Schauen Sie sich die hausgemachten KI-Farbtöne an, die dieser Software-Ingenieur erstellt hat

Kredit: Nick Bild

Der Softwareentwickler Nick Bild hat eine etwas andere Sonnenbrille entwickelt: Diese KI-Sonnenbrille kann auf Bewegungsgesten reagieren. Wir haben mit ihm gesprochen, um mehr über sie zu erfahren.

Künstliche Intelligenz ist nicht einfach selbst beizubringen. Es ist nicht wie das Erstellen einer Website. KI-Autodidakten sind selten, aber Nick Bild ist ein Softwareentwickler, der keine Erfahrung mit maschinellem Lernen hatte, bevor er sich selbst unterrichtete.

„Ich bin seit 15 Jahren professioneller Softwareentwickler“, sagt Nick. „Vor ungefähr einem Jahr machte ich mich auf den Weg, um mir selbst Elektrotechnik beizubringen, damit ich die physischen Geräte bauen konnte, von denen ich träumte. Wir leben in einer faszinierenden Zeit, in der Hardware und Technologien wie KI durchaus zugänglich sind.“

Kürzlich hat Nick einen Prototyp namens ShAIdes erstellt. Wie der Name schon sagt, ist dieser Apparat so etwas wie sein Äquivalent zu Google Glass. Nick hat es geschafft, ein normales Paar Jalousien mit KI anzupassen, um Elektronik wie die Lichter in seinem Haus zu steuern.

Wie funktionieren diese AI-Farben?

„ShAIdes funktioniert, indem es Bilder aus dem Sichtfeld des Benutzers aufnimmt“, sagt Nick. „Diese Bilder werden anhand von zwei konvolutionellen neuronalen Netzwerkmodellen klassifiziert: eines zur Erkennung von Objekten und eines zur Erkennung von Gesten. Wenn die Kombination aus einem bekannten Objekt und einer Geste erkannt wird, wird eine Aktion ausgelöst.“

Ein Convolutional Neural Network (CNN) wird beim Deep Learning am häufigsten verwendet, um visuelle Bilder zu analysieren. Bei den ShAIdes sieht die Kamera die Geste vor dem Gesicht des Benutzers, bevor sie eine Entscheidung trifft: die Aktion, die ausgelöst wird, wie Nick es ausdrückt.

Dies ähnelt der Funktionsweise von Bewegungssensoren, nur dass dieser Bewegungssensor in einer Brille vorhanden ist. Es ist auch nicht der erste KI-Prototyp, an dem Nick gearbeitet hat.


Ich habe einige Projektideen mit generativer KI und überraschenden modernen Anwendungen alter Technologien, an denen ich in naher Zukunft arbeiten werde

Nick Bild

„Ich habe vor Kurzem ein Projekt namens Untergangsluft das die Position erfasst, in der sich der Körper eines Benutzers befindet, und diese Informationen verwendet, um die Aktion im Videospiel Doom zu steuern, das an die Wand vor dem Spieler projiziert wird“, sagt er. „Ein weiteres aktuelles Projekt ist die Vectron 64, das ist ein benutzerdefinierter 6502-basierter Computer, den ich von Grund auf neu gebaut habe. Die 6502 angetriebenen Computer wie der Commodore 64, Apple II und Atari 2600. Ich entschied, dass das unwahrscheinlichste Peripheriegerät für einen so veralteten Computer ein VR-Headset sein würde, also baute ich das als nächstes: das Vectron VR"

Nick liebt es, sich KI-Projekte auszudenken, die ihn herausfordern. Seine Ideen kommen ihm meist auf dem langen Weg zur Arbeit und er hat mittlerweile einige Prototypen auf dem Buckel.

„Bei einer dieser Fahrten dachte ich über Augmented Reality nach. Mir wurde klar, dass wahrscheinlich nur ein kleiner Prozentsatz der Bevölkerung tatsächlich ständig einen Bildschirm irgendeiner Art vor sich haben möchte“, sagt er über die ShAIdes und deutet an, dass Technikbegeisterte manchmal in einer Blase leben können, wenn sie vor einem Bildschirm arbeiten und Informationen von einem verdauen. „Ich dachte, es wäre schön, ein vollständig transparentes System zu haben, das es uns ermöglicht, die reale Welt zu erweitern, indem wir einfach auf die Objekte um uns herum gestikulieren.“

Wie einfach ist es, sich KI beizubringen?

Irgendwelche lernen Sprache Es ist nicht einfach. Wenn es darum geht, eine Sprache zu lernen, die in der KI verwendet werden kann, mag dies angesichts der Komplexität einiger der derzeit erhältlichen KI-Modelle selbst dem durchschnittlichen Technologieenthusiasten völlig fremd erscheinen.

Nick sagt jedoch, dass künstliche Intelligenz ein zugängliches Thema ist. Im Internet gibt es frei verfügbare Ressourcen, aus denen man lernen kann, und Nick selbst empfiehlt NVIDIAs Schulungsmaterial.

„Das Schwierigste ist, auf die Idee zu kommen, ein Gerät zu bauen“, sagt er. „Von da an würde ich empfehlen, das Gesamtziel in eine Reihe kleinerer Schritte zu unterteilen. Hämmern Sie nacheinander jeden Schritt und am Ende haben Sie ein funktionierendes Projekt.“

Nick hofft, dass seine KI-Sonnenbrille im Gesundheitswesen eingesetzt werden könnte.

Nick hat eine Liste mit Ideen und Projekten, die er in Zukunft nach und nach abhaken möchte. Er informiert seine Follower über seine GitHub Seite, der in seiner Freizeit an hausgemachten Projekten wie den ShAIdes arbeitet.

„Ich habe einige Projektideen mit generativer KI und überraschenden modernen Anwendungen alter Technologien, an denen ich in naher Zukunft arbeiten werde“, sagt er.

Dies ist jedoch nicht das letzte Mal, dass wir die ShAIdes gesehen haben. Nick plant, weiter an ihnen zu arbeiten und sie ausgehend von ihrem Basisprototypen weiterzuentwickeln.

„Einige Bereiche für zukünftige Entwicklungen liegen in der Miniaturisierung des Geräts und der Erkennung von mehr Objekten und Gesten“, sagt er. „Ich stelle mir auch vor, dass ShAIdes für andere Anwendungen angepasst werden, beispielsweise im Gesundheitswesen und als unterstützende Technologie.“

Lukas Konrad

Technologie- und Marketing-Enthusiast

Check out the homemade AI shades this software engineer made

ai shades, AI, Check out the homemade AI shades this software engineer made

Credit: Nick Bild

Software engineer Nick Bild created sunglasses with a difference: these AI shades can react to motion gestures. We spoke to him to find out more about them.

Artificial intelligence is not easy to teach yourself. It’s not like building a website. AI autodidacts are rare but Nick Bild is a software engineer who had no prior experience of machine learning before teaching himself.

“I have been a professional software engineer for 15 years,” Nick says. “About a year ago I set off on a quest to teach myself about electrical engineering so that I could build the physical devices that I dream up. We live in a fascinating time where hardware and technologies such as AI are quite accessible.”

Recently, Nick created a prototype called ShAIdes. As the name suggests, this contraption is sort of his equivalent to Google Glass. Nick managed to adapt a regular pair of shades with AI, in order to control electronics such as the lights in his house.

How do these AI shades work?

“ShAIdes works by capturing images of the user’s field of view,” says Nick. “These images are classified against two convolutional neural network models: one to detect objects, and another to detect gestures.  When the combination of a known object and gesture are detected, an action is triggered.”

A convolutional neural network (CNN) is used in deep learning most commonly to analyse visual imagery. With the ShAIdes, the camera views the gesture in front of the user’s face before making a decision: the action being triggered, as Nick puts it.

This is similar to the way that motion sensors work, only this motion sensor exists within a pair of glasses. It’s not the first AI prototype that Nick has worked on, either.


I have some project ideas involving generative AI and surprising modern uses of old technologies that I’ll be working on in the near future

Nick Bild

“I recently built a project called Doom Air that captures the position a user’s body is in and uses that information to control the action in the video game Doom, which is being projected on the wall in front of the player,” he says. “Another recent project is the Vectron 64, which is a custom 6502-based computer that I built from scratch. The 6502 powered computers such as the Commodore 64, Apple II, and Atari 2600. I decided that about the most improbable peripheral to exist for such a dated computer would be a VR headset, so that’s what I built next: the Vectron VR.”

Nick loves coming up with AI projects that challenge him. He usually comes up with his ideas on his long commute to work and has a number of prototypes under his belt now.

“During one of these drives I was thinking about augmented reality. I realized that probably only a small percentage of the population actually wants a screen of any sort in front of them all the time,” he says of the ShAIdes, suggesting that technophiles can sometimes live in a bubble, working in front of a screen and digesting information from one. “I thought it might be nice to have a completely transparent system that would allow us to augment the real world just by gesturing to the objects around us.”

How easy is it to teach yourself AI?

Learning any language is not easy. When it comes to learning a language that can be used in AI, it may seem completely alien to even the average technology enthusiast, given the complexity of some of the AI models currently out there.

However, Nick says that artificial intelligence is an approachable subject. There are freely available resources to learn from on the internet and Nick himself recommends NVIDIA’s educational material.

“The hardest part is coming up with the idea for a device to build,” he says. “From there, I would recommend breaking the overall goal down into a series of smaller steps. Hammer away at each step in turn, and at the end, you will have a working project.”

Nick hopes that his AI shades could be used in healthcare.

Nick has a list of ideas and projects that he would like to tick off one by one in the future. He gives updates to his followers via his GitHub page, working on homemade projects like the ShAIdes whenever he has spare time.

“I have some project ideas involving generative AI and surprising modern uses of old technologies that I’ll be working on in the near future,” he says.

This isn’t the last that we’ve seen of the ShAIdes though. Nick has plans to work on them further and develop them from their basic prototype.

“A few areas for future development are in miniaturization of the device and recognition of more objects and gestures,” he says. “I also envision ShAIdes being adapted for other uses, such as in healthcare and as assistive technology.”

ai shades, AI, Check out the homemade AI shades this software engineer made

Mark White

Mark is a writer/editor who has written online and in print.

The vital role business plays in the business intelligence equation

Phillip Smith • 03rd December 2021

As organizations continue turning their attention to technology advancements, to maintain some form of ‘business as usual’, there has never been a greater need for companies to truly understand the data they hold, and how to interpret it. Phillip Smith, the chief architect at workplace data analytics firm Tiger, explains more.

2,500 years of threat intelligence and its value continues to...

Anthony Perridge • 01st December 2021

Anthony Perridge, VP International at ThreatQuotient discusses how threat intelligence has evolved to form an essential aspect of modern-day cybersecurity. By harking back to the practices of our ancestors, today’s threat hunters can take inspiration about evaluating threat data to maximize the best possible decisions.

The gaming industry’s latest challenge: DDoS protection

Babur Khan • 30th November 2021

As the industry faces a rise in DDoS threats, it is time that gaming companies truly prioritise cybersecurity and business resiliency. In his latest article, Babur Khan,Technical Marketing Engineer at A10 Networks, lays out a framework for the industry to do just this, securing their customers and their own success against the tide of cyberattacks.

The Best Ten Rated Cloud Security Management Options For Business

Erin Laurenson • 24th November 2021

Cloud Security programs that can carry out safety procedures and address or flag potential high-risk elements are now critical, allowing businesses to function normally without fearing a potential breach. To help you find the best Cloud management and security system for your business, we’ve done the research and found the top systems presently available on...