Prinzipien des Angriffsflächenschutzes: Die Zeit krönt den Sieger in Sachen Sicherheit.

Das Prinzip der Zeit durchdringt jeden Aspekt des Angriffsflächenschutzes, den diese Serie behandelt hat. Im Gegensatz zu den anderen vier Prinzipien – Discover, Assess, Prioritize und Remediate – ist Zeit wie das unerbittliche Ticken der Rennuhr. Jedes Mal, wenn eine neue Sicherheitslücke entsteht, ist es ein Wettlauf zwischen Angreifern und Verteidigern, bei dem der Gewinner alles bekommt.

Reagieren Sie zu langsam, und Sie werden Angreifern Zugang zu Ihren Systemen gewähren – niemanden wird es interessieren, dass Ihre Erkennungs- oder Priorisierungsfunktionen erstklassig waren.

Handeln Sie vor Angreifern, und der Sieg gehört Ihnen. Wie also erhalten und bleiben Sie bei jeder einzelnen neuen Sicherheitslücke vorne? Gehen Sie schnell durch diese wichtigen Phasen der Sicherung der erweiterten Angriffsfläche, verkürzen Sie die Reaktionszeit und automatisieren Sie, wo immer Sie können.

Zeitbezogene Risiken für die Stufen des Angriffsflächenschutzes

Berücksichtigen Sie einige der wichtigsten zeitlichen Risiken, die sich auf jeden Aspekt des Schutzes von Angriffsflächen beziehen.

· Entdecken: Für die meisten Unternehmen ist ihre externe Angriffsfläche – dem Internet ausgesetzte Vermögenswerte – eine riesige, amorphe Einheit, in der viele Risiken in Nebel gehüllt sind, weil sie sich in Vermögenswerten befinden, die dem Sicherheitsteam unbekannt sind oder von ihm nicht verwaltet werden. Zeit ist von entscheidender Bedeutung, wenn Angreifer ständig auf Ihren Server eindringen, insbesondere wenn er einer Tochtergesellschaft gehört, von der Sie nicht wussten, dass sie Ihnen gehört. Ohne gute Sichtbarkeit kann es Wochen, möglicherweise sogar Jahre dauern, bis Sie etwas über unbekannte oder nicht verwaltete Netzwerke erfahren. Cloud Umgebungen und sogar erworbene Tochtergesellschaften.

· Bewerten: Unternehmen bewerten die Sicherheit von Vermögenswerten in der Regel nur regelmäßig: einmal im Monat, vierteljährlich oder sogar jährlich. Das gibt Angreifern viel Zeit, um die attraktivsten Schwachstellen zu finden und anzugreifen. Das häufigere Testen von Assets reduziert das Risiko einer Sicherheitsverletzung, indem Ihre Sicherheitslücken früher aufgedeckt werden, damit Sicherheitsteams sie beheben können.

· Priorisieren: Die Risikopriorisierung erfordert eine Klassifizierung der Vermögenswerte nach Geschäftszweck. Diese Kernkomponente des Priorisierungsprozesses erfolgt normalerweise über einen fehleranfälligen manuellen Prozess. Verzögerungen bei der Priorisierung können aus Risikosicht tödlich sein, insbesondere wenn Sicherheitsteams von Tausenden „dringender“ Warnungen überschwemmt werden, denen der Kontext fehlt, wie viel Risiko sie wirklich tragen.

· Beheben: Die Schließung der Sicherheitslücke, der letzte Schritt zum Schutz, erfordert von den Behebungsteams maximale Zeiteffizienz. Priorisierung ist der Schlüssel für diesen Schritt. Ohne eine gut geordnete Liste von Fixes, die idealerweise über den geschäftlichen Kontext und die Ausnutzbarkeit informiert sind, verlieren Behebungsteams Zeit, die falschen Dinge zu beheben.

Beschleunigen Sie die Trittfrequenz, um den Schutz zu verbessern

Das Timing jeder Schutzstufe hat Auswirkungen auf die Unternehmenssicherheit. Tests, das wichtigste Bewertungsinstrument, folgen häufig einem ähnlichen Rhythmus wie das Compliance-System einer Organisation. Standards wie die PCI.

Datensicherheit Standard erfordert möglicherweise vierteljährliche Scans oder Tests, während andere Systeme möglicherweise nur halbjährliche oder jährliche Tests erfordern.

Angreifern ganze drei Monate Zeit zu geben, um neue Sicherheitslücken zu finden und auszunutzen, ist ein Leben lang. Dies macht Compliance-Regelungen als Sicherheitswegweiser im Wesentlichen bedeutungslos. Es kann Sie aus den Startlöchern bringen, aber die Chancen stehen gut

Der Start des Rennens ist das letzte Mal, dass Sie überhaupt im Rennen sind, und Angreifer werden einen Weg finden, lange bevor Sie ihn reparieren können. Es gibt Tausende von offensiven Gruppen, die ständig verschiedene Assets scannen, also ist es wirklich eine Situation, in der Ihr einziges Team in einem Rennen gegen Tausende von Angreifergruppen ist. Deshalb ist es so wichtig, alles zu tun, um die Chancen auszugleichen. Die Beschleunigung des Testrhythmus ist eines dieser Dinge.

Verbesserung des Schlüsselindikators der Zeit: MTTR

Angreifer scannen kontinuierlich IP Sortimente bei großen Unternehmen, die das Gefundene sofort verwerten. Daher ist die durchschnittliche Reaktions-, Reparatur- oder Behebungszeit ein wichtiger Indikator für die Fähigkeit eines Sicherheitsteams, Risiken rechtzeitig zu kontrollieren und zu reduzieren.

Bei einem unserer Kunden haben wir beispielsweise einen 15 Jahre alten On-Prem-Server identifiziert, der mit seinem Netzwerk verbunden ist. Niemand kannte den Zweck des Servers, also hat ihn auch nie jemand abgesteckt. Es fungierte als informeller Couchtisch. Unsere Plattform entdeckte, dass sie im Internet exponiert und leicht zu erkennen war und kompromittiert und für einen seitlichen Angriff verwendet werden konnte. Allein das Auffinden anfälliger Geräte wie dieses kann Monate oder Jahre dauern (falls es jemals entdeckt wird) – eine MTTR, die in der heutigen Hochrisikoumgebung unannehmbar langsam ist.

Zusammenfassung

Zeit ist entscheidend für den Schutz von Angriffsflächen. Solide Prozesse, die in großem Maßstab automatisiert sind, tragen dazu bei, materielle Risiken schneller zu eliminieren, um eine unermesslich stärkere Sicherheit zu erzielen. Konzentrieren Sie sich auf diese drei Dinge, wenn Sie daran arbeiten, Ihre Prozesszeiten zu verkürzen.

1. Wenn Angreifer etwas finden, bevor Sie es tun, wird es ausgenutzt. Sie müssen jederzeit in der Lage sein, Ihre 10 wichtigsten Sicherheitslücken zu identifizieren und dem Management zu melden. Diese verursachen in der Regel 90 % des Geschäftsrisikos.

2. Wenn Ihre MTTR in Monaten gemessen wird, sind normalerweise die langsame Zuordnung der Angriffsfläche und die Risikopriorisierung die Hauptursachen. Konzentrieren Sie sich darauf, die Zeit zu verkürzen, die zum Auffinden von Netzwerken, Anwendungen und Cloud-Umgebungen benötigt wird, insbesondere von solchen, die Sie zuvor nicht kannten oder die Sie nicht verwalten. Und finden Sie Wege, Vermögenswerte und Risiken zu kontextualisieren.

3. Ihre Sicherheitsteams sind bereits an ihre Grenzen gestoßen. Statten Sie sie mit automatisierten Lösungen aus, die den Prozess zum Schutz der Angriffsfläche beschleunigen, damit sie ihr Fachwissen dort einsetzen können, wo es am wichtigsten ist.

Ab Initio arbeitet mit der BT Group zusammen, um Big Data bereitzustellen

Lukas Konrad • 24. Oktober 2022

KI wird zu einem immer wichtigeren Element der digitalen Transformation vieler Unternehmen. Neben der Einführung neuer Möglichkeiten stellt dies auch eine Reihe von Herausforderungen für IT-Teams und die sie unterstützenden Datenteams dar. Ab Initio hat eine Partnerschaft mit der BT Group angekündigt, um seine Big-Data-Management-Lösungen auf BTs internem...

Die Metaverse verändert den Arbeitsplatz

Lukas Konrad • 28. Februar 2022

Wir betrachten die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten, wie das Metaverse den Arbeitsplatz und die Arbeitsweise von Unternehmen verändern wird, mit Kommentaren von Phil Perry, Head of UK & Ireland bei Zoom, und James Morris-Manuel, EMEA MD bei Matterport.  

Metaverse: Die Zukunft ist da!

Erin Laurenson • 24. Februar 2022

Wir haben einige Meinungen von Experten der Technologiebranche zum Metaverse eingeholt, darunter Lenovo, Alcatel-Lucent Enterprise, Plumm und Investment Mastery.

Principles of attack surface protection: Time crowns the winner in security.

The principle of time permeates each aspect of attack surface protection that this series has covered. Contrasted to the other four principles — Discover, Assess, Prioritize and Remediate — time is like the unrelenting ticking of the race clock. Every time a new security gap is created, it is an all-out race between attackers and defenders, with the winner taking all.

Respond too slowly, and you’ll allow attackers into your systems — no one will care that your detection or prioritization capabilities were top-notch.

Act before attackers, and victory is yours. So how do you get and stay ahead for every single new security gap? Move quickly through those vital stages of securing the extended attack surface, shorten the response time and automate where you can.

Time-related risks for the stages of attack surface protection

Consider some of the principal risks of time pertaining to each aspect of attack surface protection.

· Discover: For most organizations, their external attack surface — assets exposed to the internet — is a mammoth, amorphous entity where many risks are shrouded in fog because they are in assets unknown to or not managed by, the security team. Time is of the essence when attackers are constantly pounding on your server, especially when it belongs to a subsidiary that you didn’t know was yours. Without good visibility, it can take weeks, potentially even years, to learn about unknown or unmanaged networks, cloud environments and even acquired subsidiaries.

· Assess: Organizations typically assess the security of assets only periodically: once a month, a quarter or even a year. This gives attackers plenty of time to find the most attractive weak spots and attack them. Testing assets more frequently reduces the risk of a breach by exposing your security gaps sooner so security teams can address them.

· Prioritize: Risk prioritization requires classification of assets by business purpose. This core component of the prioritization process is normally done via an error-prone manual process. Prioritization delays can be deadly from a risk perspective, especially with security teams swamped by thousands of “urgent” alerts lacking context on how much risk they really carry.

· Remediate: Mitigating the security gap, the last step for protection, demands maximum time efficiency from remediation teams. Prioritization is key for this step. Without a well-ordered list of fixes, ideally informed by business context and exploitability, remediation teams lose time fixing the wrong things.

Speed up the cadence to improve protection

The timing of each stage of protection has implications for enterprise security. Testing, which is the primary tool of assessment, often follows a cadence similar to an organization’s compliance regime. Standards such as the PCI.

Data Security Standard might require scans or tests quarterly, while other regimes might require only a semi-annual or annual test.

Giving attackers three whole months to find new security gaps and exploit them is a lifetime. This renders compliance regimes essentially meaningless as security guideposts. It may get you off the starting blocks, but chances are that

the start of the race is the last time you’re even in the race, and attackers will find a way in well before you can fix it. There are thousands of offensive groups scanning various assets all of the time, so it’s really a situation where your one team is in a race against thousands of attacker groups. That is why it is so important to do everything you can to even the odds. Speeding the cadence of testing is one of these things.

Improving the key indicator of time: MTTR

Attackers continuously scan IP ranges at large companies, immediately exploiting what they find. So, mean time to respond, repair or remediate is a key indicator of a security team’s ability to control and reduce risks in a timely fashion.

For instance, at one of our customers, we identified a 15-year-old on-prem server connected to its network. No one knew the server’s purpose, so no one ever unplugged it. It functioned as an informal coffee table. Our platform discovered it was internet-exposed, easily seen and could be compromised and used in a lateral attack. Just finding vulnerable devices like this one can take months or years (if it’s ever discovered) — an MTTR that is unacceptably slow in today’s high-risk environment.

Conclusion

Time is critical for attack surface protection. Solid processes, automated at scale, help eliminate material risk faster for immeasurably stronger security. Focus on these three things as you work to reduce your process times.

1. When attackers find something before you do it will be exploited. At any given moment, you need to be able to identify — and report to management — on your top 10 security gaps. These typically create 90% of the business risk.

2. If your MTTR is measured in months, slow attack surface mapping and risk prioritization are usually the primary culprits. Focus on decreasing the time it takes to find networks, applications and cloud environments, especially those you weren’t previously aware of or don’t manage. And find ways to contextualize assets and risks.

3. Your security teams are already stretched to their limits. Empower them with automated solutions that accelerate the attack surface protection process so they can leverage their expertise where it matters most.

Why ABM is Key to Strengthening your Marketing Strategy

Erin Lanahan • 16th May 2024

Account-Based Marketing (ABM) is revolutionizing B2B marketing by targeting high-value accounts with personalized strategies. Unlike traditional methods, ABM focuses on specific companies, delivering tailored content that meets their unique needs. This approach not only boosts ROI but also strengthens customer relationships and drives long-term growth. By aligning marketing and sales efforts, ABM ensures a unified...

Overcoming the Obstacles to AI Adoption

Kit Cox • 02nd May 2024

The power of AI combined with suitable use cases and a robust implementation plan can help businesses to radically reduce the time spent on manual, repetitive tasks, and allow teams to prioritise value-added work. But in all the excitement, it’s evident that many businesses are held back by inertia, and a lack of understanding about...

Overcoming the Obstacles to AI Adoption

Kit Cox • 02nd May 2024

The power of AI combined with suitable use cases and a robust implementation plan can help businesses to radically reduce the time spent on manual, repetitive tasks, and allow teams to prioritise value-added work. But in all the excitement, it’s evident that many businesses are held back by inertia, and a lack of understanding about...

How Predictive AI is Helping the Energy Sector

Colin Gault head of product at POWWR • 29th April 2024

In the past year or so, we have seen the emergence of many new and exciting applications for predictive AI in the energy industry to better maintain and optimise energy assets. In fact, the advances in the technology have been nothing short of rapid. The challenge, though, has been in supplying the ‘right’ data to...

How Predictive AI is Helping the Energy Sector

Colin Gault head of product at POWWR • 29th April 2024

In the past year or so, we have seen the emergence of many new and exciting applications for predictive AI in the energy industry to better maintain and optimise energy assets. In fact, the advances in the technology have been nothing short of rapid. The challenge, though, has been in supplying the ‘right’ data to...

Cheltenham MSP is first official local cyber advisor

Neil Smith Managing Director of ReformIT • 23rd April 2024

ReformIT, a Managed IT Service and Security provider (MSP) based in the UK’s cyber-capital, Cheltenham, has become the first MSP in the local area to be accredited as both a Cyber Advisor and a Cyber Essentials Certification Body. The Cyber Advisor scheme was launched by the Government’s official National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) and the...

How we’re modernising BT’s UK Portfolio Businesses

Faisal Mahomed • 23rd April 2024

Nowhere is the move to a digitised society more pronounced than the evolution from the traditional phone box to our innovative digital street units. Payphone usage has dropped massively since the late 1990s/2000s, with devices and smart phones replacing not only communication access, but the central community points that the payphones once stood for. Our...

How we’re modernising BT’s UK Portfolio Businesses

Faisal Mahomed • 23rd April 2024

Nowhere is the move to a digitised society more pronounced than the evolution from the traditional phone box to our innovative digital street units. Payphone usage has dropped massively since the late 1990s/2000s, with devices and smart phones replacing not only communication access, but the central community points that the payphones once stood for. Our...