Warum Sie von datengeführt zu datengetrieben wechseln müssen

Datengetriebenes Geschäft

Mathias Golombek, CTO bei Exasol, erklärt, wie wichtig es ist, von einer reaktiven, datengesteuerten Organisation zu einer proaktiv datengesteuerten zu wechseln.

Business Intelligence ist das Lebenselixier moderner Organisationen. Das Sammeln, Mining, Reporting und Extrahieren relevanter interner und externer Informationen, um Mehrwert zu schaffen und Ihr Unternehmen voranzubringen, ist unerlässlich. Aber es reicht nicht mehr aus, dass Sie reaktiv datengesteuert sind – Sie müssen auch proaktiv datengesteuert sein.

Angesichts der schieren Menge an Daten, die jeden Tag erstellt werden, kann die Datenanalyse weit über die traditionelle BI hinausgehen, um Ihnen eine größere vorausschauende Entscheidungsfindung auf der Grundlage von Echtzeit-Erkenntnissen zu ermöglichen.

Die Weiterentwicklung bestehender BI-Technologien und -Strategien zu einem auf Datenanalysen basierenden Ansatz ist von entscheidender Bedeutung. Dies eröffnet die Möglichkeit, neue Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen, fundierte Schlussfolgerungen zu ziehen, Vorhersagen zu treffen und die Entscheidungsfindung zu unterstützen.

Der Übergang kann auch ein wichtiger Treiber für Automatisierung und künstliche Intelligenz (KI) sein, um die Geschäftseffizienz weiter zu steigern. Von der Automatisierung der sich wiederholenden Dateneingabe bis hin zur Lieferkette und Bestandskontrolle – aber die Nutzung dieser Technologien bedeutet, dass saubere, genaue und detaillierte Daten als Grundlage für Entscheidungen erforderlich sind.

Eine Live-Verbindung zu einer In-Memory-Datenbank


Um diesen neuen Ansatz zu ermöglichen, ist die richtige Datenbank im Herzen Ihrer Organisation von grundlegender Bedeutung. Weniger ausgefeilte Datenbanken können sich auf voraggregierte Daten verlassen, was die Qualität der Erkenntnisse beeinträchtigt, auf deren Grundlage Entscheidungen getroffen werden.

Wenn Sie ein oder mehrere BI-Tools verwenden und erweiterte Datenanalysen durchführen möchten, ist eine Live-Verbindung zu einer In-Memory-Datenbank wirklich geeignet. Es bietet Geschwindigkeit, Effizienz, Kompatibilität und Echtzeitverfügbarkeit von Informationen, was neue Möglichkeiten mit sich bringt. Das Ausführen einer Live-Verbindung von einem BI-Tool zu einer In-Memory-Datenbank bedeutet, dass komplexere Analysen schneller durchgeführt werden können, unabhängig von dem Tool, in dem Sie Ihre Abfragen anzeigen. Ein BI-Tool generiert die Abfrage, sendet sie an Ihre Datenbank, empfängt die Ergebnisse und rendert sie dann in Ihrem gewählten Format – alles in Sekundenschnelle auf Ihren Echtzeit-Rohdaten.

Es ist auch keine Codierung erforderlich, um eine Live-Verbindung zu aktivieren, sodass Benutzer sofort tiefer in die Daten eintauchen können. Darüber hinaus überwachen integrierte intelligente Algorithmen die Nutzung und führen Selbstoptimierungsaufgaben durch, sodass Ihre Datenbankadministratoren Zeit für die Arbeit an hochwertigeren Projekten haben – was die Produktivität steigern und die Gesamtbetriebskosten senken kann.

Eine ganz neue Welt tieferer Einsichten


Ein besonders vorteilhafter Anwendungsfall einer Live-Verbindung zwischen Ihren BI-Tools und einer In-Memory-Datenbank ist, wenn Sie prädiktive Analysen sammeln möchten. Dies kann bedeuten, zukünftige Umsätze zu prognostizieren, die Wartung von Maschinen vorauszusehen und zu planen oder demografische Trends oder Klimaschwankungen vorherzusagen.

Hersteller wie BMW und Rolls-Royce nutzen die Datenanalyse seit vielen Jahren, um Fehlermuster in Prototypen zu erkennen und prädiktive Motormodellierung zur Qualitätssicherung durchzuführen. Die Betriebszeit kritischer Anlagen kann auch optimiert werden, indem Analysen eingesetzt werden, um deren Ausfall vorherzusehen, wodurch die Maschinenausfallzeit in der Regel um 30 % bis 50 % reduziert und die Maschinenlebensdauer um 20 % bis 40 % verlängert wird.

Für Einzelhändler kann Predictive Analytics sicherstellen, dass Engpässe angegangen werden können, bevor sie entstehen. In Geschäften verwenden beispielsweise Einzelhändler wie Target, CVS, Nordstrom und Walmart Sensoren und Beacons, um Kundenreisen und -interaktionen zu verfolgen, Schwachstellen zu identifizieren und Ladenlayouts zu ändern oder die Mitarbeiterzahl auf der Grundlage von Datenerkenntnissen zu erhöhen. Und online können Preise nahezu in Echtzeit analysiert und dynamisch angepasst werden, je nach Website-Aktivität, Wettbewerberpreisen, Produktverfügbarkeit, Artikelpräferenzen, Bestellhistorie, erwarteter Gewinnspanne und mehr.

Die richtige Datenbank kann auch durch schnelle Ladezeiten (dh keine Pufferung oder Verzögerungen), reaktionsschnelle Filter und Aktionen ein hervorragendes Benutzererlebnis garantieren. Beispielsweise analysiert Badoo, eine der weltweit beliebtesten Dating-Apps, 350 Terabyte an Daten, darunter sechs Milliarden Ereignisse pro Tag (z. B. Aufrufe, Swipes und abgeschlossene/abgebrochene Zahlungstransaktionen) – das entspricht mehr als einem Ereignis pro Benutzer und Sekunde.

Die von Badoo gesammelten Erkenntnisse führen dank schneller Modelle für maschinelles Lernen in Echtzeit zu Verbesserungen für App-Benutzer. Diese fördern Upgrades auf die Vollversion der App und prognostizieren die Abwanderung, erkennen Anomalien und prognostizieren Zahlungen für schnelle Transaktionen und Problemlösungen.

Umstellung auf eine proaktive Datensteuerung


Datenineffizienzen können Sie nicht länger aufhalten. Ihre BI-Berichte leben und sterben mit der Leistung Ihrer Datenbank, insbesondere in schnelllebigen Umgebungen, in denen Einblicke in Echtzeit oder nahezu in Echtzeit erforderlich sind. Diese zeitnahen Informationen für die Entscheidungsfindung sind unerlässlich, um den ROI Ihrer Analyseinvestitionen zu maximieren, nicht nur Tag für Tag geschäftskritische Erkenntnisse zu liefern, sondern sich auch an sich ändernde Geschäftsanforderungen anzupassen.

Moderne BI-Tools bieten das „Smarte“ und die In-Memory-Datenbank das „Schnelle“, mit einem Toolkit, um die zugrunde liegenden Daten schnell zu manipulieren und zu visualisieren.

Um wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben, stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihr Unternehmen den Übergang zu einem datengesteuerten und nicht nur datengesteuerten Unternehmen vollzieht, und fangen Sie an, die Grenzen dessen zu erweitern, was Sie mit Ihren BI-Tools tun können, um neue wirtschaftlich wertvolle Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen.

Erfahren Sie mehr über die neueste V7-Iteration von Exasol Blogbeitrag.


Matthias Golombek

CTO bei Exasol. Unsere Kunden und Partner loben unsere robuste Spitzentechnologie, unseren leidenschaftlichen Support und die Art und Weise, wie wir ihnen helfen, erfolgreich zu sein. Renommierte Unternehmen aus der ganzen Welt vertrauen auf unsere Technologie und verbessern ihre Geschäfte, indem sie eine völlig neue Ebene der Analytik implementieren.

Erzielen Sie Produktivitäts- und Effizienzsteigerungen durch Datenmanagement

Russ Kennedy • 04. Juli 2023

Unternehmensdaten sind seit vielen Jahren eng mit Hardware verknüpft, doch jetzt ist ein spannender Wandel im Gange, da die Ära der Hardware-Unternehmen vorbei ist. Mit fortschrittlichen Datendiensten, die über die Cloud verfügbar sind, können Unternehmen auf Investitionen in Hardware verzichten und das Infrastrukturmanagement zugunsten des Datenmanagements aufgeben.

Why you need to shift from being data-led to data-driven

Data driven business

Mathias Golombek, CTO at Exasol, explains the importance of shifting from a reactive data-led organisation to a proactively data-driven one.

Business intelligence is the lifeblood of modern organisations. Collecting, mining, reporting and extracting relevant internal and external information to draw value and move your business forward is imperative. But it’s no longer enough for you to be reactively data-led – you must also be proactively data-driven.

With the sheer amount of data created every day, data analytics can go way beyond traditional BI to give you greater predictive decision-making power based on real-time insights.

Evolving existing BI technologies and strategies into a data analytics-based approach is crucial. This opens up the ability to discover new insights, inform conclusions, fuel predictions and support decision-making.

Making the transition can also be a major driver towards automation and artificial intelligence (AI) to fuel further business efficiencies. From the automation of repetitive data entry to supply chain and stock control – but leveraging these technologies means the need for clean, accurate and detailed data to base decisions upon.

A live connection to an in-memory database


To enable this new approach, having the right database at the heart of your organisation is fundamental. Less sophisticated databases can rely on pre-aggregated data, which hinders the quality of the insights that decisions are made upon.

If you’re using one or more BI tools and are looking to perform more advanced data analyses, a live connection to an in-memory database really delivers. It offers speed, efficiency, compatibility and real-time availability of information, which brings new possibilities. Running a live connection from a BI tool to an in-memory database means more complex analyses can be performed faster, away from the tool your viewing your queries on. A BI tool generates the query, sends it to your database, receives the results and then renders them in your chosen format – all in a matter of seconds on your raw real-time data.

There’s also no need for coding to activate a live connection, meaning users can dig deeper into the data straight away. Furthermore, built-in intelligent algorithms monitor usage and perform self-tuning tasks, so your database administrators are freed up to work on more high-value projects — which can increase productivity and reduce total cost of ownership.

A whole new world of deeper insights


A particularly beneficial use case of a live connection between your BI tools and an in-memory database is if you’re looking to gather predictive analytics. This might mean projecting future sales, anticipating and scheduling maintenance on machinery, or forecasting demographic trends or climate fluctuations.

Manufacturers such as BMW and Rolls-Royce have been leveraging data analytics since many years to spot error patterns in prototypes and run predictive engine modelling for quality assurance. The operating time of critical assets can also be optimised by using analytics to anticipate their failure, which typically reduces machine downtime by 30% to 50% and increases machine life by 20% to 40%.

For retailers, predictive analytics can ensure that bottlenecks can be tackled before they rise. In-store for example, retailers such as Target, CVS, Nordstrom and Walmart use sensors and beacons to track customer journeys and interactions to identify pain points and alter store layouts, or increase staff headcount based on data insights. And online, prices can be analysed and dynamically adjusted in near real-time according to website activity, competitor pricing, product availability, item preferences, order history, expected profit margin, and more.

The right database can also guarantee an excellent user experience through fast load times (i.e. no buffering or delays), highly responsive filters and actions. For example, Badoo, one of the world’s most popular dating apps, analyses 350 terabytes of data that includes six billion events per day (e.g. views, swipes and completed/abandoned payment transactions) — equivalent to more than one event per user per second.

Insights gathered by Badoo lead to improvements for app users thanks to fast, real-time machine learning models. These encourage upgrades to full version of the app and predict churn, detect anomalies and predict payments for quick transactions and issue solving.

Shifting to being proactively data-driven


Data inefficiencies can no longer hold you back. Your BI reporting lives and dies with the performance of your database, especially in fast-paced environments where real-time or near real-time insight are required. These timely pieces of intelligence for decision-making are imperative in order to maximise the ROI of your analytics investment, to not only deliver business-critical insights day in, day out, but also to adapt to evolving business needs.

Modern BI tools provide the ‘smart’ and the in-memory database the ‘fast’, with a toolkit to manipulate and visualise the underlying data at speed.

To stay competitive, make sure your business makes the shift to becoming data-driven not just data-led, and start pushing the boundaries of what you can do with your BI tools to open up new commercially valuable insights.

Learn more about Exasol’s newest V7 iteration here.


Mathias Golombek

CTO at Exasol. Our customers and partners praise our robust leading-edge technology, passionate support and the way we help them becoming successful. Renowned companies from all over the world rely on our technology and improve their businesses by implementing a completely new level of analytics,

Why ABM is Key to Strengthening your Marketing Strategy

Erin Lanahan • 16th May 2024

Account-Based Marketing (ABM) is revolutionizing B2B marketing by targeting high-value accounts with personalized strategies. Unlike traditional methods, ABM focuses on specific companies, delivering tailored content that meets their unique needs. This approach not only boosts ROI but also strengthens customer relationships and drives long-term growth. By aligning marketing and sales efforts, ABM ensures a unified...

Overcoming the Obstacles to AI Adoption

Kit Cox • 02nd May 2024

The power of AI combined with suitable use cases and a robust implementation plan can help businesses to radically reduce the time spent on manual, repetitive tasks, and allow teams to prioritise value-added work. But in all the excitement, it’s evident that many businesses are held back by inertia, and a lack of understanding about...

Overcoming the Obstacles to AI Adoption

Kit Cox • 02nd May 2024

The power of AI combined with suitable use cases and a robust implementation plan can help businesses to radically reduce the time spent on manual, repetitive tasks, and allow teams to prioritise value-added work. But in all the excitement, it’s evident that many businesses are held back by inertia, and a lack of understanding about...

How Predictive AI is Helping the Energy Sector

Colin Gault head of product at POWWR • 29th April 2024

In the past year or so, we have seen the emergence of many new and exciting applications for predictive AI in the energy industry to better maintain and optimise energy assets. In fact, the advances in the technology have been nothing short of rapid. The challenge, though, has been in supplying the ‘right’ data to...

How Predictive AI is Helping the Energy Sector

Colin Gault head of product at POWWR • 29th April 2024

In the past year or so, we have seen the emergence of many new and exciting applications for predictive AI in the energy industry to better maintain and optimise energy assets. In fact, the advances in the technology have been nothing short of rapid. The challenge, though, has been in supplying the ‘right’ data to...

Cheltenham MSP is first official local cyber advisor

Neil Smith Managing Director of ReformIT • 23rd April 2024

ReformIT, a Managed IT Service and Security provider (MSP) based in the UK’s cyber-capital, Cheltenham, has become the first MSP in the local area to be accredited as both a Cyber Advisor and a Cyber Essentials Certification Body. The Cyber Advisor scheme was launched by the Government’s official National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) and the...

How we’re modernising BT’s UK Portfolio Businesses

Faisal Mahomed • 23rd April 2024

Nowhere is the move to a digitised society more pronounced than the evolution from the traditional phone box to our innovative digital street units. Payphone usage has dropped massively since the late 1990s/2000s, with devices and smart phones replacing not only communication access, but the central community points that the payphones once stood for. Our...

How we’re modernising BT’s UK Portfolio Businesses

Faisal Mahomed • 23rd April 2024

Nowhere is the move to a digitised society more pronounced than the evolution from the traditional phone box to our innovative digital street units. Payphone usage has dropped massively since the late 1990s/2000s, with devices and smart phones replacing not only communication access, but the central community points that the payphones once stood for. Our...