Aufbau einer digitalen Welt: Die Rolle von IT-Experten bei der Regierungstransformation

Sascha Giese, Head Geek bei SolarWinds, analysiert, warum die digitale Transformation des öffentlichen Sektors immer noch hinter den Fortschritten des privaten Sektors zurückbleibt.

Die digitale Transformation steht schon lange ganz oben auf der Agenda der Regierung, aktuelle Strategien sollen noch in diesem Jahr abgeschlossen werden. 2020 hat sich jedoch als ein Jahr erwiesen, mit dem niemand gerechnet hat, was dazu führte, dass einige digitale Dienste des öffentlichen Sektors ausgesetzt werden mussten. In anderen Bereichen, wie dem Gesundheitswesen, hat die Umstellung auf die Digitalisierung für Erfolg gesorgt. Zum Beispiel die Anzahl der Hausarzttermine im Mai per Telefon oder Video durchgeführt wurde, lag bei 48 %, von nur 19 % im Januar.

Die Pandemie hat weltweit sowohl Organisationen des öffentlichen als auch des privaten Sektors getroffen, wobei Experten vermuten, dass dies der Katalysator für viele Pläne zur digitalen Transformation sein könnte, während Teams die kurz- und langfristigen Auswirkungen der Krise abwägen. Aber selbst mit diesem beschleunigten Fortschritt glauben einige immer noch, dass die digitale Transformation des öffentlichen Sektors hinter den Fortschritten des privaten Sektors zurückbleibt.

Das Aufrüsten oder Hinzufügen neuer digitaler Dienste innerhalb von Regierungsorganisationen ist keine leichte Aufgabe. Das Cybersicherheitsrisiko durch Legacy-Technologie ist für die Regierung vielleicht größer als für viele Unternehmen im Privatsektor – die von der Regierung gespeicherten Daten und die Funktionen, die sie ausführen können muss, machen sie zu einem offensichtlichen Ziel für Cyberkriminelle. Das bedeutet, Modernisierung ist jetzt eine Notwendigkeit und kein Luxus. Doch bevor neue Maßnahmen und Systeme eingeführt werden können, sind noch viele Hürden zu überwinden. Wie können IT-Profis in der Regierung damit beginnen, die digitale Trägheit zu beseitigen, die Bemühungen zu steigern und den Appetit auf Innovation in ihren jeweiligen Organisationen aufrechtzuerhalten?

Durch die richtigen Reifen springen



Es mag offensichtlich erscheinen, aber es ist wichtig zu verstehen, warum die digitale Transformation der Regierung langsamer voranschreitet als die des privaten Sektors, um diesen Organisationen dabei zu helfen, voranzukommen. Einer der Hauptgründe dafür ist, dass Organisationen des öffentlichen Sektors den Interessen ihrer Stakeholder verpflichtet sind: der Öffentlichkeit. Im Gegensatz zu privaten Unternehmen müssen digitale Projekte des öffentlichen Sektors den Richtlinien, Gesetzen und – am wichtigsten – Budgets der Regierung entsprechen. Aus diesem Grund geschieht die digitale Transformation oft in Sprüngen; Projekte müssen schon vor dem Start einer strengen Prüfung und unzähligen Genehmigungen unterzogen werden.

Dieses Modell garantiert keinen Erfolg; Kosten können sich schnell aufbauen, Prioritäten können sich ändern und Ergebnisse können veraltet sein. Aber sich diese Zeit zu nehmen, hilft IT-Profis der Regierung dabei, realistische Ziele zu setzen und das Gesamtbild rund um die digitale Transformation zu sehen. Interessanterweise ermöglicht es ihnen, agile Methoden und Ansätze wie DevOps in ihre Projekte zu implementieren, was einen optimierten Entwicklungsansatz ermöglicht. In der Welt der Privatwirtschaft liegt der Fokus typischerweise darauf, neue Angebote herauszubringen und basierend auf Feedback zu verbessern. Für Regierungsorganisationen können während des gesamten Entwicklungsprozesses Verbesserungen vorgenommen werden, um sicherzustellen, dass das Ergebnis beim ersten Mal den Bedürfnissen der Öffentlichkeit entspricht.

Trotz der unterschiedlichen Ansätze bleibt die Modernisierung – geschweige denn die digitale Transformation – eine Herausforderung, bei der der Erfolg für IT-Profis in privaten und öffentlichen Einrichtungen nie garantiert ist. Für die Regierung sind innovative Ideen sicherlich hilfreich, aber erfahrene IT-Profis können viel mehr Wert schaffen. Sie können sicherstellen, dass die Dynamik für die digitale Transformation hoch bleibt, indem sie sie an einen der Hauptfaktoren binden, die die meisten Regierungen betreffen: das nationale Risiko.

Minderung von Risiken rund um die Uhrk



Regierungen in jedem Land müssen eine Reihe von kritischen Risiken wie nationale Sicherheit, wirtschaftliche Stabilität und Außenbeziehungen bewältigen und sich darauf vorbereiten. Im Vergleich dazu erscheint das Risiko der digitalen Transformation unbedeutend und steht nicht weit oben auf der Prioritätenliste. Wie jedoch jeder erfahrene Regierungs-IT-Experte weiß, berühren oder adressieren die meisten digitalen Unternehmen diese Risikobereiche zwangsläufig auf die eine oder andere Weise. Budgets und interne Unterstützung werden oft in Projekte gesteckt, die die wichtigsten Risikorichtlinien ergänzen.

Regierungs-IT-Experten können auch noch weiter gehen, indem sie hervorheben, wie ihre digitalen Projekte dazu beitragen können, Risiken zu mindern, anstatt nur technische oder Benutzervorteile. Dies ist ein Ansatz, den die meisten IT-Teams in Regierungsorganisationen problemlos übernehmen können, da sie oft mit Abteilungen oder Projektverantwortlichen zusammenarbeiten, die für irgendeine Form von Risikoanalyse oder -management verantwortlich sind. Dies bietet IT-Experten die Möglichkeit, die Tools und Lösungen zur Identifizierung oder Verfolgung nationaler Risiken besser zu verstehen und effektivere Ergänzungen vorzuschlagen, mit denen etwaige Lücken geschlossen werden können. Darüber hinaus können Risikoanalyseteams dabei helfen, sie über die Auswirkungen digitaler Veränderungen zu beraten. Durch diese Kooperationen können IT-Experten den Wert ihrer Projekte – und sich selbst – demonstrieren, indem sie die am besten geeigneten digitalen Technologien empfehlen, um aufkommende Cybersicherheitsbedrohungen wie Finanzbetrug und Datendiebstahl zu bekämpfen.

Ein breiteres Verständnis nationaler Risiken in Kombination mit klaren Transformationszielen wird Organisationen dabei helfen, der sich schnell verändernden geopolitischen Landschaft von heute immer einen Schritt voraus zu sein. Und da die Regierungen in den meisten Ländern weitgehend die gleichen Probleme angehen, können IT-Experten aus den digitalen Bemühungen ihrer Kollegen im Ausland lernen und diese Lektionen für größeren Erfolg in Großbritannien nutzen

Gemeinsam an der besten Lösungs



Der Austausch von Wissen und Ideen zwischen Regierungs-IT-Experten und der breiteren Gemeinschaft des öffentlichen Sektors ist nicht neu. Die digitalen Initiativen und Best Practices verschiedener Länder auf der ganzen Welt inspirieren bereits die digitalen Bemühungen des Vereinigten Königreichs. Aus diesem Grund gibt es für Regierungs-IT-Experten mehr Möglichkeiten als je zuvor, ihre Fähigkeiten zu verbessern. Öffentlich zugängliche digitale Initiativen unterliegen selten dem gleichen Maß an Geheimhaltung wie ihre Gegenstücke in Unternehmen, hauptsächlich aufgrund des Mangels an Wettbewerbern. Das bedeutet, dass sich jeder IT-Profi mit Kollegen in einem gemeinsamen IT-Bereich auf der ganzen Welt verbinden kann. Sie können andere erfolgreiche Projekte zur Kenntnis nehmen, technische Fragen zu den Details stellen, Wissen austauschen und in einem Umfang zusammenarbeiten, der für den Privatsektor nicht leicht zu erreichen ist.

Vor diesem Hintergrund sollten sich Regierungs-IT-Experten darauf konzentrieren, sich ständig über die neuesten Durchbrüche in anderen Organisationen, Nationen und Konferenzen zu aktualisieren und weiterzubilden und sie auf die Bedürfnisse des Vereinigten Königreichs anzuwenden. Sie können diese Neugier auch in ihre Beziehungen zu Technologiepartnern von Drittanbietern einbringen, um technologische Lösungen und digitale Ideen mit dem Potenzial zum Nutzen der Allgemeinheit zu identifizieren.

Die digitale Transformation in der Verwaltung kann eine Herausforderung sein. Da begrenzte Budgets und wichtigere Prioritäten Vorrang haben, sollten IT-Experten sicherstellen, dass die von ihnen vorgeschlagenen Projekte kosteneffektiv und für die Probleme der Regierung relevant sind. Dies wird dazu beitragen, hochrangige Führungskräfte von ihrem Wert zu überzeugen, und das Unternehmen auf seinem Weg zur digitalen Transformation ein Stück weiter voranbringen.


Sascha Gieße

Sascha Giese ist Head Geek bei SolarWinds. Er verfügt über mehr als ein Jahrzehnt technischer IT-Erfahrung.

Neue Umfragen zur Beliebtheit von Programmiersprachen unterstreichen die Vorteile modernisierter...

Graham Morphew • 04. Mai 2023

Die Modernisierung von VxWorks bekräftigt unser Engagement, das zu liefern, was unsere Kunden am meisten wollen: die Fähigkeit, Innovationen zu beschleunigen, ohne Sicherheit, Zuverlässigkeit und Zertifizierbarkeit zu opfern. Wie auch immer Sie die digitale Transformation definieren, wo immer Sie sich auf Ihrem Weg zu modernen DevOps befinden, Geschwindigkeit ist von entscheidender Bedeutung.

Schalten Sie die Kraft von WiFi 6 frei: So nutzen Sie es ...

TBT-Newsroom • 01. März 2023

Sind Sie es leid, in der technologischen Welt zurückgelassen zu werden? Nun, keine Angst! WiFi 6 ist hier, um den Tag zu retten und Ihr Unternehmen in die Zukunft zu führen. Mit beispiellosen Geschwindigkeiten und einer Vielzahl neuer Funktionen ist WiFi 6 die unverzichtbare Technologie für jedes Unternehmen, das der Zeit voraus sein möchte.

Building a Digital World: The Role of IT Pros in Government Transformation

Sascha Giese, Head Geek at SolarWinds dissects why public sector digital transformation still tends to lag behind the progress of the private sector.

Digital transformation has been near the top of the government’s agenda for a long time, with current strategies due for completion this year. However, 2020 has proven to be a year no one expected, resulting in some public sector digital services needing to be put on hold. In other areas, such as healthcare, making the move to digital has ensured success. For example, the amount of GP appointments in May conducted via phone or video was 48%, up from just 19% in January.

The pandemic has affected both public and private sector organisations globally, with experts suggesting this could be the catalyst for many digital transformation plans as teams weigh the short- and long-term effects of the crisis. But even with this accelerated progress, some still think public sector digital transformation lags behind the progress of the private sector.

Upgrading or adding new digital services within government organisations is no easy task. The cybersecurity risk from legacy technology is perhaps greater for the government than it is for many businesses in the private sector—the data stored by the government and the functions it must be able to perform make it an obvious target for cybercriminals. This means modernisation is now a necessity and not a luxury. But there are many obstacles to overcome before new measures and systems can be introduced. How, then, can government-based IT pros begin to eliminate digital inertia, boost efforts, and maintain an appetite for innovation in their respective organisations?

Jumping Through the Right Hoops



It might seem obvious, but it’s important to understand why the government’s digital transformation progress is slower than the private sector’s to help keep these organisations moving forward. One key reason is public sector organisations are beholden to the interests of their stakeholders: the general public. Unlike those of private enterprises, public sector digital projects must meet government policies, laws, and—most importantly—budgets. Because of this, digital transformation often happens in jumps; projects must undergo strict scrutiny and countless approvals, even before launch.

This model doesn’t guarantee success; costs can build up quickly, priorities may change, and deliverables can become outdated. But taking this time helps government IT pros establish realistic goals and see the bigger picture around the digital transformation journey. More interestingly, it allows them to implement agile methodologies and approaches such as DevOps into their projects, allowing for a more streamlined approach to development. In the world of private business, the focus is typically pushing out new offerings and improving based on feedback. For government organisations, improvements can happen throughout the development process, ensuring the result meets the needs of the public the first time around.

Despite the varying approaches, modernisation—let alone digital transformation—remains a challenge where success is never guaranteed for IT pros in both private and public bodies. For the government, innovative ideas certainly help, but having experienced IT pros can add much more value. They can ensure the momentum for digital transformation remains high by tying it to one of the main factors concerning most governments: national risk.

Mitigating Risks Around the Clock



Governments in every country must manage and prepare for a range of critical risks, such as national security, economic stability, and foreign relations. In comparison, the risk of digital transformation seems insignificant and isn’t high on the list of priorities. However, as every experienced government IT pro knows, most digital undertakings inevitably touch or address these areas of risk in one way or another. Budgets and internal support are often funnelled into projects complementing the most important risk policies.

Government IT pros can also go further by highlighting how their digital projects can help mitigate risk rather than just technical or user benefits. This is an approach most IT teams in government organisations can easily adopt, as they often work alongside departments or project owners responsible for some form of risk analysis or management. This presents IT pros with the opportunity to better understand the tools and solutions identifying or tracking national risk, allowing them to suggest more effective additions capable of filling in any gaps. Additionally, risk analysis teams can help advise them on the impact of digital changes. Through these collaborations, IT pros can demonstrate the value of their projects—and themselves—by advising the most suitable digital technologies to tackle emerging cybersecurity threats, such as financial fraud and data theft.

A broader understanding of national risk combined with clear transformation goals will help organisations stay ahead of today’s fast-changing geopolitical landscape. And because governments across most countries largely tackle the same pool of issues, IT pros can learn lessons from the digital efforts of their peers overseas and use these lessons for greater success in the U.K.

Collaborating on the Best Solutions



Sharing knowledge and ideas between government IT pros and the wider public sector community isn’t new. The digital initiatives and best practices of various countries around the world already inspire the U.K.’s digital efforts. Because of this, there are more opportunities for government IT pros to improve their skills than ever before. Public-facing digital initiatives are rarely subjected to the same level of secrecy as their corporate counterparts, mainly due to the lack of competitors. This means any IT pro can connect with peers in a common IT area across the world. They can take note of other successful projects, ask technical questions about the details, share knowledge, and work collaboratively on a scale not easily attained by the private sector.

With this in mind, government IT pros should focus on constantly updating and educating themselves on the latest breakthroughs in other organisations, nations, and conferences and apply them to the U.K.’s needs. They can also bring this curiosity to their relationships with third-party technology partners to identify technological solutions and digital ideas with the potential to benefit the general public.

Digital transformation in government can be challenging. With restricted budgets and more critical priorities taking precedence, IT pros should ensure the projects they propose are cost-effective and relevant to the issues the government is facing. Doing so will help persuade senior leaders of their value and will drive the organisation a little bit further on their digital transformation journey.


Sascha Giese

Sascha Giese is Head Geek at SolarWinds. He has over a decade of technical IT experience.

Why ABM is Key to Strengthening your Marketing Strategy

Erin Lanahan • 16th May 2024

Account-Based Marketing (ABM) is revolutionizing B2B marketing by targeting high-value accounts with personalized strategies. Unlike traditional methods, ABM focuses on specific companies, delivering tailored content that meets their unique needs. This approach not only boosts ROI but also strengthens customer relationships and drives long-term growth. By aligning marketing and sales efforts, ABM ensures a unified...

Overcoming the Obstacles to AI Adoption

Kit Cox • 02nd May 2024

The power of AI combined with suitable use cases and a robust implementation plan can help businesses to radically reduce the time spent on manual, repetitive tasks, and allow teams to prioritise value-added work. But in all the excitement, it’s evident that many businesses are held back by inertia, and a lack of understanding about...

Overcoming the Obstacles to AI Adoption

Kit Cox • 02nd May 2024

The power of AI combined with suitable use cases and a robust implementation plan can help businesses to radically reduce the time spent on manual, repetitive tasks, and allow teams to prioritise value-added work. But in all the excitement, it’s evident that many businesses are held back by inertia, and a lack of understanding about...

How Predictive AI is Helping the Energy Sector

Colin Gault head of product at POWWR • 29th April 2024

In the past year or so, we have seen the emergence of many new and exciting applications for predictive AI in the energy industry to better maintain and optimise energy assets. In fact, the advances in the technology have been nothing short of rapid. The challenge, though, has been in supplying the ‘right’ data to...

How Predictive AI is Helping the Energy Sector

Colin Gault head of product at POWWR • 29th April 2024

In the past year or so, we have seen the emergence of many new and exciting applications for predictive AI in the energy industry to better maintain and optimise energy assets. In fact, the advances in the technology have been nothing short of rapid. The challenge, though, has been in supplying the ‘right’ data to...

Cheltenham MSP is first official local cyber advisor

Neil Smith Managing Director of ReformIT • 23rd April 2024

ReformIT, a Managed IT Service and Security provider (MSP) based in the UK’s cyber-capital, Cheltenham, has become the first MSP in the local area to be accredited as both a Cyber Advisor and a Cyber Essentials Certification Body. The Cyber Advisor scheme was launched by the Government’s official National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) and the...

How we’re modernising BT’s UK Portfolio Businesses

Faisal Mahomed • 23rd April 2024

Nowhere is the move to a digitised society more pronounced than the evolution from the traditional phone box to our innovative digital street units. Payphone usage has dropped massively since the late 1990s/2000s, with devices and smart phones replacing not only communication access, but the central community points that the payphones once stood for. Our...

How we’re modernising BT’s UK Portfolio Businesses

Faisal Mahomed • 23rd April 2024

Nowhere is the move to a digitised society more pronounced than the evolution from the traditional phone box to our innovative digital street units. Payphone usage has dropped massively since the late 1990s/2000s, with devices and smart phones replacing not only communication access, but the central community points that the payphones once stood for. Our...