Die Bedeutung von Datenanalysen und die Möglichkeit, Erkenntnisse in Echtzeit zu gewinnen

von Dan Seal, Produktleitung, Streaming Analytics, Kx




Datenanalyse bezieht sich auf den Prozess der Untersuchung von Datensätzen, um Schlussfolgerungen zu ziehen und wertvolle Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen. Ausgestattet mit den effektivsten Analysesystemen können Unternehmen Entscheidungen treffen, die die Rentabilität steigern, die Kundenzahlen steigern, neue Trends setzen und den Betrieb für die kommenden Jahre zukunftssicher machen.

Der Zugriff auf solche Daten ist so wichtig geworden, dass er es ist geschätzt bis 2022, werden mehr als die Hälfte der großen neuen Geschäftssysteme kontinuierliche Intelligenz enthalten – dies ist ein System, das Echtzeitdaten verwendet, um die Entscheidungsfindung zu verbessern.


Die Transformation der Entscheidungsfindung

Einer der Hauptgründe für die Implementierung einer Datenanalyseplattform ist, dass Organisationen in der Vergangenheit auf der Grundlage der kollektiven Effizienz der Entscheidungen, die sie jeden Tag treffen, aufgestiegen (und gefallen) sind. Diese Entscheidungen können von der Entwicklung der Produkte bis hin zu den Zielmärkten reichen und den Unterschied zwischen Erfolg oder Misserfolg ausmachen.

Zuvor lag die Entscheidungsfindung auf der Grundlage von Branchenexpertise und kalkulierter Vorausplanung in den Händen der Geschäftsleitung. Während dies für viele Unternehmen immer noch der Fall ist, leben wir jetzt in einem Umfeld, in dem Daten und Maschinen ebenfalls in der Lage sind, effiziente Entscheidungen zu treffen. Diese können in Echtzeit erfolgen und auf vergangenen Informationen basieren. 

Beispielsweise haben Sie möglicherweise eine Analyse, die einen Temperaturanstieg in einer IoT-Anwendung misst, aber dann möchte diese auch ein maschinelles Lernmodell verwenden, um ihr zukünftiges Verhalten vorherzusagen. Daher muss diese Plattform sowohl den Analyseprozess als auch das maschinelle Lernmodell unterstützen, um die richtige Entscheidung in Echtzeit zu treffen. Darüber hinaus könnte eine Lieferkette die Zuweisung ihrer Spediteure so entscheiden, dass die Lieferanforderungen der Kunden zu den niedrigsten Kosten erfüllt werden, aber diese Entscheidung muss sofort in diesem Moment getroffen werden. Wenn dies nicht in Echtzeit erfolgt, könnte die Kundennachfrage nicht erfüllt werden oder Unternehmen würden am Ende zu viel für den erforderlichen Service in diesem Moment bezahlen.


Die Datenherausforderung 

Obwohl es mittlerweile eine Fülle neuer Datenerfassungs- und Analyseplattformen gibt, kann es sich immer noch als schwierig erweisen, die richtige zu finden. In der heutigen digitalisierten Welt, über 2,500,000 Terabyte an Daten werden jeden Tag produziert, und selbst die besten Systeme speichern Daten oft in Silos, was bedeutet, dass sie schwer zugänglich, analysierbar oder vergleichbar sind. Dies führt in der Regel zu vergänglichen Erkenntnissen, bei denen einmal wertvolle Daten wertlos werden, weil sie nicht schnell genug analysiert werden.

Daher sehen wir allmählich einen großen Ruf nach Streaming-Analytics-Plattformen; Dies sind Systeme, die in der Lage sind, riesige Datenmengen in Echtzeit zu verarbeiten und diese historischen Datensätzen gegenüberzustellen, um neue Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen, Entscheidungen im Moment zu treffen und neue Werte zu schaffen. 


Warum Streaming-Analysen?

Die meisten Organisationen produzieren Echtzeitdaten einer bestimmten Beschreibung. Die Frage ist, ob sie den Wert steigern können, indem sie im Moment darauf reagieren. Mit der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung aller Branchen und dem Wachstum neuer Technologien wie IoT werden mehr Unternehmen in der Lage sein, Wert in Echtzeitdaten zu finden. Um diesen Wert zu extrahieren, kann der Zeitrahmen, in dem Entscheidungen getroffen werden müssen, Sekunden, wenn nicht Millisekunden betragen. Da die Haltbarkeit wertvoller Daten begrenzt ist, macht Streaming Analytics die Notwendigkeit einer Stapelverarbeitung von Daten überflüssig, bei der Daten in großen Mengen auf einmal verarbeitet werden, sodass Unternehmen einen Kurs verfolgen oder nahezu sofort die Richtung ändern können.

Alle Daten werden potenziell gestreamt, da sie alle aus Dutzenden, Hunderten und manchmal Tausenden von Anwendungen in großen Unternehmen stammen und daher analysiert werden können, um fundierte Entscheidungen zu treffen. Daten sind der Treibstoff für Streaming-Analysen, aber auch für historische Analysen, z. B. zum Trainieren von Modellen für maschinelles Lernen, und zur Datenanreicherung in Echtzeit. Mit Zeitreihenanalysen, dem Prozess der Analyse von Zeitreihendaten zum Extrahieren aussagekräftiger Erkenntnisse, können Unternehmen Erkenntnisse gewinnen und Modelle erstellen, die für Anwendungsfälle von Streaming-Analysen verwendet werden. 


Überlegungen

Letztendlich gibt es drei Fragen, auf die sich Unternehmen konzentrieren müssen, wenn es darum geht, eine Entscheidung zu treffen. Welche Folgen wird diese Entscheidung haben? Welche Datenquellen benötigen wir, um dies zu erreichen, und was können wir sonst noch tun, um den Kunden/Endbenutzer zufrieden zu stellen? Um diese anzugehen, benötigen Unternehmen eine Streaming-Analyseplattform, die sich in ihre bestehende Anwendungsarchitektur integrieren lässt und in der Lage ist, Daten zu verarbeiten und diese Erkenntnisse mit bereits gespeicherten Informationen zu vergleichen. 

Moderne Unternehmen erwarten inzwischen sofortigen Zugriff auf die gesuchten Informationen. Diese Informationen bringen neue Erkenntnisse, die es ihnen ermöglichen, Entscheidungen über die nächste Aktion zu treffen und den Kurs ihrer Geschäftsziele zu ändern. Obwohl es viele Datentools gibt, die eine solche Lösung versprechen, ist es schwer, sich von Streaming Analytics als zentralisiertem Tool für eine bessere Entscheidungsfindung abzuwenden.

Dan Siegel

Dan Seal ist Produktleiter, Streaming Analytics bei Kx Systems

Neue Umfragen zur Beliebtheit von Programmiersprachen unterstreichen die Vorteile modernisierter...

Graham Morphew • 04. Mai 2023

Die Modernisierung von VxWorks bekräftigt unser Engagement, das zu liefern, was unsere Kunden am meisten wollen: die Fähigkeit, Innovationen zu beschleunigen, ohne Sicherheit, Zuverlässigkeit und Zertifizierbarkeit zu opfern. Wie auch immer Sie die digitale Transformation definieren, wo immer Sie sich auf Ihrem Weg zu modernen DevOps befinden, Geschwindigkeit ist von entscheidender Bedeutung.

Schalten Sie die Kraft von WiFi 6 frei: So nutzen Sie es ...

TBT-Newsroom • 01. März 2023

Sind Sie es leid, in der technologischen Welt zurückgelassen zu werden? Nun, keine Angst! WiFi 6 ist hier, um den Tag zu retten und Ihr Unternehmen in die Zukunft zu führen. Mit beispiellosen Geschwindigkeiten und einer Vielzahl neuer Funktionen ist WiFi 6 die unverzichtbare Technologie für jedes Unternehmen, das der Zeit voraus sein möchte.

The importance of data analytics and being able to capture insight in real-time

by Dan Seal, Product Lead, Streaming Analytics, Kx




Data analytics refers to the process of examining datasets to draw conclusions and extract valuable insights. Empowered with the most effective analytics systems, organisations can make decisions that drive profitability, grow customer numbers, set new trends and futureproof operations for years to come.

Access to such data has become so important that it is estimated that by 2022, more than half of major new business systems will incorporate continuous intelligence – this is a system that uses real-time data to improve decision making.


The transformation of decision making

One of the primary drivers for implementing a data analytics platform is that organisations have historically risen (and fallen) based on the collective efficiency of the decisions they make each day. These decisions can range from what products to develop, which target markets to engage with, and can be the difference between success or failure.

Previously, decision making was left in the hands of senior management, based on industry expertise and calculated forward planning. While this still is the case for many businesses, we now live in an environment where data and machines are also able to make efficient decisions. These can take place in real time and be based on past information. 

For example, you might have an analytic that measures a spike in temperature in an IoT application, but then this will also want to use a machine learning model to predict its future behaviour. Therefore, this platform will have to support both the analytic process and machine learning model to make the correct decision in real-time. Additionally, a supply chain could decide its carrier assignment to meet customer delivery requirements at the lowest cost, but that decision has to be done immediately in that moment. If not done in real-time, customer demand could not be met or enterprises would end up overpaying for the required service in that moment.


The data challenge 

Although a plethora of new data capture and analysis platforms now exist, finding the right one can still prove difficult. In today’s digitised world, over 2,500,000 terabytes of data is produced every day, and even the best of systems often store data in silos, meaning it’s difficult to access, analyse or compare. This generally leads to perishable insight, where once valuable data becomes worthless due to not being analysed quickly enough.

As such, we’re beginning to see great clamour towards streaming analytics platforms; these are systems that are able to process vast swathes of data in real-time, and contrast this with historical datasets to create new insights, make decisions in the moment and drive new value. 


Why streaming analytics?

Most organisations produce real-time data of some description. The question is whether they can drive value by reacting to it in the moment. With the ongoing digitisation of all industries and growth in new technologies such as IoT, more organisations will be able to find value in real-time data. To extract this value the timeframe in which decisions need to be made can be seconds, if not milliseconds. With the shelf life of valuable data limited, streaming analytics removes the requirement of batch processing data where data is processed in large volumes at once, enabling organisations to pursue a course, or change direction near instantly.

All data is potentially streaming as it all originates in dozens, hundreds, and sometimes thousands of applications in large enterprises, and so can be analysed to inform decisions. Data is the fuel for streaming analytics, but also for historical analytics, such as to train machine learning models, and real-time data enrichment. Having time series analytics, the process of analysing time series data to extract meaningful insights enables businesses to find insights and build models that will be used for streaming analytics use cases. 


Considerations

Ultimately there are three questions that businesses need to focus on when it comes to making a decision. What outcomes will this decision have? What data sources do we need to make it happen, and what else can we do to make the customer/end-user happy? To address these, organisations need a streaming analytics platform that integrates within its existing application architecture and has the ability to crunch data and compare this insight with information that has already been stored. 

Modern businesses have come to expect immediate access to the information they are seeking. This information brings new insights which allows them to make decisions on the next action and alter the course of their business objectives. Although there are many data tools out there that promise such a solution, it’s hard to look away from streaming analytics as a centralised tool for better decision making.

Dan Seal

Dan Seal is Product Lead, Streaming Analytics at Kx Systems

Why ABM is Key to Strengthening your Marketing Strategy

Erin Lanahan • 16th May 2024

Account-Based Marketing (ABM) is revolutionizing B2B marketing by targeting high-value accounts with personalized strategies. Unlike traditional methods, ABM focuses on specific companies, delivering tailored content that meets their unique needs. This approach not only boosts ROI but also strengthens customer relationships and drives long-term growth. By aligning marketing and sales efforts, ABM ensures a unified...

Overcoming the Obstacles to AI Adoption

Kit Cox • 02nd May 2024

The power of AI combined with suitable use cases and a robust implementation plan can help businesses to radically reduce the time spent on manual, repetitive tasks, and allow teams to prioritise value-added work. But in all the excitement, it’s evident that many businesses are held back by inertia, and a lack of understanding about...

Overcoming the Obstacles to AI Adoption

Kit Cox • 02nd May 2024

The power of AI combined with suitable use cases and a robust implementation plan can help businesses to radically reduce the time spent on manual, repetitive tasks, and allow teams to prioritise value-added work. But in all the excitement, it’s evident that many businesses are held back by inertia, and a lack of understanding about...

How Predictive AI is Helping the Energy Sector

Colin Gault head of product at POWWR • 29th April 2024

In the past year or so, we have seen the emergence of many new and exciting applications for predictive AI in the energy industry to better maintain and optimise energy assets. In fact, the advances in the technology have been nothing short of rapid. The challenge, though, has been in supplying the ‘right’ data to...

How Predictive AI is Helping the Energy Sector

Colin Gault head of product at POWWR • 29th April 2024

In the past year or so, we have seen the emergence of many new and exciting applications for predictive AI in the energy industry to better maintain and optimise energy assets. In fact, the advances in the technology have been nothing short of rapid. The challenge, though, has been in supplying the ‘right’ data to...

Cheltenham MSP is first official local cyber advisor

Neil Smith Managing Director of ReformIT • 23rd April 2024

ReformIT, a Managed IT Service and Security provider (MSP) based in the UK’s cyber-capital, Cheltenham, has become the first MSP in the local area to be accredited as both a Cyber Advisor and a Cyber Essentials Certification Body. The Cyber Advisor scheme was launched by the Government’s official National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) and the...

How we’re modernising BT’s UK Portfolio Businesses

Faisal Mahomed • 23rd April 2024

Nowhere is the move to a digitised society more pronounced than the evolution from the traditional phone box to our innovative digital street units. Payphone usage has dropped massively since the late 1990s/2000s, with devices and smart phones replacing not only communication access, but the central community points that the payphones once stood for. Our...

How we’re modernising BT’s UK Portfolio Businesses

Faisal Mahomed • 23rd April 2024

Nowhere is the move to a digitised society more pronounced than the evolution from the traditional phone box to our innovative digital street units. Payphone usage has dropped massively since the late 1990s/2000s, with devices and smart phones replacing not only communication access, but the central community points that the payphones once stood for. Our...