Lernen Sie Huddly kennen, die intelligente Konferenzkamera, von der Sie nie wussten, dass Sie sie brauchen

Lernen Sie Huddly kennen, die intelligente Konferenzkamera, von der Sie nie wussten, dass Sie sie brauchen

Kredit: Knuddelig

Huddly ist eine KI-betriebene Videokamera, die Konferenzen auf der ganzen Welt aufrüttelt. Was macht es so besonders? Wir haben mit dem Unternehmen gesprochen, um das herauszufinden.

Skype ist jetzt sowohl ein Verb als auch ein Substantiv. Es ist ein Zeichen dafür, wie wichtig Videoanrufe in der heutigen Zeit geworden sind.

Videotelefonie ist eine Zukunftsvision der Menschheit, seit das Telefon Gegenwart ist. FaceTime hat die Art und Weise revolutioniert, wie wir weltweit in Kontakt bleiben, und Telefonkonferenzen haben die Geschäftswelt miteinander verbunden. Mit dem Aufkommen von KI könnten sich Videoanrufe wieder entwickeln.

Künstliche Intelligenz will lernen. Es analysiert die Datensätze dass es gefüttert wird und daraus ein Ergebnis produziert. KI erhellt bereits so viele Branchen mit ihren intelligenteren, reibungsloseren Methoden, sodass es logisch erscheint, dass sie Antworten bei Videoanrufen liefern könnte.



„Huddly IQ ist mehr als eine Kamera, es ist ein intelligenter Sensor“, sagt Anna Verena Brandt von Knuddelig. Huddly wurde 2013 von einem Designer und einem Ingenieur in Oslo, Norwegen, als Unternehmen gegründet. Anders Eikenes und Stein Ove Eriksen hatten einfach das Ziel, erstklassige Video-Telepresence-Systeme für Konferenzräume herzustellen.

„Seitdem haben wir einen langen Weg zurückgelegt“, sagt Anna. „Heute baut Huddly Tools für Teams – leistungsstarke Produkte und Funktionen, die KI nutzen, um die Zusammenarbeit im Team zu ermöglichen und den Arbeitsalltag der Menschen zu erleichtern. Wir kombinieren in Skandinavien entwickelte Hardware, Software und KI, um Kameras zu entwickeln, die künstliche Intelligenz in den Besprechungsraum bringen.“

Was sind die Vorteile einer KI-gestützten Kamera?

KI wird bereits in Kameras in der gesamten Technologiebranche eingesetzt.

Künstliche Intelligenz wird bereits in Smartphone-Kameras verwendet, um Aufnahmen zu stabilisieren und zu fokussieren, und Überwachungskameras können bestimmte Objekte mit der Kraft des maschinellen Lernens erkennen. In ähnlicher Weise kann die Technologie von Huddly feststellen, wer sich vor der Linse befindet.

„Die neuronale Engine von Huddly IQ in der Kamera wurde darauf trainiert und optimiert, die Personen im Besprechungsraum zu erkennen, sodass sie ihre Umgebung in Echtzeit sehen, verstehen und darauf reagieren kann“, sagt Anna. „Mit Genius Framing rahmt Huddly IQ automatisch die Personen in seinem Sichtfeld ein.“

Knuddeliger IQ
Der Huddly-IQ. / Kredit: Knuddelig

„Außerdem kann es die Personen im Raum zählen. Auf diese Daten kann über unsere InSights Analytics API zugegriffen und sicher mit Management-Dashboards geteilt werden.“

Zusätzlich zu dem, was die Technologie von Huddly in Bezug auf die Erkennung von Personen leisten kann, ist die Software sogar in der Lage, geschriebene Inhalte auf ähnliche Weise zu erkennen wie die Verarbeitung natürlicher Sprache (NLP).

„Unsere neueste Technologie ist Huddly Canvas, mit der Huddly IQ Inhalte von analogen Whiteboards digital verbessern und erfassen kann“, erklärt Anna.

Wie funktioniert der Huddly IQ?

Der Huddly IQ nutzt maschinelles Lernen.

Die Technologie führt eine spezifische kognitive Interpretation eines Besprechungsraums durch, indem sie den Objekterkennungsalgorithmus von Huddly verwendet. Mit dieser KI kann die Kamera Objekte in ihrem Blickfeld durch Lokalisierung lokalisieren und durch Klassifizierung identifizieren. Wenn es um Genius Framing geht, liefert Huddly Trainingsdaten, damit die Technologie genau weiß, wo Personen in der Aufnahme sein sollten.

„Die Huddly IQ ist die einzige Kamera, die den Intel Movidius Myriad X-Chip verwendet, eine VPU, die speziell für maschinelles Lernen entwickelt wurde“, sagt Anna. „Durch die Bereitstellung von Intelligenz und hochwertiger Bildsensorik am Rand können wir ein kognitives Verständnis von Räumen für die Zusammenarbeit vermitteln, und unsere Kameras können dann auf das Verständnis reagieren.“


Bei KI in der UC-Branche geht es darum, die Mitarbeitererfahrung zu vereinfachen und Teams produktiver zu machen

Anna Verena Brandt, Huddly

Der Rand ist entscheidend. Die Geräte von Huddly laufen auf Edge-Computing, was es der Technik ermöglicht schneller Entscheidungen treffen. Die geringere Latenz sorgt für ein effizienteres, genaueres und sichereres Gerät, und der Edge kann immer noch die erforderlichen schweren maschinellen Lernalgorithmen verarbeiten.

„Wir verwenden KI, um das Besprechungserlebnis auf drei Arten zu verbessern“, sagt Anna. „Zur Automatisierung zuvor manueller Prozesse (Genius Framing), zur Integration analoger Prozesse in den digitalen Workflow (Canvas), zur Bereitstellung fortschrittlicher Analysen, die es Unternehmen ermöglichen, bessere Entscheidungen über die Nutzung ihrer Einrichtungen zu treffen (InSights Analytics API).“

KI trägt dazu bei, eine Branche zu verändern, die über Huddly hinausgeht

Maschinelles Lernen ist von Natur aus komplex. Es stützt sich auf Computer, die so dicht wie ein biologisches Gehirn sind, und obwohl es kompliziert ist, sagt Anna, dass maschinelles Lernen tatsächlich dazu beiträgt, Industrien zu vereinfachen.

„Bei KI in der UC-Branche geht es darum, die Mitarbeitererfahrung zu vereinfachen und Teams produktiver zu machen“, sagt sie. „Es gibt definitiv Bemühungen, das Videomeeting-Erlebnis für verteilte Teams reibungslos funktionieren zu lassen, zum Beispiel durch die Automatisierung manueller Aufgaben und die Verwendung von Sprachunterstützung (z. B. Google Assistant in Hangouts Meet).“

Anna spricht von den neuen Möglichkeiten zur Verbesserung der Kommunikation und des Arbeitsablaufs als „aufregend“ und nennt die automatisierte Sprachtranskription – bei der ein Meeting automatisch transkribiert und durchsuchbar gemacht wird – sowie die Echtzeitübersetzung als Möglichkeiten, wie KI dazu beiträgt, Videokonferenzanrufe zu verändern . Auch die Besprechungsraumanalyse trägt dazu bei, wichtige Informationen an die Benutzer weiterzugeben.

Huddly nutzt all diese technologischen Fortschritte voll aus. „2019 war ein großartiges Jahr für Huddly“, sagt Anna. „Zusätzlich zu unseren bestehenden Partnerschaften mit Google, Crestron, NEC, Avocor und Zoom sind wir neue eingegangen Lenovo, Yamaha und Stem Audio. Unser Umsatz wird sich in diesem Jahr voraussichtlich mehr als verdoppeln … und wir sind sehr gespannt auf die realen Anwendungen unserer neuen Canvas-Technologie.“ 

Was also bringt die Zukunft für das Unternehmen?

„In Zukunft werden wir weiterhin intelligente Lösungen liefern, die Meeting-Erlebnisse vereinfachen, unser Produktportfolio erweitern und neue innovative Erlebnisse auf der Grundlage von KI schaffen.“

Lukas Konrad

Technologie- und Marketing-Enthusiast

Erzielen Sie Produktivitäts- und Effizienzsteigerungen durch Datenmanagement

Russ Kennedy • 04. Juli 2023

Unternehmensdaten sind seit vielen Jahren eng mit Hardware verknüpft, doch jetzt ist ein spannender Wandel im Gange, da die Ära der Hardware-Unternehmen vorbei ist. Mit fortschrittlichen Datendiensten, die über die Cloud verfügbar sind, können Unternehmen auf Investitionen in Hardware verzichten und das Infrastrukturmanagement zugunsten des Datenmanagements aufgeben.

Meet Huddly, the smart conference camera you never knew you needed

Meet Huddly, the smart conference camera you never knew you needed

Credit: Huddly

Huddly is an AI-powered video camera that’s shaking up conferences around the world. What makes it so special? We spoke with the company to find out.

Skype is now a verb as much as a noun. It’s a sign of how important video calling has become in modern times.

Videotelephony has been a vision for humanity’s future so long as the telephone has been part of the present. FaceTime has revolutionised the way that we keep in contact across the globe and conference calls have connected the business world. With the advent of AI, video calling could be about to develop again.

Artificial intelligence wants to learn. It analyses the data sets that it is fed and produces a result from it. AI is already lighting up so many industries with its smarter, smoother ways, so it seems logical that it could provide answers in video calling.



“Huddly IQ is more than a camera, it’s an intelligent sensor,” says Anna Verena Brandt of Huddly. Huddly was founded as a company based in 2013 by a designer and an engineer in Oslo, Norway. Anders Eikenes and Stein Ove Eriksen simply had the goal of making top-end boardroom video telepresence systems.

“We have come a long way since then,” says Anna. “Today, Huddly builds tools for teams – powerful products and features that use AI to enable team collaboration and make people’s workday easier. We combine Scandinavian-designed hardware, software and AI to create cameras that bring artificial intelligence into the meeting room.”

What are the benefits of an AI-powered camera?

AI is already used in cameras across the tech industry.

Artificial intelligence is already used in smartphone cameras to help steady and focus shots, and surveillance cameras can recognise specific objects with the power of machine learning. Similarly, Huddly’s technology can determine who is in front of the lens.

“Huddly IQ’s on-camera neural engine has been trained and optimised to detect the people in the meeting room, allowing it to see, understand and respond to its environment in real-time,” says Anna. “With Genius Framing, Huddly IQ automatically frames the people in its field of view.”

Huddly IQ
The Huddly IQ. / Credit: Huddly

“Additionally, it can count the people in the room. This data can be accessed via our InSights Analytics API and securely shared with management dashboards.”

On top of what Huddly’s tech can do in terms of recognising people, the software is even capable of recognising written content in much the same way that Natural Language Processing (NLP) can.

“Our newest technology is Huddly Canvas, which allows Huddly IQ to digitally enhance and capture content from analogue whiteboards,” Anna explains.

How does the Huddly IQ work?

The Huddly IQ uses machine learning.

The technology performs a specific cognitive interpretation of a meeting room, using Huddly’s object detection algorithm. With this AI, the camera can locate objects in its view through localisation and identify them with classification. When it comes to Genius Framing, Huddly supplies training data to help the technology know exactly where people should be in the shot.

“The Huddly IQ is the only camera to use the Intel Movidius Myriad X chip, a VPU specially designed for Machine Learning,” Anna says. “By providing intelligence and high-quality image sensoring at the edge, we can provide a cognitive understanding of collaboration spaces and our cameras are then able to act on the understanding.”


AI in the UC industry is about simplifying the employee experience and allowing teams to be more productive

Anna Verena Brandt, Huddly

The edge is key. Huddly’s equipment runs on edge computing, which enables the tech to make quicker decisions. The lower latency makes for a more efficient, accuracy and more secure device, and the edge can still handle the heavy machine learning algorithms required.

“We use AI to improve the meeting experience in three ways,” says Anna. “To automate previously manual processes (Genius Framing), to integrate analogue processes into the digital workflow (Canvas), to provide advanced analytics which enables businesses to make better decisions about how to use their facilities (InSights Analytics API).”

AI is helping to transform an industry beyond just Huddly

Machine learning is complex by nature. It relies on computers as dense as a biological brain and yet despite how complicated it is, Anna says that machine learning is actually helping to simplify industries.

“AI in the UC industry is about simplifying the employee experience and allowing teams to be more productive,” she says. “There is definitely an effort to make the video meeting experience work seamlessly for distributed teams, for example with the automation of manual tasks and the use of voice assistance (e.g. Google Assistant in Hangouts Meet).”

Anna talks of the new ways to improve communication and workflow as being “exciting”, citing automated voice transcription – where a meeting is automatically transcribed and made searchable – along with real-time translation as being ways that AI is helping to change video conference calling. Meeting room analytics, too, is helping to relay important information back to users.

Huddly is taking full advantage of all of these technological advancements. “2019 has been a great year for Huddly,” Anna says. “In addition to our existing partnerships with Google, Crestron, NEC, Avocor, and Zoom, we entered new ones with Lenovo, Yamaha and Stem Audio. Our revenue is expected to more than double this year… and we are very excited about the real-life applications of our new Canvas technology.” 

So what does the future hold for the company?

“In the future, we are going to continue delivering intelligent solutions that simplify meeting experiences, extend our portfolio of products and create new innovate experiences based on AI.”

Luke Conrad

Technology & Marketing Enthusiast

Why ABM is Key to Strengthening your Marketing Strategy

Erin Lanahan • 16th May 2024

Account-Based Marketing (ABM) is revolutionizing B2B marketing by targeting high-value accounts with personalized strategies. Unlike traditional methods, ABM focuses on specific companies, delivering tailored content that meets their unique needs. This approach not only boosts ROI but also strengthens customer relationships and drives long-term growth. By aligning marketing and sales efforts, ABM ensures a unified...

Overcoming the Obstacles to AI Adoption

Kit Cox • 02nd May 2024

The power of AI combined with suitable use cases and a robust implementation plan can help businesses to radically reduce the time spent on manual, repetitive tasks, and allow teams to prioritise value-added work. But in all the excitement, it’s evident that many businesses are held back by inertia, and a lack of understanding about...

Overcoming the Obstacles to AI Adoption

Kit Cox • 02nd May 2024

The power of AI combined with suitable use cases and a robust implementation plan can help businesses to radically reduce the time spent on manual, repetitive tasks, and allow teams to prioritise value-added work. But in all the excitement, it’s evident that many businesses are held back by inertia, and a lack of understanding about...

How Predictive AI is Helping the Energy Sector

Colin Gault head of product at POWWR • 29th April 2024

In the past year or so, we have seen the emergence of many new and exciting applications for predictive AI in the energy industry to better maintain and optimise energy assets. In fact, the advances in the technology have been nothing short of rapid. The challenge, though, has been in supplying the ‘right’ data to...

How Predictive AI is Helping the Energy Sector

Colin Gault head of product at POWWR • 29th April 2024

In the past year or so, we have seen the emergence of many new and exciting applications for predictive AI in the energy industry to better maintain and optimise energy assets. In fact, the advances in the technology have been nothing short of rapid. The challenge, though, has been in supplying the ‘right’ data to...

Cheltenham MSP is first official local cyber advisor

Neil Smith Managing Director of ReformIT • 23rd April 2024

ReformIT, a Managed IT Service and Security provider (MSP) based in the UK’s cyber-capital, Cheltenham, has become the first MSP in the local area to be accredited as both a Cyber Advisor and a Cyber Essentials Certification Body. The Cyber Advisor scheme was launched by the Government’s official National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) and the...

How we’re modernising BT’s UK Portfolio Businesses

Faisal Mahomed • 23rd April 2024

Nowhere is the move to a digitised society more pronounced than the evolution from the traditional phone box to our innovative digital street units. Payphone usage has dropped massively since the late 1990s/2000s, with devices and smart phones replacing not only communication access, but the central community points that the payphones once stood for. Our...

How we’re modernising BT’s UK Portfolio Businesses

Faisal Mahomed • 23rd April 2024

Nowhere is the move to a digitised society more pronounced than the evolution from the traditional phone box to our innovative digital street units. Payphone usage has dropped massively since the late 1990s/2000s, with devices and smart phones replacing not only communication access, but the central community points that the payphones once stood for. Our...