Das Jahr der App: Vier Verkehrsprognosen für 2023. 

Ein Bild von , Business, Das Jahr der App: Vier Verkehrsprognosen für 2023.

Im Jahr 2023 werden Änderungen an Servicemodellen für Unternehmen enorme Auswirkungen auf die Wirtschaft haben. Transport ist traditionell rohstoffbasiert: Sie kaufen ein Auto, um von A nach B zu gelangen. Jetzt ermöglichen Apps die Servitisierung der Mobilität, mit Lösungen, die alles von E-Mobilität und Mitfahrgelegenheiten bis hin zu praktischen Funktionen wie z Mapping, Auffinden von Ladepunkten und Bezahlen von Parkplätzen, alles unterstützt durch Datennetze und vereinfachte Benutzererfahrung.

Die Servitisierung wird die Wirtschaft in den kommenden Jahren prägen, und mit Blick auf das Jahr 2027 prognostiziert Gartner, dass mehr als 50 % der Weltbevölkerung täglich aktive Nutzer mehrerer Super-Apps sein werden. Dies sind Plattformen „wie ein Schweizer Taschenmesser“, die eine Vielzahl von Diensten in einem Ökosystem beherbergen und modulare Mikro-Apps für ein personalisiertes Erlebnis bereitstellen. Mit Blick auf Apps schaue ich auf die nächsten 12 Monate, um vorherzusagen, wie sich der Verkehr zum Besseren verändern wird, wie Automatisierung und Technologie das Leben verbessern werden und wie Apps eine wesentliche Rolle bei der radikalen Verschiebung der Nadel in Richtung verbesserte Mobilität spielen werden. 

1. Es wird mehr Wettbewerb auf dem Markt und mehr App-Auswahl für Autofahrer geben 

Die Öffnung des Marktes für den Wettbewerb außerhalb der Grenzen des traditionellen Ein-Anbieter-Modells wird an Dynamik gewinnen, und dies bedeutet eine größere Auswahl an bevorzugten Apps für Autofahrer. Im Jahr 2022 zeigten Open-Market-Pilotprojekte im Manchester City Council und im Oxfordshire County Council unter Verwendung der DfT-finanzierten National Parking Platform, dass es möglich ist, dass mehrere Anbieter am selben Standort konkurrieren, was Verbrauchern und Kommunen gleichermaßen mehr Auswahl und Zuverlässigkeit bietet. Und jetzt werden neue Marktteilnehmer ins Spiel kommen, die Dienstleistungen außerhalb des Parkökosystems anbieten. Da Autofahrer die App ihrer Wahl frei nutzen können, werden die Kosten für den Autofahrer gesenkt und die Digitalisierung vorangetrieben. Nachweise des Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council (BCP), die 2021 zu mehreren Anbietern bargeldloser Parkplätze übergegangen sind, zeigen, dass die digitale Durchdringung mit der Einführung mehrerer Anbieter von Telefonparkplätzen in zwei Jahren um mehr als 250 % gestiegen ist, sodass das App-Parken jetzt berücksichtigt wird für mehr als 2 % aller Parkvorgänge. Dies ist ein Trend, von dem ich erwarte, dass er zunehmen wird, da immer mehr Behörden das Konstrukt des offenen Marktes übernehmen. 

2. 3G Sunsetting wird die Abhängigkeit von App-basierten Transportdiensten erhöhen 

Das beispiellose Wachstum von 5G, das die Einführung von 3G und 4G übertrifft, stellt die schnellste generationsübergreifende Einführung für die Mobilfunkbranche dar. Da 5G neue Standards für hyperschnelle Konnektivität setzt und sein Stern aufgeht, verblasst 3G in die Veralterung, was zu Trickle-Down-Effekten führen wird, die erhebliche Veränderungen in der Art und Weise, wie wir parken, markieren werden. 

Netzwerkanbieter werden Banddienste einstellen, und davon wird die Hardware betroffen sein. Beim Parken werden Chip- und PIN-Dienste für Zahlungen, die auf 3G-Modemhardware angewiesen sind, nicht mehr funktionieren. 3G Sunsetting stellt physische Zahlungsmethoden vor Herausforderungen und möglicherweise kostspielige Upgrades für Maschinen, um in Verbindung zu bleiben. Viele Menschen sind sich dieser Änderungen immer noch nicht bewusst, da 79 % der Menschen laut einer Umfrage aus dem Jahr 3 keine Ahnung haben, dass das 2020G-Netz ausläuft. 

App-basierte Lösungen bleiben von Netzwerkänderungen unberührt, da diese Dienste für diejenigen, die per Telefonanruf bezahlen, auf die Konnektivität der Geräte mit Mobilfunknetzen über 4G, 5G oder IVR angewiesen sind. 

Apps umgehen diese Herausforderungen und ich gehe davon aus, dass sie 2023 für Kommunen und Betreiber attraktiver werden. 

3. Digitalisierung wirkt sich positiv auf die Verkehrsstrategie für Kommunen und Betreiber aus 

Trends in der Transportbranche sind Teil eines sich bewegenden Bildes, und wie viel sich in diesem Bereich ändert, hängt von Investitionen und Strategien ab. Zukunftsorientierte Kommunen und Betreiber haben bereits die Vorteile der Nutzung technologischer Fortschritte sowie datengesteuerter Erkenntnisse von Mobility-as-a-Service-Anbietern erkannt. 

Für die Regierung ist die Weiterentwicklung einer Datenstrategie geplant, da über 90 % der leitenden Beamten im Rahmen der „Transforming for a digital future“-Politik in digitalen und datenbezogenen Grundlagen weiterqualifiziert werden, wobei das Lernen in Leistungs- und Entwicklungsstandards eingebettet wird. Im Jahr 2023 hoffe ich, dass die Digitalisierungsbestrebungen auf lokaler Ebene weiter voranschreiten werden, was spürbare und wichtige Auswirkungen auf die Bodenebene haben wird, für die Fahrer, die von neuen Verkehrsentwicklungen profitieren können. 

4. Es wird eine Verlagerung von manuellen zu automatischen Diensten im Transportwesen geben 

In den letzten 12 Monaten haben wir einige großartige Beispiele für automatische Lösungen für den Transport in Großbritannien gesehen, bei denen die automatische Nummernschilderkennungstechnologie eine Rolle bei der Optimierung der Parkgebühren spielt. Mit fortschreitender Akzeptanz werden mehr Fahrer von berührungslosen Lösungen profitieren können. Die automatische Zahlung erleichtert das berührungslose Betreten und Verlassen von Parkeinrichtungen, und Lösungen werden derzeit in Großbritannien getestet. Der Parkvorgang beginnt und endet völlig autonom unter Umgehung von Kassenautomaten. Im Jahr 2023 werden wir eine Erweiterung dieser hochwertigen Technologielösungen für Fahrer sehen, die ein neues und aufregendes Maß an Komfort für Stadtreisende ermöglichen. 

BLICK AUF DEN HORIZONT 

Ich glaube, dass wir 2023 große Fortschritte in Richtung Mobility-as-a-Service-Modelle für Autofahrer machen werden, wobei digitale Kanäle einen besseren Verkehrsfluss ermöglichen. Beim Wechsel von A nach B wird es mehr Elemente der Verfügbarkeit geben, und Transportdienstleister werden versuchen, ganzheitliche One-Stop-Shops zu werden. Die Popularität von Unternehmen wie Uber und Lime bestätigt die Tatsache, dass sich die Denkweisen bereits in Richtung servicebasierter Transporte verlagern. 

Im Mikrokosmos des Parkens vernetzen Anbieter Mobilitätsdienste für Autofahrer über Apps und es wird möglich sein, eine komplette Fahrt von einem Ansprechpartner aus zu steuern; Kartierungs-, Standort-, Zahlungs- und Ladedienste können in einem Raum untergebracht werden. Wir sehen auch, dass App-basierte Dienste umsetzbare Datenströme für Kommunen und Betreiber erstellen, um das Verkehrsmanagement in lokalen Gebieten zu verbessern. Diese Vorteile sind Häkchen in der Pro-Spalte für die Auswahl von Apps, da sie ein Zeitalter für lebenswertere Städte und Gemeinden einläuten.

Ein Bild von , Business, Das Jahr der App: Vier Verkehrsprognosen für 2023.

Peter O'Driscoll

Geschäftsführer, RingGo.

Erzielen Sie Produktivitäts- und Effizienzsteigerungen durch Datenmanagement

Russ Kennedy • 04. Juli 2023

Unternehmensdaten sind seit vielen Jahren eng mit Hardware verknüpft, doch jetzt ist ein spannender Wandel im Gange, da die Ära der Hardware-Unternehmen vorbei ist. Mit fortschrittlichen Datendiensten, die über die Cloud verfügbar sind, können Unternehmen auf Investitionen in Hardware verzichten und das Infrastrukturmanagement zugunsten des Datenmanagements aufgeben.

The year of the app: four transport predictions for 2023. 

An image of , Business, The year of the app: four transport predictions for 2023. 

In 2023 changes to models of service for businesses will cause huge ripple effects in the economy. When looking at transport, traditionally it has been commodity-based: you purchase a car to go from A to B. Now apps enable the servitisation of mobility, with solutions facilitating everything from e-mobility and ride-sharing, to practical features such as mapping, locating charging points, and paying for parking, all underpinned by data networks and simplified user experience.

Servitisation is set to shape the economy over the coming years, and looking further ahead to 2027, Gartner predicts more than 50% of the global population will be daily active users of multiple super apps. These are platforms ‘like a Swiss army knife’ that house a variety of services in one ecosystem, deploying modular micro-apps for a personalised experience. With apps in mind, I am looking at the next 12 months to predict the ways transport will change for the better, the ways automation and technology will improve lives, and how apps will play an integral role in radically shifting the needle toward enhanced mobility. 

1. There will be more competition in the market and app choice for motorists 

The opening of the market to competition outside of the confines of the traditional single-supplier model will begin to gather momentum, and this will mean a wider choice of preferred apps for motorists. In 2022, Open Market pilots in Manchester City Council and Oxfordshire County Council, using the DfT-funded National Parking Platform, showed that it is possible to have multiple providers competing at the same location, bringing more choice and reliability to consumers and councils alike. And now, new entrants that provide services outside of the parking ecosystem will come into play. With motorists free to use their app of choice this will reduce costs to the motorist and increase digitisation. Evidence from Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council (BCP), who made the move to multiple cashless parking providers in 2021, shows that digital penetration grew by more than 250% over 2 years with the introduction of multiple phone parking providers so app parking now accounts for more than 55% of all parking transactions. This is a trend that I expect to see grow, as more authorities adopt the Open Market construct. 

2. 3G sunsetting will increase reliance on app-based transport services 

The unprecedented growth of 5G, outpacing 3G and 4G uptake, represents the quickest generational rollout for the mobile industry. As 5G is setting new standards of hyperfast connectivity and its star is rising, 3G is fading into obsolescence, which will cause trickle-down effects that mark significant changes in the way we park. 

Network providers will be retiring band services, and as this happens hardware will be affected. In parking, chip and pin services for payment reliant on 3G modem hardware will stop working. 3G sunsetting presents challenges for physical payment methods, and potentially costly upgrades to machines to stay connected. Many people are still unaware of these changes, as 79% of people have no idea that the 3G network is being phased out, according to a 2020 survey. 

App-based solutions will remain unaffected by network alterations, as these services rely on device connectivity to mobile networks across 4G, 5G, or IVR for those paying via phone call. 

Apps circumvent these challenges and I predict they will be more attractive to Councils and operators in 2023. 

3. Digitalisation positively impacting transport strategy for Councils and operators 

Trends in the transport industry are part of a moving picture, and how much is changed in this space is dependent on investment and strategy. Forward-thinking Councils and operators have already seen the benefits of harnessing technology advancements, as well as data-driven insights from Mobility-as-a- Service providers. 

Progression of a data strategy is planned for the Government, as over 90% of senior civil servants will be upskilled on digital and data essentials, with learning embedded into performance and development standards, as part of the ‘Transforming for a digital future’ policy. In 2023, on a local level, I hope to see continued progression of digitalisation ambitions, which will have noticeable and important impacts on the ground level, for the drivers who can take advantage of new transport developments. 

4. There will be a shift from manual to automatic services in transport 

Over the past 12 months, we’ve seen some great examples of automatic solutions for transport in the UK, with automatic number plate recognition technology playing a part in optimising parking payments. As adoption continues, more drivers will be able to benefit from touch-free solutions. Automatic payment facilitates touch-free entry and exit to parking facilities, and solutions are being trialled in the UK currently. The parking transaction starts and ends completely autonomously, bypassing pay machines. In 2023 we will see an expansion of these high-quality technology solutions for drivers, allowing for new and exciting levels of convenience for urban travellers. 

LOOKING AT THE HORIZON 

In 2023 I believe we’ll see great strides made toward Mobility-as-a-Service models for motorists, with digital channels enabling better flow in transport. There will be more elements of disposability when moving from A to B, and transport service providers will look at becoming holistic one-stop shops. The popularity of the likes of Uber and Lime attests to the fact that mindsets are already shifting towards service-based transport. 

Within the microcosm of parking, providers are linking up mobility services for motorists using apps, and there will be scope to manage a journey in its entirety from one point of contact; mapping, location, payment, and charging services can be housed in one space. We’re also seeing app-based services create actionable data streams for Councils and operators to improve transport management in local areas. These benefits are ticks in the pro column for choosing apps, as they herald an age for more liveable towns and cities.

An image of , Business, The year of the app: four transport predictions for 2023. 

Peter O’Driscoll

Managing Director, RingGo.

AI alignment: teaching tech human language

Daniel Langkilde • 05th February 2024

However, Embodied AI refers to robots, virtual assistants or other intelligent systems that can interact with and learn from a physical environment. In order to do this, they’re built with sensors that can gather data from their surroundings, with this they also have AI systems that help them analyse data they collect, and ultimately learn...

CARMA announces acquisition of mmi Analytics

Jason Weekes • 01st February 2024

CARMA announces acquisition of mmi Analytics, expanding expertise in Beauty, Fashion, and Lifestyle sectors The combined organisation is set to redefine the landscape of media intelligence, providing unparalleled expertise and comprehensive insights for PR professional and marketers in the exciting world of beauty, fashion and lifestyle.

Managing Private Content Exposure Risk in 2024

Tim Freestone • 31st January 2024

Managing the privacy and compliance of sensitive content communications is getting more and more difficult for businesses. Cybercriminals continue to evolve their approaches, making it harder than ever to identify, stop, and mitigate the damages of malicious attacks. But, what are the key issues for IT admins to look out for in 2024?

Revolutionizing Ground Warfare Environment with Software-Enabled Armored Vehicles

Wind River • 31st January 2024

Armoured vehicles which are purpose-built for mission-critical operations are reliant on control systems that provide deterministic behaviour to meet hard real-time requirements, deliver extreme reliability, and meet rigorous security requirements against evolving threats. Wind River® has the partners and the expertise, a proven real-time operating system (RTOS), software lifecycle management techniques, and an extensive track...

The need to prove environmental accountability

Matt Tormollen • 31st January 2024

We are currently in the midst of one of the most consequential energy transitions since records began. The increasing availability of clean electrons has motivated businesses in the UK and beyond to think green. And for good reason. Being environmentally conscious attracts customers, appeases regulators, retains staff, and can even gain handouts from government. The...

Fuelling Innovation in Aftermarket

Jim Monaghan • 31st January 2024

One section of the motor trade is benefitting from the cost-of-living crisis: with consumers keeping their cars for longer, independent repairers are in huge demand. But they are also under pressure. Older cars need more repairs. They require more replacement parts, tyres and fluids. With car owners looking for value and a fast turn-around, independents...

The return of the five-day office week

Virgin Media • 25th January 2024

Virgin Media O2 Business has today published its inaugural Annual Movers Index, revealing four in ten companies are back to the office full time, despite widespread travel delays and disruptions With 2023 cementing the cost-of-living crisis, second hand shopping and public transport use surged as Brits sought to save money Using aggregated and anonymised UK...