Seien Sie während des globalen Finanzabschwungs widerstandsfähig

Laut einer Umfrage aus dem Jahr 2022 nannten Wirtschaftsführer auf der ganzen Welt die wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen und den Inflationsdruck als „Top-Risiko“ bei der Bewertung ihrer digitalen Wachstumschancen – nicht nur für dieses Jahr, sondern bis 2031. Geopolitische Spannungen, der russische Krieg in der Ukraine , und die Folgen der COVID-19-Pandemie tragen allesamt zu einem weltweiten Wirtschaftsabschwung bei, der an die Finanzkrise von 2007 erinnert.

Angesichts steigender Kosten und Herausforderungen in der Lieferkette suchen Unternehmen verständlicherweise nach digitalen Lösungen, um die Effizienz zu steigern und ihre Abläufe zu rationalisieren. Weit davon entfernt, einfach nur Personal zu ersetzen, geht es bei diesem jüngsten Vorstoß in Richtung Digitalisierung und Automatisierung vielmehr darum, Prozesse zu verbessern und zu verbessern und den Mitarbeitern bessere Werkzeuge an die Hand zu geben, um auf dem Ruf ihrer Marke aufzubauen und sich von der Konkurrenz abzuheben. Das erfordert eine Form der digitalen Agilität, die einigen Unternehmen noch fehlt, aber das wird sich wahrscheinlich ändern, da immer mehr Unternehmen – insbesondere im B2B-Handel – die Composable Architecture implementieren.

Was also ist Composable Architecture und wie funktioniert sie? Und warum könnte dies der Schlüssel zur Erschließung von Wachstum in einer Zeit schwerer wirtschaftlicher Turbulenzen sein?

Der wachsende Bedarf an Agilität im digitalen Handel

Ein globaler Finanzabschwung ist alles andere als eine gute Nachricht für Unternehmen, aber wenn uns die Pandemie etwas gelehrt hat, dann, dass diejenigen, die sich anpassen und weiterentwickeln können, eine weitaus bessere Chance haben, den Sturm zu überstehen. Der Einsatz digitaler Lösungen zur Erfüllung wichtiger Handelsfunktionen ist nicht neu. Automatische Rechnungsstellung, wiederkehrende Bestellungen, Vorratsbenachrichtigungen, Produktvorschläge und maßgeschneiderte Preise sind in der Welt des digitalen B2C- und B2B-Handels alltäglich. Zwei Drittel der Kunden bevorzugen inzwischen sogar den digitalen Self-Service gegenüber konventionellen Vertriebskanälen, was die Nachfrage nach Funktionen wie der Möglichkeit, Produkte spontan zu individualisieren oder spezifische Lieferanfragen zu stellen, erhöht.

Doch die Fähigkeit, diese Funktionen schnell, nahtlos und kostengünstig in ein bereits funktionierendes E-Commerce-System zu integrieren, fehlt vielen Unternehmen noch und darin liegt das Risiko. Eine Studie nennt eine „Beschleunigungslücke“ zwischen dem Tempo des Wandels, der durch neue Möglichkeiten angetrieben wird, und der Fähigkeit einer Organisation, daraus Kapital zu schlagen. Composable Architecture kann Unternehmen helfen, diese Lücke zu schließen, indem sie es ihnen erleichtert, neue Funktionen in viel kürzerer Zeit zu entwickeln, zu testen und bereitzustellen. Dies hat den Folgeeffekt, dass sie angesichts von Veränderungen widerstandsfähiger und anpassungsfähiger werden, sei es durch das Hinzufügen weiterer Online-Funktionen nach einer globalen Pandemie oder durch die Rationalisierung ihrer Abläufe, um während einer Finanzkrise Kosten zu senken.

Überall dort, wo es im Business Herausforderungen gibt, gibt es auch Chancen. Im Moment besteht eine deutliche Lücke zwischen dem Tempo, in dem sich diese Möglichkeiten bieten, und der Fähigkeit von Unternehmen, daraus Kapital zu schlagen. Wir haben dies während der Pandemie gesehen, und wir sehen es erneut, da ein globaler Finanzabschwung immer wahrscheinlicher wird. Unternehmen, die digital agil sind und in der Lage sind, neue Dienste und Funktionen für ihre Kunden schnell einzuführen, sind in der Regel am widerstandsfähigsten – sowohl in Bezug auf die Aufrechterhaltung eines positiven Kundenerlebnisses als auch auf die Aufrechterhaltung ihrer Effizienz und Kosteneffizienz. Diese Flexibilität angesichts unsicherer Bedingungen ermöglicht Composable Architecture.

Emporix hat kürzlich einen Bericht in Auftrag gegeben, in dem hochkarätige Entscheidungsträger aus der Welt des E-Commerce zu ihren Perspektiven bei der Auswahl, Implementierung und Erweiterung ihrer E-Commerce-Aktivitäten befragt wurden. Rund 90 % gaben an, dass sie planen, ihre E-Commerce-Aktivitäten in naher Zukunft auszuweiten, wobei die Hauptgründe dafür niedrigere Kosten, Skalierbarkeit und die Angst sind, „einen Zug zu verpassen“, wenn ihre E-Commerce-Aktivitäten stagnieren. Diese Unternehmen brauchen Composable Commerce, auch wenn sie es vielleicht noch nicht erkennen.

Was ist kompostierbare Architektur?

Die heutigen E-Commerce-Operationen erfordern eine kontinuierliche Verbesserung. Herkömmliche Handelsplattformen, die oft als Monolithen bezeichnet werden, lassen dies nicht zu, da es sich um statische Plattformen von Drittanbietern handelt, in die ein Unternehmen investiert und die es jahrelang nutzt. Neue Funktionen können angefordert werden, aber Unternehmen sind ihnen sehr ausgeliefert

die Plattform ihrer Wahl, und „Re-Platforming“ kann ein teurer und störender Prozess sein. Wenn ein Unternehmen beispielsweise eine automatische Rechnungsstellung integrieren oder Bestandswarnungen für einen Kunden einrichten möchte, kann es dies nur tun, wenn seine aktuelle Plattform dies zulässt.

Composable Architecture lässt den Monolithen hinter sich und ermöglicht es Unternehmen, sich kontinuierlich zu verbessern. Es verwendet eine Microservices-Architektur, um einen modularen Entwicklungsansatz zu ermöglichen, der Unternehmen die Freiheit gibt, erstklassige Services in einem für sie passenden Tempo hinzuzufügen. Softwareanbieter auf der ganzen Welt kümmern sich um Composable Commerce, indem sie API-orientierte Tools entwickeln, die in und aus verschiedenen E-Commerce-Operationen eingefügt werden können. Wenn ein Unternehmen Echtzeit-Aktienwarnungen hinzufügen möchte, kann es den besten Echtzeit-Aktienwarnungsdienst der Welt finden und ihn in seine eigenen Abläufe integrieren. Wenn es eine bessere Katalogverwaltung oder wiederkehrende Abrechnungsfunktionen hinzufügen möchte, kann es dies tun, indem es diese Lösungen intern entwickelt oder eine fertige Lösung auswählt, die bereits auf dem Markt vorhanden ist.

Von: Eberhardt Weber, Gründer und CEO von Emporix.

WAICF – Tauchen Sie ein in die KI und besuchen Sie eines der ...

Delia Salinas • 10. März 2022

Cannes veranstaltet jedes Jahr eine internationale Technologieveranstaltung namens World Artificial Intelligence Cannes Festival, besser bekannt unter dem Akronym WAICF. Eine der luxuriösesten Städte der Welt, an der französischen Riviera gelegen und Gastgeber der jährlichen Filmfestspiele von Cannes, der Midem und des Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity. 

Die Evolution von VR und AR

Amber Donovan-Stevens • 28. Oktober 2021

Wir sehen uns an, wie sich die Extended-Reality-Technologien VR und AR vom reinen Gaming zu einer langsamen Integration in andere Aspekte unseres Lebens entwickelt haben.

Be resilient during the global financial downturn

An image of , Cloud, Be resilient during the global financial downturn

According to a 2022 survey, business leaders around the world cited economic conditions and inflationary pressures as a “top risk” when assessing their digital growth opportunities – not only for this year but as far ahead as 2031. Geopolitical tensions, the Russian war in Ukraine, and the fallout from the COVID-19 pandemic are all contributing factors to a global economic downturn reminiscent of the 2007 financial crisis.

Amid rising costs and supply chain challenges, businesses are understandably looking toward digital solutions to increase efficiency and streamline their operations. Far from simply replacing staff, this latest push toward digitalization and automation is more about enhancing and improving processes, giving staff better tools to build on their brand’s reputation and differentiate themselves from competitors. That requires a form of digital agility that some businesses still lack, but that’s likely to change as more and more businesses – particularly those in B2B commerce – implement the composable architecture.

So what is composable architecture and how does it work? And why might it be the key to unlocking growth during a period of severe economic turbulence?

The growing need for agility in digital commerce

A global financial downturn is far from good news for businesses, but if the pandemic taught us anything it’s that those able to adapt and evolve stand a far better chance of weathering the storm. Employing digital solutions to take care of key commerce functions isn’t new. Automatic invoicing, recurring orders, stock alerts, product suggestions and tailored pricing are all commonplace in the world of B2C and B2B digital commerce. Two-thirds of customers now actually prefer digital self-service over more conventional sales channels, increasing demand for functions such as the ability to customize products on the fly, or make specific delivery requests.

But the ability to integrate these functions rapidly, seamlessly and cost-effectively into an already functioning e-commerce system is still lacking for many businesses, and that’s where the risk lies. One study cites an “acceleration gap” between the pace of change driven by new opportunity and the ability of an organization to capitalize on it. Composable architecture can help businesses to close that gap by making it easier for them to develop, test and deploy new functionality on a much shorter time scale. This has the knock-on effect of making them more resilient and more adaptable in the face of change, whether it’s adding more online functionality in the wake of a global pandemic, or streamlining their operations to cut costs during a financial crisis.

Wherever there are challenges in business, there are also opportunities. At the moment, there’s a noticeable gap between the pace at which these opportunities present themselves and the ability of organizations to capitalize on them. We saw this during the pandemic, and we’re seeing it again as a global financial downturn looks increasingly likely. Businesses that are digitally agile and able to quickly adopt new services and functions for their customers tend to be the most resilient – both in terms of maintaining a positive customer experience and also keeping their operations efficient and cost-effective. This flexibility in the face of uncertain conditions is what composable architecture facilitates.

Emporix recently commissioned a report in which top-level decision-makers from the world of e-commerce were asked about their perspectives on selecting, implementing and expanding their e-commerce operations. Around 90% said they were planning to extend their e-commerce operations in the near future, with the key drivers being reduced costs, scalability and the fear of “missing a train” if their e-commerce operations remain static. These businesses need composable commerce, though they might not yet realize it.

What is compostable architecture?

Today’s e-commerce operations require continuous improvement. Traditional commerce platforms often referred to as monoliths, don’t allow this because they’re static third-party platforms that a business invests in and uses for years at a time. New features can be requested, but businesses are very much at the mercy of

their platform of choice, and “re-platforming” can be an expensive and disruptive process. If a business wants to incorporate automatic invoicing or set up stock alerts for a client, for instance, it can’t unless its current platform allows it.

Composable architecture leaves the monolith behind and allows businesses to embrace continuous improvement. It uses a microservices architecture to allow for a modular approach to development, giving businesses the freedom to add in best-of-breed services at a pace that suits them. Software vendors around the world are catering to composable commerce by creating API-oriented tools that can be slotted in and out of various e-commerce operations. If a business wants to add real-time stock alerts, it can find the best real-time stock alert service in the world and incorporate it into its own operations. If it wants to add in better catalog management or recurring billing functionality, it can do so by developing those solutions internally or selecting a ready-made solution that already exists in the market.

By: Eberhardt Weber, founder and CEO of Emporix.

AI alignment: teaching tech human language

Daniel Langkilde • 05th February 2024

However, Embodied AI refers to robots, virtual assistants or other intelligent systems that can interact with and learn from a physical environment. In order to do this, they’re built with sensors that can gather data from their surroundings, with this they also have AI systems that help them analyse data they collect, and ultimately learn...

CARMA announces acquisition of mmi Analytics

Jason Weekes • 01st February 2024

CARMA announces acquisition of mmi Analytics, expanding expertise in Beauty, Fashion, and Lifestyle sectors The combined organisation is set to redefine the landscape of media intelligence, providing unparalleled expertise and comprehensive insights for PR professional and marketers in the exciting world of beauty, fashion and lifestyle.

Managing Private Content Exposure Risk in 2024

Tim Freestone • 31st January 2024

Managing the privacy and compliance of sensitive content communications is getting more and more difficult for businesses. Cybercriminals continue to evolve their approaches, making it harder than ever to identify, stop, and mitigate the damages of malicious attacks. But, what are the key issues for IT admins to look out for in 2024?

Revolutionizing Ground Warfare Environment with Software-Enabled Armored Vehicles

Wind River • 31st January 2024

Armoured vehicles which are purpose-built for mission-critical operations are reliant on control systems that provide deterministic behaviour to meet hard real-time requirements, deliver extreme reliability, and meet rigorous security requirements against evolving threats. Wind River® has the partners and the expertise, a proven real-time operating system (RTOS), software lifecycle management techniques, and an extensive track...

The need to prove environmental accountability

Matt Tormollen • 31st January 2024

We are currently in the midst of one of the most consequential energy transitions since records began. The increasing availability of clean electrons has motivated businesses in the UK and beyond to think green. And for good reason. Being environmentally conscious attracts customers, appeases regulators, retains staff, and can even gain handouts from government. The...

Fuelling Innovation in Aftermarket

Jim Monaghan • 31st January 2024

One section of the motor trade is benefitting from the cost-of-living crisis: with consumers keeping their cars for longer, independent repairers are in huge demand. But they are also under pressure. Older cars need more repairs. They require more replacement parts, tyres and fluids. With car owners looking for value and a fast turn-around, independents...

The return of the five-day office week

Virgin Media • 25th January 2024

Virgin Media O2 Business has today published its inaugural Annual Movers Index, revealing four in ten companies are back to the office full time, despite widespread travel delays and disruptions With 2023 cementing the cost-of-living crisis, second hand shopping and public transport use surged as Brits sought to save money Using aggregated and anonymised UK...