change, and sometimes that change means you’ll be replaced by a more “aligned” IT service provider.

When it comes to mitigating this risk, Tom offered the following tips:

  • Build as big of a client bench as humanly possible (resource: start building a referral program)
  • Diversify your clients and the industries you serve if your business is properly tooled to do so
  • Take note of client relationships that could be challenging if current conditions change and act as if that big fish client is already on their way out (situations may range from internal family drama at a small business to a new administration coming into a local government client)

2) A major security incident

You cannot 100% mitigate security risk; it’s something that all businesses face. That being said, the way you respond to and communicate a major security incident to a client can be the real game-changer when it comes to mitigating cybersecurity risk. 

Both Tom Lawrence and Georg Dauterman offered great color around their experience with responding to a security incident, but Tom Watson really summed it all up by saying:

“Documentation and transparency with the end-user are the best ways to mitigate this type of risk.”

3) Investing in the wrong tools

The dangers of “overtooling” are very real, and the practice comes with some severe side effects as well. From employee confusion to vendor sprawl sucking away precious dollars, the dangers of overtooling are something MSPs owners must be mindful of. 

It’s essential to be mindful of the tools you bring in and ensure that every new tool serves a specific purpose for your business.

Often, MSP owners get stuck in Reddit forms that offer a list of tools that have changed their business for the better, but these tools helped their business; they could be an anchor for yours. Don’t get caught handing over money month after month to a vendor you’re just not using. 

The best way to mitigate this risk is to audit your tools. Tom Watson recommended an audit of all the tools you’re being billed for every six months. If your team hasn’t utilized a tool since purchase, it’s probably time for it to go. 

4) Hiring challenges and employee attrition

Hiring and recruiting, especially salespeople in a technical environment, can be challenging, but waiting too long to hire a sales professional can limit company growth while hiring the wrong salesperson comes with some potential reputational challenges you should be aware of as well. 

Sales professionals represent your company to the community at events, on webinars, and in every sales call they make. They act as the tip of the spear when it comes to your business going to market. 

Tom Lawrence shared his personal experience of hiring a salesperson who had a drinking problem. This issue then negatively impacted his relationships with members of the local chamber of commerce, so the risks are significant. 

Mitigating this risk involves building out better onboarding processes and creating transparent metrics for the salesperson to share with the business leader. 

In our current candidate-centric job market, don’t forget about the risks of a stalled recruitment pipeline and employee burnout due to lacking staff and increased workload. Here are some resources for mitigating employee burnout and attrition: 

  • Build a referral program for recruiting top talent
  • Review average salary data and understand what candidates are prioritizing to present competitive offers 
  • Invest in employee training and certifications 
  • Take proactive steps to prevent and address burnout

It’s risky being a business owner

All entrepreneurs understand that owning a business, large or small, comes with risks. But the best entrepreneurs have implemented tactics and strategies to mitigate this risk putting them ahead of their competitors. 

An image of , Data, MSP Risks And How To Reduce Them

Andre Schindler

As General Manager EMEA at NinjaOne, André Schindler founded the EMEA office in Berlin and built up both sales and service in Europe. As Vice President Strategic Partnerships, he is responsible for strategic business and technology partnerships including planning and execution of go-to-market strategies.

Hacking Cyber Security’s battle for workers

Andrew Marsh • 30th September 2022

Cyber attacks are increasing exponentially, cyber professionals are quitting, and ultimately, no one is replacing them. Worldwide, the cyber workforce shortfall is approximately 3.5 million people. We have a mountain to climb. While there are rising numbers of people with security degrees and qualifications, this falls way short of industry demand.

Getac becomes British Touring Car Championship official technology partner

Chris Gibbs • 29th September 2022

In competitive motorsports, the smallest detail can be the difference between winning and losing. Getac is the official technology partner to the British Touring Car Championships (BTCC) helping it achieve its digital transformation goals, putting a wealth of information at the fingertips of both race officials and teams alike, and helping deliver incredibly exciting racing.

The Time is Now for Digital Transformation

Paul Waddilove • 29th September 2022

According to a McKinsey research report, 70% of enterprises that had taken on digital transformation reported in 2020 that their momentum had stalled. It is worth understanding the reasons–culture or scale for example–causing the slowdown as the payoffs from digital transformation can be impressive. It can lead to more efficient operations, with enterprises enjoying autonomy...

Addressing the environmental impact of the data centre

David Watkins • 29th September 2022

David Watkins, solutions director at VIRTUS Data Centres , share how you may have seen the recent news that Thames Water has launched a probe into the impact of data centres on water supplies in and around London, as it imposed a hosepipe ban on its 15 million customers in a drought-hit area. Ensuring that...

How Can Businesses Ensure Efficient Management of COSU Devices

Nadav Avni • 29th September 2022

Nadav Avni, Chief Marketing Officer at Radix Technologies, shares how when it comes to speeding up queues and providing instant information, nothing beats corporate-owned, single-use (COSU) devices. When put in kiosk mode, these devices become efficient digital assistants that collect and share information.

The Cloud – Debunking the Myth

Guy Parry Williams • 26th September 2022

Mid-sized businesses are head down, wrestling with constantly evolving operational challenges, from skills shortages to supply chain delays and raging inflation. Management teams lack the time and often confidence to explore technology innovation and, as a result, too many companies are missing vital opportunities to cut costs, boost efficiency and reach new customers.