Proofpoints Voice of the CISO 2021 Report entpackt

Der Voice of the CISO 2021-Bericht von Proofpoint hat ergeben, dass sich mehr als zwei Drittel der britischen CISOs auf einen Cyberangriff nicht vorbereitet fühlen.

Führendes Unternehmen für Cybersicherheit und Compliance Proofpoint hat seine Eröffnungsfeier veröffentlicht 2021 Stimme des CISO-Berichts, das die wichtigsten Herausforderungen untersucht, mit denen CISOs nach einem der beispiellosesten Jahre in der lebendigen Geschichte konfrontiert sind. 

Der Bericht auf einen Blick

Der diesjährige Bericht befragt über 1,400 CISOs aus mittleren und großen Unternehmen in 14 Ländern: USA, Kanada, Großbritannien, Frankreich, Deutschland, Italien, Spanien, Schweden, Niederlande, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate, KSA, Australien, Japan und Singapur.

„Letztes Jahr standen Cybersicherheitsteams auf der ganzen Welt vor der Herausforderung, ihre Sicherheitslage in dieser neuen und sich verändernden Landschaft buchstäblich über Nacht zu verbessern. Dies erforderte einen Balanceakt zwischen der Unterstützung von Remote-Arbeit und der Vermeidung von Betriebsunterbrechungen bei gleichzeitiger Sicherung dieser Umgebungen“, kommentierte Lucia Milica, weltweit ansässige CISO bei Proofpoint. 

„Da die Zukunft der Arbeit immer flexibler wird, erstreckt sich diese Herausforderung jetzt auf das nächste Jahr und darüber hinaus. CISOs müssen nicht nur viele weitere Angriffspunkte sichern und Benutzer über langfristige Remote- und Hybridarbeit schulen, sondern auch das Vertrauen bei Kunden, internen Stakeholdern und dem Markt wecken, dass solche Setups auf unbestimmte Zeit funktionsfähig sind.“

Die Umfrage hat drei Schwerpunkte: 

  • Die Arten von Cyber-Bedrohungen, denen CISOs täglich ausgesetzt sind
  • Die Anforderungen in der Zukunft, um eine hybride Belegschaft zu unterstützen, wenn Unternehmen ihre Büros wiedereröffnen.
  • Schulung und Bereitschaft der Mitarbeiter in der Cybersicherheit.

Der Bericht wirft auch einen Blick auf die Herausforderungen, mit denen CISOs in ihren Rollen konfrontiert sind, sowie auf die Erwartungen ihrer Teams. 

Befund 

Aus dem Bericht gehen einige klare Trends hervor. Zu den wichtigsten Erkenntnissen der britischen Befragten gehören::

CISOs sind angesichts einer Fülle von Bedrohungen in höchster Alarmbereitschaft 

In einer Zeit, in der es bei Cyberangriffen nicht um das Ob, sondern um das Wann geht, fühlen sich 81 % der befragten britischen CISOs dem Risiko ausgesetzt, in den nächsten 12 Monaten einen erheblichen Cyberangriff zu erleiden. Dies ist weltweit der höchste Prozentsatz. Insider-Bedrohungen, Kompromittierung von Cloud-Konten und DDOS-Angriffe waren die drei wichtigsten Arten von Angriffen, über die CISOs besorgt sind. 

Die Sorge um die Cyberbereitschaft ist nach wie vor groß

Mit der Einführung der Fernarbeit und dem Fortschritt in Richtung Hybridarbeit sind 68 % der britischen CISOs der Meinung, dass ihre Organisation nicht auf einen gezielten Cyberangriff im Jahr 2021 vorbereitet ist. Die Hälfte der britischen CISOs, die an der Umfrage teilgenommen haben, äußerten größere Besorgnis über einen Cyberangriff Angriff im Jahr 2021, im Gegensatz zu 2020. 

Aufklärung über Cyberangriffe reicht nicht immer aus 

Obwohl 61 % der Mitarbeiter der Meinung sind, dass ihre Mitarbeiter in der Verhinderung von Cyberangriffen geschult sind, betrachten CISOs immer noch menschliches Versagen (62 %) und das absichtliche Durchsickern von Daten (kriminelle Insider-Angriffe) als zwei der wichtigsten Möglichkeiten, wie Mitarbeiter dem Unternehmen schaden könnten. 

Aufbruch ins Zeitalter der hybriden Arbeit 

Während die Entwicklung der hybriden Arbeit bei Mitarbeitern in allen Bürobranchen auf Begeisterung stößt, besteht nach wie vor große Sorge vor Angriffen auf Unternehmen. Seit dem Ausbruch des Coronavirus und der Umstellung auf Telearbeit haben 60 % der britischen CISOs angegeben, dass sie im letzten Jahr eine Zunahme gezielter Angriffe erlebt haben. 

Hohes Risiko, hohe Belohnung für Angreifer

Laut dem Bericht von Proofpoint glauben CISOs, dass Cyberkriminalität sowohl profitabler als auch riskanter als zuvor sein wird, wobei 71 % der britischen CISOs glauben, dass Cyberkriminalität für Angreifer noch profitabler werden wird, und 61 % glauben, dass Cyberkriminalität sogar noch profitabler werden wird für Cyberkriminelle riskanter werden.

Der Druck auf den CISO war nie höher 

Mit der Umstellung auf Remote-Arbeit, der Zunahme von Cyberangriffen und einigen Fällen, die sie für eine drastische digitale Transformation benötigen, ist die Rolle von CISOs im Unternehmen wertvoller denn je, was sich im Bericht widerspiegelt. 66 % der britischen CISOs stimmen zu, dass die Erwartungen an ihre Funktion übertrieben sind.

WEITERLESEN:

„Der ‚gut genug‘-Ansatz der letzten 12 Monate wird auf lange Sicht einfach nicht funktionieren: Da Unternehmen wahrscheinlich nie wieder zu den Arbeitspraktiken vor der Pandemie zurückkehren werden, war das Mandat zur Stärkung der Cybersicherheitsabwehr noch nie so dringend“, sagte Ryan Kalember , Executive Vice President für Cybersicherheitsstrategie bei Proofpoint. 

„CISOs haben heute mehr denn je eine geschäftskritische Funktion inne. Die Ergebnisse unseres Berichts betonen, dass CISOs die Tools benötigen, um Risiken zu mindern und eine Strategie zu entwickeln, die einen menschenzentrierten Ansatz für den Cybersicherheitsschutz verfolgt und Sensibilisierungsschulungen betont, um auf sich ständig ändernde Bedingungen einzugehen, wie sie Organisationen während der Pandemie erlebt haben.“

Vergessen Sie nicht, unser tägliches Bulletin zu abonnieren, um weitere Neuigkeiten von Top Business Tech zu erhalten!

Folge uns auf LinkedIn und Twitter

Amber Donovan-Stevens

Amber ist Inhaltsredakteurin bei Top Business Tech

Erzielen Sie Produktivitäts- und Effizienzsteigerungen durch Datenmanagement

Russ Kennedy • 04. Juli 2023

Unternehmensdaten sind seit vielen Jahren eng mit Hardware verknüpft, doch jetzt ist ein spannender Wandel im Gange, da die Ära der Hardware-Unternehmen vorbei ist. Mit fortschrittlichen Datendiensten, die über die Cloud verfügbar sind, können Unternehmen auf Investitionen in Hardware verzichten und das Infrastrukturmanagement zugunsten des Datenmanagements aufgeben.

Proofpoint’s Voice of the CISO 2021 Report unpacked

CISO, Cyber Security, Proofpoint’s Voice of the CISO 2021 Report unpacked

Proofpoint’s Voice of the CISO 2021 Report has revealed that more than two-thirds of UK CISOs feel unprepared to cope with a cyberattack.

Leading cybersecurity and compliance company Proofpoint has released its inaugural 2021 Voice of the CISO report, which examines the key challenges facing CISOs after one of the most unprecedented years in living history. 

The report at a glance

This year’s report surveys over 1,400 CISOs from medium and large-sized companies across 14 countries: the US, Canada, the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Sweden, the Netherlands, UAE, KSA, Australia, Japan, and Singapore.

“Last year, cybersecurity teams around the world were challenged to enhance their security posture in this new and changing landscape, literally overnight. This required a balancing act between supporting remote work and avoiding business interruption while securing those environments,” commented Lucia Milica, global resident CISO at Proofpoint. 

“With the future of work becoming increasingly flexible, this challenge now extends into next year and beyond. In addition to securing many more points of attack and educating users on long-term remote and hybrid work, CISOs must instil confidence among customers, internal stakeholders, and the market that such setups are workable indefinitely.”

The survey has three key areas of focus: 

  • The types of cyber threats that CISOs face daily
  • The requirements in the future to support a hybrid workforce as businesses reopen offices.
  • Employee education and preparedness in cybersecurity.

The report also takes a look at the challenges CISOs face in their roles, as well as the expectations of their teams. 

Findings 

There are some clear trends emerging from the report. Key findings from UK respondents include:

CISOs are on high alert to a wealth of threats 

In the age where it is not a case of if but when concerning cyber attacks, 81% of surveyed UK CISOs feel at risk of suffering a material cyber attack in the next 12 months. This is the highest percentage globally. Insider threats, Cloud Account Compromise, and DDOS attacks comprised the three key types of attacks that CISOs are concerned about. 

Concern for cyber preparedness is still high

With the introduction of remote working and advancement towards hybrid working, 68% of UK CISOs feel their organisation is unprepared to cope with a targeted cyberattack in 2021. Half of the UK CISOs that took part in the survey have expressed a greater concern for a cyber attack in 2021, as opposed to 2020. 

Education on cyberattacks isn’t always enough 

Though 61% of employees feel that their workforce is educated in preventing cyberattacks, CISOs still consider human error (62%) and purposefully leaking data (criminal insider attack) as two of the primary ways in which employees could damage the business. 

Entering the age of hybrid work 

While the evolution of hybrid work has been met with enthusiasm from employees across office-based industries, there is still a considerable concern for company attacks. Since the coronavirus outbreak and the move to remote work, 60% of British CISOs have revealed that they have seen an increase in targeted attacks in the last year. 

High risk, high reward for attackers

According to Proofpoint’s report, CISOs believe that cybercrime will be both more profitable and riskier than before, with 71% of UK CISOs believing that cybercrime will become even more profitable for attackers, and 61% believe that cybercrime will become even more profitable it will also become riskier for cybercriminals.

The pressure on the CISO has never been higher 

With the move to remote work, the rise in cyberattacks, and some cases they need for drastic digital transformation, CISOs role in the company is more valuable than ever, which is reflected in the report. 66% of UK CISOs agree that expectations on their function are excessive.

READ MORE:

“The ‘good enough’ approach of the past 12 months will simply not work in the long term: with businesses unlikely to ever return to pre-pandemic working practices, the mandate to strengthen cybersecurity defences has never been more pressing,” said Ryan Kalember, executive vice president of cybersecurity strategy for Proofpoint. 

“CISOs hold a business-critical function, now more than ever. The findings from our report emphasise that CISOs need the tools to mitigate risk and develop a strategy that takes a people-centric approach to cybersecurity protection and emphasises awareness training to address ever-changing conditions, like those experienced by organisations throughout the pandemic.”

For more news from Top Business Tech, don’t forget to subscribe to our daily bulletin!

Follow us on LinkedIn and Twitter

Author

How to move from CIO to Chief Customer Success Officer

Amber Donovan-Stevens • 21st October 2021

Dean Leung, Chief Customer Success Officer at iManage, reflects on his own path shifting from CIO to Chief Customer Success Officer (CCSO) and discusses both the similarities and differences of the two roles, and why it can be a natural progression when approached with the proper mindset.

The importance of edtech in the early years sector

Amber Donovan-Stevens • 18th October 2021

Technology has become an operational mainstay across a multitude of industries – helping businesses, education establishments, governments, and charities to streamline their processes and enhance communications. When it comes to the early years education sector, this is no different. Chris Reid, CEO and founder of Connect Childcare, shares his thoughts on the intrinsic link between...

A deep dive into the Scaled Agile Framework

Jeff Keyes • 14th October 2021

The Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) was designed to help large organizations successfully adopt agile methodologies. In this article Jeff Keyes, VP of Product Marketing and Strategy at Plutora, discusses the four core values of this approach, and how and why businesses are using the SAFe framework to improve agility in software development.

How click fraud has worsened in the wake of Covid-19

Amber Donovan-Stevens • 05th October 2021

Stewart Boutcher, CTO and Data Lead at Beacon, examines how click fraud – which was already a serious threat to companies engaged in digital marketing prior to the pandemic – has worsened considerably in its wake. He seeks to provide a forecast on how the situation is likely to evolve overtime, and advice on what...

Join our webinar on 26th October: Intelligent Automation - Maintaining the competitive edge.

X