Wie kann IoT den Klimawandel bekämpfen?

Abgesehen von der Nachfrage der Verbraucher und der Industrie nach vernetzten Geräten könnte das IoT eine entscheidende Rolle beim Umweltschutz und der Verhinderung des Klimawandels spielen

Das Internet der Dinge boomt. Nach Jahren des Hypes und der Erwartung, die Anzahl der verbundenen Geräte bis 43 voraussichtlich 2023 Milliarden erreichen und sich gegenüber dem Vorjahr verdreifachen.

Dieser Aufwärtstrend wird durch die technologischen Fortschritte der letzten Jahre vorangetrieben, und da die Kosten pro Gerät Jahr für Jahr sinken, werden die Technik wird immer kostengünstiger, was zu einer weit verbreiteten Akzeptanz von Endpunkten und Diensten führt.

Die Verbreitung von Geräten hat dem IoT den Treibstoff für seine Entwicklung gegeben. Investitionen in IoT-Technologie werden voraussichtlich um 13.6 % pro Jahr wachsen. Verbesserte Sensoren, erhöhte Rechenleistung und stärkere, zuverlässige mobile Konnektivität konvergieren alle, um die Dominanz des Internets der Dinge zu stärken und voranzutreiben.

Der Fortschritt des IoT unterstützt den Kampf

IoT ist facettenreich und breit gefächert. Es kapselt nicht nur eine einzelne Idee oder ein einzelnes Gerät, sondern verbindet viele Plattformen, Geräte, Anwendungsfälle und Benutzer und schafft dabei ein globales Netzwerk.

Da sich bestimmte Bereiche des IoT schneller als andere entwickelt haben, können Unternehmen sie nutzen, um die Entwicklung klimasparender Lösungen zu erleichtern. Die Sensortechnologie ist ein solcher Bereich, der immer fortschrittlicher und kostengünstiger wird.

Viele Unternehmen suchen nach dem Internet der Dinge, um ihre Forschung zu stützen und alte Überwachungsgeräte zu ersetzen ausgefeiltere Technologien in der Lage, große Mengen genauer Daten zu sammeln, die dann verwendet werden, um Regierungen und NGOs über mögliche Strategien zur Unterstützung des Kampfes gegen den Klimawandel zu informieren.

Regenwald-Verbindung ist ein solches Unternehmen. Die gemeinnützige Organisation mit Sitz in San Francisco recycelt Smartphones und verwandelt sie in vernetzte Endgeräte, die die Geräusche der Wälder in Echtzeit überwachen. Ihre Lösung erfasst die Umgebungsgeräusche von Hektar um Hektar Wälder in Bolivien, Brasilien, Kamerun, Ecuador und Peru und kann mithilfe einfacher Algorithmen die Geräusche von Kettensägen aus einer Entfernung von bis zu einer Meile erkennen.


Mithilfe von Technologie und Big Data ermöglichen sie Partnern vor Ort, wie Stammesangehörigen, Wohltätigkeitsorganisationen und NGOs, bedrohte Lebensräume zu retten, indem sie sofort auf illegale Abholzung und Wilderei reagieren, wie die der bedrohten Jaguare in Bolivien und der Gibbons auf Sumatra.  

Jedes Gerät wird an einem Baum befestigt und mit einem kleinen Solarpanel und einem empfindlichen externen Mikrofon verbunden. Sie bedecken jeweils etwa 2.5 km² des Waldes. Das Audio wird an einen Cloud-Server weitergeleitet, der dann nach bestimmten Geräuschen in der Wellenform sucht, z. B. Schüsse, Bootsmotoren und Kettensägen. Wenn diese Geräusche erkannt werden, wird eine Nachricht an die lokalen Behörden gesendet, die den Standort lokalisieren.


 „Die Rettung von Regenwäldern ist nicht nur der Schlüssel, um den Klimawandel aufzuhalten, sondern auch, um viele der ärmsten Gemeinden der Welt zu unterstützen, die auf Regenwälder als Nahrung, Unterkunft und Lebensunterhalt angewiesen sind.“

Regenwald-Verbindung


Kürzlich haben sie eine Anwendung gestartet, die es Benutzern ermöglicht, die Regenwälder selbst zu überwachen.

RFCx-Benutzer sind für die meisten Smartphones verfügbar und können frei auf Live-Streaming-Audio zugreifen. Rainforest Connection hofft, dass sie durch die Übertragung ihrer Streams für jedermann zum Zuhören in der Lage sind, das Bewusstsein für die Realität der illegalen Entwaldung und ihren Beitrag zum Klimawandel zu schärfen.

Das IoT wird sich als entscheidend im Kampf gegen die illegale Entwaldung und deren Auswirkungen auf den Klimawandel erweisen. Es ist eine mächtige Sache, das vernetzte Gerät, und es scheint genau zum richtigen Zeitpunkt zu boomen, da die Technologie kostengünstiger wird und 5G allgegenwärtig wird.

Immer mehr Organisationen greifen jetzt ein, indem sie das Internet der Dinge nutzen, um einen echten Unterschied zu machen, bevor der Klimawandel seinen Wendepunkt erreicht.

Lukas Konrad

Technologie- und Marketing-Enthusiast

Ab Initio arbeitet mit der BT Group zusammen, um Big Data bereitzustellen

Lukas Konrad • 24. Oktober 2022

KI wird zu einem immer wichtigeren Element der digitalen Transformation vieler Unternehmen. Neben der Einführung neuer Möglichkeiten stellt dies auch eine Reihe von Herausforderungen für IT-Teams und die sie unterstützenden Datenteams dar. Ab Initio hat eine Partnerschaft mit der BT Group angekündigt, um seine Big-Data-Management-Lösungen auf BTs internem...

WAICF – Tauchen Sie ein in die KI und besuchen Sie eines der ...

Delia Salinas • 10. März 2022

Cannes veranstaltet jedes Jahr eine internationale Technologieveranstaltung namens World Artificial Intelligence Cannes Festival, besser bekannt unter dem Akronym WAICF. Eine der luxuriösesten Städte der Welt, an der französischen Riviera gelegen und Gastgeber der jährlichen Filmfestspiele von Cannes, der Midem und des Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity. 

Resilienz von einer Naturkatastrophe erholen

Amber Donovan-Stevens • 16. Dezember 2021

In den letzten zehn Jahren haben wir einige der extremsten Wetterereignisse seit Beginn der Aufzeichnungen erlebt, die alle durch unseren menschlichen Einfluss auf die Anlage verursacht wurden. Unternehmen versuchen schnell, neue umweltfreundliche Richtlinien umzusetzen, um ihren Beitrag zu leisten, aber der Klimawandel hat Unternehmen auch gezwungen, ihren Ansatz zur Wiederherstellung nach Katastrophen anzupassen und neu zu definieren. Curtis Preston...

How can IoT fight climate change?

An image of IoT, Connectivity, How can IoT fight climate change?

Looking beyond consumer and industry demand for connected devices, IoT could play a vital part in conservation and the prevention of climate change

The Internet of Things is booming. After years of hype and anticipation, the number of connected devices looks set to hit 43 billion by 2023, increasing threefold from last year’s figure.

This uptick is driven by the technological advancements of recent years and, as the cost per device falls year after year, the technology is becoming more cost-effective, leading to widespread adoption of endpoints and services.

The proliferation of devices has given IoT the fuel to develop. Investments in IoT technology are predicted to grow by 13.6% per year. Upgraded sensors, increased computing power and stronger, reliable mobile connectivity are all converging to reinforce and advance the dominance of the Internet of Things.

An image of IoT, Connectivity, How can IoT fight climate change?

IoT’s advancement is aiding the fight

IoT is multi-faceted and wide-ranging. It doesn’t just encapsulate a single idea or device, but it connects many platforms, devices, use cases and users, creating a global network in the process.

As particular areas of IoT advanced quicker than others, organisations can leverage them to facilitate the creation of climate saving solutions. Sensor technology is one such area becoming much more advanced and cost-effective.

Many enterprises are looking to the Internet of Things to shore up their research, replacing legacy monitoring devices with more sophisticated technologies capable of gathering large amounts of accurate data, which is then used to inform governments and NGOs of potential strategies to aid in the fight against climate change.

Rainforest Connection is one such company. The non-profit organisation based out of San Francisco recycles smartphones, turning them into connected endpoint devices which monitor the sounds of forests in real-time. Their solution captures the ambient noise of hectare upon hectare of forests in Bolivia, Brazil, Cameroon, Ecuador and Peru, and is able to detect the sounds of chainsaws from up to a mile away using simple algorithms.

An image of IoT, Connectivity, How can IoT fight climate change?


Using technology and big data, they enable on-the-ground partners, such as tribespeople, charities and NGOs, to save threatened habitats by immediately reacting to illegal deforestation and poaching, like that of the threatened jaguars in Bolivia and gibbons in Sumatra.  

Each device is affixed to a tree and connected to a small solar panel and a sensitive external microphone. They each cover approximately 2.5km² of the forest. The audio is relayed to a cloud server, which then looks for distinct sounds in the waveform, such as gunshots, boat engines and chainsaws. If these sounds are recognised, a message is sent to local authorities pinpointing the location.


 “Saving rainforests isn’t only the key to halting climate change, It’s also vital to supporting many of the world’s poorest communities who rely on rainforests for food, shelter and livelihood.”

Rainforest Connection


Recently, they launched an application which allows users to monitor the rainforests for themselves.

Available for most smartphones, RFCx users are able to freely access live-streamed audio. Rainforest Connection hopes that by broadcasting their streams for anyone to listen in on they are able to raise awareness of the reality of illegal deforestation and its contribution to climate change.

IoT will prove pivotal in the fight against illegal deforestation, and the effect that has on climate change. It is a powerful thing, the connected device, and it looks to be booming at just the right time, as the technology becomes more cost-effective and 5G is becoming ever-present.

More and more organisations are now stepping in by utilising the Internet of Things to make a real difference before climate change reaches its tipping point.

An image of IoT, Connectivity, How can IoT fight climate change?

Luke Conrad

Technology & Marketing Enthusiast

Hacking Cyber Security’s battle for workers

Andrew Marsh • 30th September 2022

Cyber attacks are increasing exponentially, cyber professionals are quitting, and ultimately, no one is replacing them. Worldwide, the cyber workforce shortfall is approximately 3.5 million people. We have a mountain to climb. While there are rising numbers of people with security degrees and qualifications, this falls way short of industry demand.

Getac becomes British Touring Car Championship official technology partner

Chris Gibbs • 29th September 2022

In competitive motorsports, the smallest detail can be the difference between winning and losing. Getac is the official technology partner to the British Touring Car Championships (BTCC) helping it achieve its digital transformation goals, putting a wealth of information at the fingertips of both race officials and teams alike, and helping deliver incredibly exciting racing.

The Time is Now for Digital Transformation

Paul Waddilove • 29th September 2022

According to a McKinsey research report, 70% of enterprises that had taken on digital transformation reported in 2020 that their momentum had stalled. It is worth understanding the reasons–culture or scale for example–causing the slowdown as the payoffs from digital transformation can be impressive. It can lead to more efficient operations, with enterprises enjoying autonomy...

Addressing the environmental impact of the data centre

David Watkins • 29th September 2022

David Watkins, solutions director at VIRTUS Data Centres , share how you may have seen the recent news that Thames Water has launched a probe into the impact of data centres on water supplies in and around London, as it imposed a hosepipe ban on its 15 million customers in a drought-hit area. Ensuring that...

How Can Businesses Ensure Efficient Management of COSU Devices

Nadav Avni • 29th September 2022

Nadav Avni, Chief Marketing Officer at Radix Technologies, shares how when it comes to speeding up queues and providing instant information, nothing beats corporate-owned, single-use (COSU) devices. When put in kiosk mode, these devices become efficient digital assistants that collect and share information.

The Cloud – Debunking the Myth

Guy Parry Williams • 26th September 2022

Mid-sized businesses are head down, wrestling with constantly evolving operational challenges, from skills shortages to supply chain delays and raging inflation. Management teams lack the time and often confidence to explore technology innovation and, as a result, too many companies are missing vital opportunities to cut costs, boost efficiency and reach new customers.