Die Herausforderungen von 5G

Da der IoT-Umsatz bis 1.1 mit über 2025 Milliarden IoT-Geräteverbindungen voraussichtlich 25 Billionen US-Dollar erreichen wird, müssen wir die Herausforderungen von 5G meistern, um seinen Erfolg sicherzustellen.

Die erste Generation brachte uns die allerersten Mobiltelefone, 2G ermöglichte uns das Verfassen von Textnachrichten, 3G brachte uns online und 4G setzte diesen Weg mit höheren Geschwindigkeiten, größerer Abdeckung und erhöhter Zuverlässigkeit fort. Jetzt, da die Zahl der Benutzer in die Höhe schnellt, hat unser Mobilfunknetz der aktuellen Generation die Grenze seiner Möglichkeiten erreicht.

So viel steht fest: 5G wird es deutlich besser als 4G. In der Tat wird es größtenteils besser sein als viele unserer Breitbandverbindungen zu Hause. Es wird die Grundlage für Virtual Reality, autonome Fahrzeuge und das Internet der Dinge sein. Warum dauert die globale Einführung so lange?

Warum dauert 5G so lange? 

Ausgewählte Städte testen derzeit die neuen Netze, aber die Abdeckung ist lückenhaft und die für 5G erforderlichen Geräte sind noch nicht weit verbreitet. Obwohl es eine Handvoll 5G-fähiger Geräte auf dem Markt gibt, ist es ein langsamer Prozess, sie in die Hände von Benutzern weltweit zu bringen: einer, der Jahre dauern kann.

Wir haben das gleiche Muster bei 4G gesehen. Die Netzwerke waren in ausgewählten Gebieten vorhanden und wurden langsam erweitert, bis die Abdeckung breiter war und mehr Menschen 4G-fähige Geräte hatten. Aber selbst 4G hat es noch nicht in alle Ecken der Welt geschafft, und wir führen bereits 5G ein.

Die Implementierung des Netzwerks der nächsten Generation ist eine teures Geschäft. Jeder Netzbetreiber muss für die Frequenzlizenzierung, Techniker für die Installation und den Test der Hardware und die physische Hardware selbst bezahlen. Hinzu kommen die Kosten für die Implementierung der neuen Hardware in die Geräte selbst, die pro Einheit teurer sind als die aktuelle Generation. Bis diese Kosten sinken, sehen wir möglicherweise noch ein paar weitere Geräte ohne 5G-Fähigkeit.

5G-Infrastruktur ist ein teures Geschäft
5G-Infrastruktur kann kostspielig sein

Wird 5G 4G ersetzen?

Das Missverständnis bei 5G ist, dass es 4G ersetzen wird. Dies ist nicht der Fall. Beide werden zu unterschiedlichen Zwecken verwendet, wobei jeder bestimmte Rollen in der Konnektivität erfüllt. 

5G selbst wird so aufgeteilt, dass es nicht nur eine Einheit ist, sondern mehrere Threads innerhalb eines einzigen Netzwerks. 4G hat diese Fähigkeit nicht. Durch dieses Network Slicing ist 5G in der Lage, Streams des Netzwerks für bestimmte Anwendungen zu dedizieren; mobiles Breitband, IoT, autonome Fahrzeuge und mehr, da es große Informationsmengen übertragen kann.

5G Network Slicing

Wenn beispielsweise ein autonomes Fahrzeug auf der Autobahn fährt, an der Infrastruktur vorbeifährt und mit allem um es herum kommuniziert, kann die für eine Kommunikation erforderliche Datenübertragung wichtiger sein als eine andere. Ein Fußgänger auf der Straße oder eine Gefahr voraus erfordert eine minimale Latenzzeit, um sofort reagieren zu können, wozu 5G in der Lage ist. 

Die nächste Generation von Daten in die Hände vieler zu bringen, ist jedoch nicht ohne Herausforderungen. 

Was sind die Herausforderungen von 5G?

Datensicherheit ist besorgniserregend, insbesondere angesichts der riesigen Datenmengen, die jetzt gesammelt werden. IoT-Geräte sind besonders anfällig für Angriffe. Viele Smart-Home-Geräte mit schwachen Sicherheitssystemen müssen überdacht werden, wenn sie in ein sicheres Netzwerk der nächsten Generation passen sollen.

zahlreich Regeln und Vorschriften könnten den Fortschritt und die Implementierung von Hardware und Infrastruktur behindern. Alles, von Zonenrichtlinien bis hin zu langwierigen Genehmigungsverfahren, kann der umfassenden Nutzung von 5G sowohl von Regierungen als auch von Organisationen im Wege stehen. 

A neues Geschäftsmodell muss theoretisiert werden, bevor wir eine weit verbreitete Verwendung sehen. Mit neuen Interaktions- und Nutzungsmöglichkeiten gehen neue Demokratisierungs- und Monetarisierungsmodelle einher. Unternehmen wie Huawei liefern Produkte an andere Organisationen, die sie dann nutzen und vermarkten. Wo hört der schwarze Peter in der Lieferkette auf? Wer kann dem Endnutzer erbrachte Dienstleistungen in Rechnung stellen? 

Universelles aufbauen Ökosystem ist der Schlüssel zum Erfolg von 5G. Alles beruht letztlich auf organisationsübergreifender Zusammenarbeit, ebenso wie die Einbeziehung staatlicher Organisationen, sowohl auf lokaler als auch auf nationaler Ebene. Eine breitere internationale Gemeinschaft muss auch zusammenkommen, um die Nutzung zu standardisieren und zu demokratisieren.

Nur durch die vollständige Zusammenarbeit wird 5G sein grenzenloses Potenzial erreichen.

Lukas Konrad

Technologie- und Marketing-Enthusiast

Erzielen Sie Produktivitäts- und Effizienzsteigerungen durch Datenmanagement

Russ Kennedy • 04. Juli 2023

Unternehmensdaten sind seit vielen Jahren eng mit Hardware verknüpft, doch jetzt ist ein spannender Wandel im Gange, da die Ära der Hardware-Unternehmen vorbei ist. Mit fortschrittlichen Datendiensten, die über die Cloud verfügbar sind, können Unternehmen auf Investitionen in Hardware verzichten und das Infrastrukturmanagement zugunsten des Datenmanagements aufgeben.

The challenges facing 5G

5G, Connectivity, The challenges facing 5G

With IoT revenue set to hit $1.1 trillion by 2025 with over 25 billion IoT device connections, we must navigate the challenges to 5G to ensure for its success.

The first generation brought us the very first cellphones, 2G allowed us to make texts, 3G got us online and 4G continued down that route with faster speeds, greater coverage and increased reliability. Now, as the number of users skyrockets, our current generation mobile network has reached the limit of its capabilities.

This much is certain: 5G is going to be markedly better than 4G. In fact, for the most part, it will be better than many of our home broadband connections. It will be the foundation for virtual reality, autonomous vehicles and the internet of things. So why is it taking so long to roll out globally?

Why is 5G taking so long? 

Select cities are currently trialling the new networks but coverage is patchy and the devices needed for 5G aren’t yet prevalent. Though there are a handful of 5G enabled devices on the market, getting them into the hands of users worldwide is a slow process: one that could take years.

We saw the same pattern with 4G. The networks were in place in select areas, slowly expanding until coverage was broader and more people had 4G enabled devices. However, even 4G hasn’t made it to every corner of the globe yet, and we’re already introducing 5G.

Implementing the next-gen network is an expensive business. Each network operator must pay for spectrum licensing, technicians to install hardware and test it and the physical hardware itself. Then there is the cost of implementing the new hardware into the devices themselves, which is more expensive per unit than the current-gen. Until those costs come down we may still see a few more devices released with no 5G capability.

5G infrastructure is expensive business
5G infrastructure can be costly

Will 5G replace 4G?

The misconception surrounding 5G is that it will replace 4G. This isn’t the case. Both will be used to varying ends, each one fulfilling certain roles in connectivity. 

5G itself will be sliced so that it is not just one entity, but multiple threads within a single network. 4G doesn’t have this capability. Through this network slicing, 5G is able to dedicate streams of the network for particular applications; mobile broadband, IoT, autonomous vehicles and more, given its capability to carry large amounts of information.

5G network slicing

For example, with an autonomous vehicle travelling along the highway, passing infrastructure and communicating with everything around it, the data transmission required for one piece of communication may be more important than another. A pedestrian in the road or a hazard up ahead will require minimum latency to be acted upon immediately, which 5G is capable of. 

However, getting the next generation of data in the hands of the many is not without its challenges. 

What are the challenges of 5G?

Data security is a concern, especially given the vast amounts of data that is now collected. IoT devices are particularly at risk of attack. Found to have weak security systems in place, many smart home devices will need to be rethought if they are to fit into a secure next-gen network.

Numerous rules and regulations could hinder the progress and implementation of hardware and infrastructure. Anything from zoning policies to lengthy permitting processes may stand in the way of the full-scale use of 5G, from both governments and organisations alike. 

A new business model must be theorised before we see widespread use. With new ways of interaction and use comes new democratisation and monetisation models. Companies like Huawei supply products to other organisations, who then utilise and market them. Where does the buck stop in the supply chain? Who can charge the end-user for services rendered? 

Building a universal eco-system is key to ensuring the success of 5G. Everything ultimately rests on cross-organisation cooperation, as will the involvement of governmental organisations, both locally and nationally. A wider international community must also come together to standardise and democratise usage.

Only through total cooperation will 5G reach its limitless potential.

5G, Connectivity, The challenges facing 5G

Ben Ashman

Ben is a multimedia journalist with a keen passion for technology, literature and art. When he isn't writing you can find him wandering around London's museums and galleries.

The vital role business plays in the business intelligence equation

Phillip Smith • 03rd December 2021

As organizations continue turning their attention to technology advancements, to maintain some form of ‘business as usual’, there has never been a greater need for companies to truly understand the data they hold, and how to interpret it. Phillip Smith, the chief architect at workplace data analytics firm Tiger, explains more.

2,500 years of threat intelligence and its value continues to...

Anthony Perridge • 01st December 2021

Anthony Perridge, VP International at ThreatQuotient discusses how threat intelligence has evolved to form an essential aspect of modern-day cybersecurity. By harking back to the practices of our ancestors, today’s threat hunters can take inspiration about evaluating threat data to maximize the best possible decisions.

The gaming industry’s latest challenge: DDoS protection

Babur Khan • 30th November 2021

As the industry faces a rise in DDoS threats, it is time that gaming companies truly prioritise cybersecurity and business resiliency. In his latest article, Babur Khan,Technical Marketing Engineer at A10 Networks, lays out a framework for the industry to do just this, securing their customers and their own success against the tide of cyberattacks.

The Best Ten Rated Cloud Security Management Options For Business

Erin Laurenson • 24th November 2021

Cloud Security programs that can carry out safety procedures and address or flag potential high-risk elements are now critical, allowing businesses to function normally without fearing a potential breach. To help you find the best Cloud management and security system for your business, we’ve done the research and found the top systems presently available on...