Für zwei von fünf britischen Verbrauchern hat das Telefon während der Pandemie persönliche Interaktionen ersetzt

Call Center

41 % der britischen Verbraucher geben an, dass das Anrufen von Callcentern die persönliche und die Interaktion mit Marken im Geschäft ersetzt hat

5th November 2020: Als viele Unternehmen während der Pandemie ihre Türen schließen und persönliche Aktivitäten einschränken mussten, hat sich das Telefon als wichtiges und effektives Instrument erwiesen, wobei zwei von fünf Verbrauchern sagen, dass das Telefonieren mit Unternehmen und Callcentern das persönliche Telefonieren ersetzt hat und In-Store-Interaktionen mit Marken. In der Tat, die Umfrage, die von durchgeführt wurde Netzruf hat in Zusammenarbeit mit Arlington Research ergeben, dass mehr als ein Drittel der Verbraucher (34 %) es während der Pandemie für unerlässlich hielten, Unternehmen anzurufen. Das ist trotz jüngste Spekulationen, dass COVID das Ende des Callcenters bedeuten könnte.

Und entgegen vieler landläufiger Meinungen ist das Telefon für jüngere Verbraucher ebenso wie für ältere Altersgruppen ein wichtiger Kanal. 38 % der Millennials, 40 % der Generation X, 39 % der Babyboomer und 39 % der Silent Generation stimmen alle zu, dass das Telefonieren mit Unternehmen oder Callcentern eine der wichtigsten Möglichkeiten ist, wie sie mit einer Marke in Kontakt treten. Darüber hinaus stimmten 36 % der 18- bis 24-Jährigen zu, dass es während der Pandemie von entscheidender Bedeutung war, ein Unternehmen anzurufen, verglichen mit 27 % der 55- bis 64-Jährigen.

Mit England tritt es jetzt ein zweite landesweite Abriegelung, in der alle nicht wesentlichen Geschäfte wieder für die Öffentlichkeit geschlossen werden, wird die Abhängigkeit der Gesellschaft von alternativen Kontaktmethoden fortgesetzt – und könnte sogar eskalieren. 

Es sind jedoch nicht nur gute Nachrichten für das Contact Center. Mehr als die Hälfte (55 %) musste während der Pandemie länger auf Anrufe bei Marken warten. Während es dafür Erklärungen in Bezug auf die gestiegene Nachfrage und die Herausforderungen bei der Besetzung traditioneller Contact-Center-Standorte geben kann, schadet dies Marken immer noch, wenn es um Reputation und Kundenbindung geht. Das Kundenerlebnis und die Art und Weise, wie Unternehmen auf Verbraucher reagieren, war noch nie so wichtig. Tatsächlich stimmen 69 % zu, dass ein schlechtes Kundenerlebnis/Support am Telefon ihre Einstellung zu einer Marke negativ beeinflusst, während mehr als ein Drittel (37 %) der Meinung ist, dass Unternehmen rund um die Uhr telefonisch erreichbar sein sollten.

Und da die Nachfrage nach Remote-Services rund um die Uhr steigt, werden Self-Service-Kanäle schnell als Lösung angesehen. Zwei von fünf (43 %) Befragten ziehen es vor, Self-Service-Kanäle wie Online-Chatbots zu nutzen, anstatt ein Callcenter anzurufen. Und diese Vorlieben variieren mit dem Alter: 58 % der 25- bis 34-Jährigen bevorzugen Self-Service-Kanäle, verglichen mit 33 % der 55- bis 64-Jährigen und 28 % über 65. Das bedeutet nicht, dass Self-Service für alle Arten von Interaktionen zur Verfügung steht ; Stattdessen sollten Unternehmen ihre Bemühungen darauf konzentrieren, Kunden die geeigneten Kanäle für die Komplexität und den Aufwand des Engagements bereitzustellen.

Richard Farrell, Chief Innovation Officer bei Netcall, kommentierte: „Bei einfachen Transaktionen können automatisierte Kanäle, unterstützt durch Low-Code-Software, den Benutzern Komfort bieten und Ressourcen in Contact Centern für komplexere, emotionalere oder hochwertigere Interaktionen freisetzen. Chatbots sind ein offensichtliches Beispiel, aber Unternehmen sollten telefonbasierte Dienste wie Interactive Voice Response (IVR) und andere Formen von Sprachbots für die Anrufweiterleitung, die Erstellung von Lastschriften und Zahlungen nicht vernachlässigen. Wenn Kunden über einen automatisierten Kanal anrufen oder eskalieren müssen, gibt es Möglichkeiten, das Erlebnis zu verwalten, wie z.

„Agenten müssen auch mit den richtigen Tools ausgestattet werden, um ihre Arbeit zu erledigen, und das bedeutet, dass Informationen leicht verfügbar sind, sowie Systeme und Prozesse, die Reibungsverluste bei Kundenreisen beseitigen. Robotic Process Automation kann schnell Informationen aus mehreren Systemen sammeln und nach Abschluss eines Anrufs Schritte ausführen, um das Kundenerlebnis zu verbessern und die Effizienz zu steigern“, schloss Farrell.

Die Ergebnisse der Umfrage unterstreichen, wie wichtig der Telefonkanal nach wie vor ist, und zeigen gleichzeitig Möglichkeiten auf, wie Unternehmen die Kundennachfrage erfüllen, das Erlebnis verbessern und die Kosten minimieren können. Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie Netzruf.


Ein Bild der Pandemie, Business, Für zwei von fünf britischen Verbrauchern hat das Telefon während der Pandemie persönliche Interaktionen ersetzt

Bekki Barnes

Mit 5 Jahren Erfahrung im Marketing verfügt Bekki über Kenntnisse sowohl im B2B- als auch im B2C-Marketing. Bekki hat mit einer Vielzahl von Marken zusammengearbeitet, darunter lokale und nationale Organisationen.

For two in five UK consumers, the telephone has replaced face-to-face interactions during the pandemic

call centre

41% of UK consumers say phoning call centres has replaced face-to-face and in-store interaction with brands

5th November 2020: When many organisations had to close their doors and restrict face-to-face activities during the pandemic, the telephone has proven to be a vital and effective tool, with two in five consumers saying phoning business and call centres has replaced face-to-face and in-store interactions with brands. In fact, the survey, which was carried out by Netcall in conjunction with Arlington Research, has revealed that more than a third of consumers (34%) have found it vital to phone businesses during the pandemic. That’s despite recent speculation that COVID could spell the end of the call centre.

And, contrary to many popular beliefs, the telephone has been a vital channel for younger consumers as much as it has been for older age groups. 38% of Millennials, 40% of Generation X, 39% of Baby Boomers, and 39% of the Silent Generation all agree that phoning businesses or call centres is one of the main ways they contact a brand. In addition, 36% of 18-24 year olds agreed it has been vital to telephone a business during the pandemic, compared to 27% of 55-64 year olds.

With England now entering its second national lockdown, which will see all non-essential businesses closed to the public once again, society’s reliance on alternative contact methods is set to continue – and could even escalate. 

However, it’s not all good news for the contact centre. More than half (55%) have been kept waiting longer on phone calls to brands during the pandemic. Whilst there may be explanations for this in terms of increased demand and challenges with staffing traditional contact centre sites, this still harms brands when it comes to reputation and customer loyalty. Customer experience and the way that companies respond to consumers has never been so important. In fact, 69% agree that bad customer experience/support over the phone negatively impacts the way they feel about a brand, whilst more than one in three (37%) think businesses should be available by phone 24/7.

And, as the demand for round-the-clock services to be delivered remotely increases, self-service channels are rapidly being seen as the solution. Two-in-five (43%) respondents prefer to use self-service channels such as online chatbots, rather than phoning a call centre. And these preferences vary with age: 58% of 25-34 year olds prefer self-service channels, compared to 33% of 55-64 year olds and 28% over 65. That doesn’t mean self-service for all types of interactions; rather, that organisations should focus their efforts on providing customers with the appropriate channels for the complexity and effort of the engagement.

Richard Farrell, Chief Innovation Officer at Netcall commented, “For simple transactions, automated channels, underpinned by low-code software, can provide convenience for users and free up resource in contact centres for more complex, emotional, or high-value interactions. Chatbots are an obvious example, but organisations shouldn’t neglect telephone-based services such as Interactive Voice Response (IVR) and other forms of voice bot for call routing, direct debit creation, and payments. When customers need to call or escalate from an automated channel, there are ways to help manage the experience, such as call centre callback, that removes much of the frustration for callers and delivers more effective staff utilisation.

“Agents must also be empowered with the right tools to do their job, and that means information being readily available, as well as systems and processes that remove friction from customer journeys. Robotic Process Automation can quickly gather information from multiple systems and perform steps once a call completes, improving customer experience and improving efficiency,” Farrell concluded.

The results from the survey highlight just how important the telephone channel remains, whilst indicating ways in which organisations can meet customer demand, improve experience, and minimise costs. For more information, visit Netcall.


pandemic, Business, For two in five UK consumers, the telephone has replaced face-to-face interactions during the pandemic

Bekki Barnes

With 5 years’ experience in marketing, Bekki has knowledge in both B2B and B2C marketing. Bekki has worked with a wide range of brands, including local and national organisations.

The vital role business plays in the business intelligence equation

Phillip Smith • 03rd December 2021

As organizations continue turning their attention to technology advancements, to maintain some form of ‘business as usual’, there has never been a greater need for companies to truly understand the data they hold, and how to interpret it. Phillip Smith, the chief architect at workplace data analytics firm Tiger, explains more.

2,500 years of threat intelligence and its value continues to...

Anthony Perridge • 01st December 2021

Anthony Perridge, VP International at ThreatQuotient discusses how threat intelligence has evolved to form an essential aspect of modern-day cybersecurity. By harking back to the practices of our ancestors, today’s threat hunters can take inspiration about evaluating threat data to maximize the best possible decisions.

The gaming industry’s latest challenge: DDoS protection

Babur Khan • 30th November 2021

As the industry faces a rise in DDoS threats, it is time that gaming companies truly prioritise cybersecurity and business resiliency. In his latest article, Babur Khan,Technical Marketing Engineer at A10 Networks, lays out a framework for the industry to do just this, securing their customers and their own success against the tide of cyberattacks.

The Best Ten Rated Cloud Security Management Options For Business

Erin Laurenson • 24th November 2021

Cloud Security programs that can carry out safety procedures and address or flag potential high-risk elements are now critical, allowing businesses to function normally without fearing a potential breach. To help you find the best Cloud management and security system for your business, we’ve done the research and found the top systems presently available on...