4 spannende Anwendungen für VR in der Zukunft des Gesundheitswesens

VR wird im Gesundheitswesen eine wichtige Rolle spielen

VR steckt noch in den Kinderschuhen, aber einige Unternehmen entwickeln spannende Anwendungen dafür. Die Zukunft des Gesundheitswesens scheint eine treibende Kraft hinter der VR-Entwicklung zu sein.

Das Gesundheitswesen war schon immer an der Spitze des technologischen Fortschritts. Die inhärente Notwendigkeit einer ständigen Weiterentwicklung hat zu neuen und aufregenden Entwicklungen geführt, die geschaffen wurden, um effektivere Möglichkeiten zur Verbesserung von Genauigkeit, Effizienz und Verständnis zu bieten. 

Von den ersten Health Information Management (HIM)-Systemen in den 1920er Jahren bis hin zu datengesteuerten Patientenakten in den späten 90er Jahren, ganz zu schweigen von der robotergestützten Chirurgie und dem 3D-Druck von Prothesen, hat sich das Gesundheitswesen als direkte Folge dieser bahnbrechenden Fortschritte deutlich verbessert. KI gemacht hat erhebliche Eingriffe in den letzten Jahren, aber wie spielt VR eine Rolle?



Der Einsatz von VR im Gesundheitswesen hat ein unbegrenztes Potenzial, das nur durch die Möglichkeiten der sich ständig verbessernden Technologie aufgehalten werden kann. Verbesserte Diagnosen, die Entdeckung neuer Behandlungen und effektivere Behandlungspläne sind alles Bereiche, in denen VR eine zentrale Rolle spielt und dies in Zukunft noch weiter tun wird. 

Verständnis & Bewusstsein 

Es scheint keinen besseren Nutzen für VR zu geben, als das Verständnis, die Empathie und das Bewusstsein für Krankheiten und Leiden zu fördern. Nehmen Sie zum Beispiel die Parkinson-Krankheit. Diese Störung des Nervensystems verursacht eine fortschreitende Schädigung des Gehirns, und viele Menschen verstehen nicht, mit Parkinson zu leben.

AbbVie, ein pharmazeutisches Forschungs- und Entwicklungsunternehmen, entwickelte daneben ein VR-Erlebnis Die virtuellen holländischen Männer, was die durchschnittliche Person in den Körper eines Parkinson-Kranken versetzt. Die beiden Unternehmen haben einen virtuellen Supermarkt entwickelt, in dem der Benutzer herumlaufen und die körperlichen und geistigen Symptome von Parkinson fühlen und erleben kann. 


„Virtuelle Realität bringt eine Erfahrung zum Verstehen, was in diesem Fall letztendlich zu einer besseren Gesundheitsversorgung führen könnte.“

Die virtuellen holländischen Männer

Medizinische Ausbildung

In der bisherigen kurzen Geschichte von VR ist die Entwicklung des Virtual-Reality-Trainings besonders rasant gewachsen. Bioflight VR hat Plattformen für die Ausbildung von Ärzten mit „Immersive Training Labs“ und Operationssälen entwickelt. Diese virtuellen Umgebungen werden zu perfekten Lernarenen und ermöglichen risikofreie Praxisoperationen, in denen sie ihren Beruf verfeinern können.  

Am Kinderkrankenhaus von Los Angeles hat Bioflight VR ein Programm entwickelt, das hilft, Ärzte mit pädiatrischen Notfällen zu schulen. Sie simulieren die Umgebung für realistische Situationen in Echtzeit. Derzeit bilden sie Krankenschwestern mit anhaltenden Anfällen und extremen allergischen Reaktionsszenarien aus und wollen in Zukunft weitere Schulungsmodule entwickeln.

Patiententraining

Behandlungen können Patienten oft ängstlich und einsam zurücklassen. Dies kann sich negativ auf ihre Rehabilitation oder ihre Pflegezeit auswirken. Gut neu denken entwickeln Virtual-Reality-Umgebungen, die sie die nennen Infusionarium, um Patienten zu rehabilitieren. Mithilfe virtueller Exkursionen und anderer immersiver Umgebungen können sie Patienten sowohl vor als auch nach der Behandlung durch ihre Schwierigkeiten coachen. Obwohl noch nicht vollständig erforscht, scheint dies ein Grundpfeiler in Krankenhäusern der Zukunft zu sein, da Pflegekräfte nach neuen Wegen suchen, um das Wohlbefinden ihrer Patienten zu verbessern.

Therapie/VRT

Ähnlich wie das Patiententraining schafft die Virtual-Reality-Therapie virtuelle Umgebungen. VRT versucht jedoch, Menschen in psychologischer oder Ergotherapie zu helfen. VRT zielt darauf ab, Situationen zu entwickeln, in denen Schwierigkeiten auftreten, Patienten schrittweise und systematisch diesen Szenarien auszusetzen und den Patienten mehr Vertrauen in eine simulierte Umgebung zu geben. 

Zum Beispiel kann jemand, der Angst vor dem Fliegen hat, Starts und Landungen üben, bis er sich wohl fühlt und in der Lage ist, einen echten Flug zu nehmen. Menschen mit akuter Angst können in virtuelle Menschenmassen eintauchen, um zu lernen, wie sie in realen Situationen am besten zurechtkommen. Ein Behandlungen, von Oxford VR, reduziert nachweislich die Höhenangst der Patienten um 70 %.

Virtual Reality wurde eingesetzt, um Menschen von ihrer Höhenangst zu heilen

Virtual Reality wird sicher ein kostengünstiges und effizientes Instrument für Behandlung und Training werden. Da der Gesundheitssektor unterfinanziert ist und viele Menschen unbehandelt bleiben, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die psychische Gesundheit, wird VR eine wichtige Rolle in der Zukunft des Gesundheitswesens spielen.

Ohne wahrgenommene Gefahren können VR-Umgebungen im Gegensatz zu realen Umgebungen die perfekte Umgebung für Training und Therapie sein. Aus diesem Grund sieht der Markt für VR-Gesundheitsdienste so aus Set zu wachsen von 8.9 Millionen US-Dollar im Jahr 2017 auf 285 Millionen US-Dollar im Jahr 2022.

Lukas Konrad

Technologie- und Marketing-Enthusiast

Neue Umfragen zur Beliebtheit von Programmiersprachen unterstreichen die Vorteile modernisierter...

Graham Morphew • 04. Mai 2023

Die Modernisierung von VxWorks bekräftigt unser Engagement, das zu liefern, was unsere Kunden am meisten wollen: die Fähigkeit, Innovationen zu beschleunigen, ohne Sicherheit, Zuverlässigkeit und Zertifizierbarkeit zu opfern. Wie auch immer Sie die digitale Transformation definieren, wo immer Sie sich auf Ihrem Weg zu modernen DevOps befinden, Geschwindigkeit ist von entscheidender Bedeutung.

Schalten Sie die Kraft von WiFi 6 frei: So nutzen Sie es ...

TBT-Newsroom • 01. März 2023

Sind Sie es leid, in der technologischen Welt zurückgelassen zu werden? Nun, keine Angst! WiFi 6 ist hier, um den Tag zu retten und Ihr Unternehmen in die Zukunft zu führen. Mit beispiellosen Geschwindigkeiten und einer Vielzahl neuer Funktionen ist WiFi 6 die unverzichtbare Technologie für jedes Unternehmen, das der Zeit voraus sein möchte.

4 exciting uses for VR in the future of healthcare

VR will play an important role in healthcare

VR is in its infancy, but some companies are developing exciting uses for it. The future of healthcare looks set to be a driving force behind VR development.

Healthcare has always been at the cutting edge of technological advancements. Its inherent need for constant evolution has led to new and exciting developments, created to deliver more effective ways to improve accuracy, efficiency and understanding. 

From the first health information management (HIM) systems in the 1920s to data-driven patient records in the late 90s, not to mention robot-assisted surgery and 3D printing of prosthetics, healthcare has improved markedly as a direct result of these pioneering advancements. AI has made significant inroads in the past few years, but how does VR factor in?



The use of VR in healthcare has unlimited potential which can only be held back by the capabilities of the ever-improving technology. Improved diagnosis, the discovery of new treatments and more effective care plans are all areas in which VR plays a pivotal role and will do so even further in the future. 

Understanding & Awareness 

There appears to be no better use for VR than to foster understanding, empathy and awareness of diseases and conditions. Take for example Parkinson’s disease. This nervous system disorder causes progressive damage to the brain, and to live with Parkinson’s is little understood by many.

AbbVie, a pharmaceutical research and development company, developed a VR experience alongside The Virtual Dutch Men, which puts the average person in the body of a Parkinson’s disease sufferer. The two companies developed a virtual supermarket, in which the user can walk around, feeling and experiencing the physical and mental symptoms of Parkinson’s. 


“Virtual reality takes an experience to understanding, which in this case could eventually result in better health care.”

The Virtual Dutch Men

Medical training

In VR’s short history thus far, the development of virtual reality training has seen particularly rapid growth. Bioflight VR has developed platforms for training doctors, using “Immersive Training Labs” and operating theatres. These virtual environments become perfect arenas to learn, allowing for no-risk practice surgeries in which to hone their profession.  

At the Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles, Bioflight VR have developed a programme which helps to train doctors with paediatric emergencies. They simulate the environment for realistic, real-time situations. Currently, they train nurses with prolonged seizure and extreme allergic reaction scenarios, and look to develop further modules of training in the future.

Patient training

Treatments can so often leave patients anxious and lonely. This might negatively impact their rehabilitation or their time spent in care. Reimagine Well are developing virtual reality environments, which they call the Infusionarium, to rehabilitate patients. Using virtual field trips and other immersive environments, they are able to coach patients through their difficulties, both before and after care. Although not fully explored yet, this looks set to be a staple in hospitals of the future as caregivers look for new ways to improve the wellbeing of their patients.

Therapy/VRT

Much like patient training, virtual reality therapy creates virtual environments. However, VRT seeks to help people in psychological or occupational therapy. VRT aims to develop situations in which difficulties occur, gradually and systematically exposing patients to those scenarios, giving the patients more confidence in a simulated environment. 

For instance, someone who is afraid of flying can practice take-offs and landings until they become comfortable and are able to take a real flight. Those with acute anxiety can immerse themselves in virtual crowds, to learn how best to cope in real-world situations. One treatment, by Oxford VR, has been shown to reduce patients’ fear of heights by 70%.

Virtual reality has been used to cure people of their fear of heights

Virtual reality looks certain to become a cost-effective and efficient tool for treatment and training. With the healthcare sector underfunded and many people going untreated, especially with regards to mental health, VR will play an important role in the future of healthcare.

With no perceived dangers, unlike real-world settings, VR environments can be the perfect setting for training and therapy. Because of this, the VR healthcare services market looks set to grow from $8.9 million in 2017 to $285 million by 2022.

VR, Beyond Reality, 4 exciting uses for VR in the future of healthcare

Ben Ashman

Ben is a multimedia journalist with a keen passion for technology, literature and art. When he isn't writing you can find him wandering around London's museums and galleries.

The vital role business plays in the business intelligence equation

Phillip Smith • 03rd December 2021

As organizations continue turning their attention to technology advancements, to maintain some form of ‘business as usual’, there has never been a greater need for companies to truly understand the data they hold, and how to interpret it. Phillip Smith, the chief architect at workplace data analytics firm Tiger, explains more.

2,500 years of threat intelligence and its value continues to...

Anthony Perridge • 01st December 2021

Anthony Perridge, VP International at ThreatQuotient discusses how threat intelligence has evolved to form an essential aspect of modern-day cybersecurity. By harking back to the practices of our ancestors, today’s threat hunters can take inspiration about evaluating threat data to maximize the best possible decisions.

The gaming industry’s latest challenge: DDoS protection

Babur Khan • 30th November 2021

As the industry faces a rise in DDoS threats, it is time that gaming companies truly prioritise cybersecurity and business resiliency. In his latest article, Babur Khan,Technical Marketing Engineer at A10 Networks, lays out a framework for the industry to do just this, securing their customers and their own success against the tide of cyberattacks.

The Best Ten Rated Cloud Security Management Options For Business

Erin Laurenson • 24th November 2021

Cloud Security programs that can carry out safety procedures and address or flag potential high-risk elements are now critical, allowing businesses to function normally without fearing a potential breach. To help you find the best Cloud management and security system for your business, we’ve done the research and found the top systems presently available on...