Wie Fernschulungen den COXNUMX-Fußabdruck und die Kosten Ihres Unternehmens reduzieren können.

Fernlernen gibt es schon seit Jahrzehnten, aber bis zur jüngsten Pandemie hatte die Unternehmenswelt das Konzept nicht angenommen. Webinar Vet, Anthony Chadwick, untersucht, wie Unternehmen ihr Umweltbewusstsein stärken und Investitionen in Schulungen reduzieren können – ohne Kompromisse bei den Ergebnissen einzugehen.

Personalentwicklung ist der Eckpfeiler eines jeden anständigen Arbeitgebers. Ihren Mitarbeitern die Möglichkeit zu geben, zu lernen und sich weiterzuentwickeln, ist eine hervorragende Möglichkeit, Mitarbeiter zu halten und ihnen zu helfen, Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse zu erwerben, die sowohl dem Einzelnen als auch Ihrem Unternehmen zugute kommen.

Typischerweise findet die Mitarbeiterschulung in einem Schulungsraum statt – mal intern, mal extern mit den damit verbundenen Kosten. Es ist leicht, alle Kosten zu übersehen, aber dazu gehören:

  • Trainerhonorar
  • Verpflegung, Unterkunft und Reise des Trainers
  • Kosten für den Veranstaltungsort, einschließlich Raummiete, Tee/Kaffee, Verpflegung und, wenn es sich um mehr als einen Tag handelt, Unterkunft
  • Reisen für Delegierte
  • Kosten für die Abwesenheit von Delegierten von der Arbeit

Aber was ist mit den Kosten für die Umwelt? Das ist schwieriger zu berechnen, aber Sie betrachten die Auswirkungen der Art der Fortbewegung, die alle am Schulungsprogramm Beteiligten verwendet haben, um zum und vom Veranstaltungsort zu gelangen, sowie die Energie, die aufgewendet wird, um Heizung, Beleuchtung und Technik am Laufen zu halten
und läuft.

Sowohl die finanziellen als auch die ökologischen Kosten verringern sich, wenn Sie über eine interne Schulungseinrichtung verfügen, aber sie werden nicht vollständig eliminiert. Gibt es also einen besseren Weg?

Fernlernen steht im Mittelpunkt

Online-Schulungen sind nicht neu, wurden jedoch als weniger wertvolle Alternative angesehen, bis die Möglichkeit, sich persönlich zu treffen, entfernt wurde. Es ist eine Lernmethode, die wir seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt bei Tierärzten und Tierarztpraxen fördern. Es funktioniert sehr gut und erfüllt sowohl finanzielle als auch ökologische Anforderungen.

Jetzt sind die Menschen mit Online-Konferenzen vertraut, sie werden als Schulungsmittel zunehmend akzeptiert und haben viele Vorteile.

1: Keine Reise erforderlich

Weder der Trainer noch die Delegierten müssen ihre Schreibtische verlassen. Das bedeutet eine Einsparung von Zeit, Kosten und COXNUMX-Fußabdruck. Delegierte können von ihren Schreibtischen aus teilnehmen oder einen Besprechungsraum nutzen, wenn sie einen ruhigeren Ort benötigen.

2: Keine Essens- und Getränkekosten

Wenn die Mitarbeiter an ihren Schreibtischen arbeiten, können sie Tee, Kaffee, Snacks und Mittagessen aus ihren üblichen Quellen beziehen. Selbst wenn das Unternehmen eine Kostenübernahme anbietet, gibt es zwei Vorteile – die Kosten sind niedriger als bei professionell zubereiteten Speisen und die Verschwendung ist normalerweise geringer. Wenn Menschen ihre eigene Auswahl an Lebensmitteln kaufen, essen sie diese normalerweise. Keine wählerischen Esser, die Dinge, die sie nicht mögen, wegwerfen, oder übrig gebliebene Tabletts mit Essen vom Buffet, die nicht wiederverwendet werden können.

3: Niedrigere Schulungsgebühren

Online-Schulungen kosten in der Regel weniger als Präsenzschulungen – selbst wenn das gleiche Material geliefert wird. Dies ist selbst dann der Fall, wenn es sich um ein Live-Training handelt, das von einem professionellen Trainer für eine bestimmte Gruppe durchgeführt wird. Die Kosten sinken jedoch noch weiter, wenn Sie auf vorab aufgezeichnete Schulungen zugreifen, bei denen Module einmal aufgezeichnet und dann von Tausenden von Lernenden viele Male aufgerufen werden.

4: Flexibilität

Wenn Lernende für eine Qualifikation lernen, ist der Inhalt, den sie abdecken müssen, Teil eines festgelegten Lehrplans, sodass das Durcharbeiten einer Reihe von Online-Modulen das liefert, was sie brauchen. Wenn diese in regelmäßigen Abständen durch Live-Q&A-Sessions ergänzt werden, ist es für die Menschen eine viel effizientere Art zu lernen.

Es ermöglicht den Lernenden auch zu wählen, wann sie lernen, sodass sie am frühen Morgen oder am späten Abend (oder zu jeder Zeit dazwischen) lernen können, wenn dies ihren Bedürfnissen entspricht.

5: Größere Reichweite

Wenn sich Mitarbeiter an verschiedenen Standorten befinden, sei es in verschiedenen Städten oder verschiedenen Ländern, können sie trotzdem alle auf die Schulung zugreifen, wenn sie online ist. Vorbei sind die Zeiten, in denen multinationale Unternehmen ihre Trainer um die ganze Welt schicken, um Schulungen in verschiedenen Ländern durchzuführen. Das muss ein großer Gewinn an der Umweltfront sein, sowie eine massive Reduzierung der finanziellen Kosten.

Auch mit intelligenter Technologie ist es möglich, Schulungen online in verschiedenen Sprachen durchzuführen.

6: Bessere Zeitmessung

Während einige Leute gewöhnlich zu spät kommen, gibt es weniger Ausreden, wenn Sie nur auf einen Link auf Ihrem Computerbildschirm klicken müssen. Es ist schwer, den Verkehr für die verspätete Ankunft beim Training verantwortlich zu machen!

Ein anderer Ansatz zur Verwaltung

Wenn Ihr Unternehmen Fernschulungen einsetzt, braucht es eine Änderung der Denkweise und des Managements. Schulungsprogramme müssen von allen geschätzt werden, vom Delegierten, seinen Kollegen und insbesondere von seinem Vorgesetzten. Während die meisten Menschen nicht in einen Schulungsraum gehen würden, um einem Teilnehmer eine arbeitsbezogene Frage zu stellen, kann es einfacher sein, jemanden in einer virtuellen Sitzung abzulenken. Es ist die Aufgabe des Managers, alle über die Grundregeln des Online-Lernens aufzuklären.

Ebenso wichtig ist es, dass der Manager Wert auf das Lernen seiner Teammitglieder legt und nicht suggeriert, dass die dem Lernen zugewiesene Zeit durch „wichtigere“ Aufgaben verdrängt wird.

Allerdings ist unsere Erfahrung, dass Fernunterricht sehr gut funktioniert und pädagogische und finanzielle Vorteile sowie eine erhebliche Reduzierung des COXNUMX-Fußabdrucks des Unternehmens bietet.

Anthony Chadwick

BVSc CertVD MRCVS, Gründer und CVO bei Alpha Vet International

WAICF – Tauchen Sie ein in die KI und besuchen Sie eines der ...

Delia Salinas • 10. März 2022

Cannes veranstaltet jedes Jahr eine internationale Technologieveranstaltung namens World Artificial Intelligence Cannes Festival, besser bekannt unter dem Akronym WAICF. Eine der luxuriösesten Städte der Welt, an der französischen Riviera gelegen und Gastgeber der jährlichen Filmfestspiele von Cannes, der Midem und des Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity. 

Die Evolution von VR und AR

Amber Donovan-Stevens • 28. Oktober 2021

Wir sehen uns an, wie sich die Extended-Reality-Technologien VR und AR vom reinen Gaming zu einer langsamen Integration in andere Aspekte unseres Lebens entwickelt haben.

How remote training can reduce your company’s carbon footprint and cost.

An image of , Business, How remote training can reduce your company’s carbon footprint and cost.

Remote learning has been around for decades, but until the recent pandemic, the corporate world hadn’t embraced the concept. Webinar Vet, Anthony Chadwick, explores how companies can boost their eco-consciousness, reducing investment in training – without compromising on results.

Staff development is the cornerstone of any decent employer. Giving your employees the opportunity to learn and grow is an excellent way to retain staff and help them to gain skills and knowledge that benefit both the individual and your business.

Typically, staff training takes place in a training room – sometimes in-house, sometimes in an external venue along with the associated costs. It’s easy to overlook all the costs, but they include:

  • Trainer’s fee
  • Trainer’s food, accommodation and travel
  • Venue costs, including room hire, tea/coffee, food and, if it’s more than one day, accommodation
  • Travel for delegates
  • Cost of delegates being absent from work

But what about the cost to the environment? That’s harder to calculate, but you’re looking at the impact of whatever mode of travel everyone involved in the training programme used to get to and from the venue, plus the energy that is expended to keep heating, lighting and technology up
and running.

Both financial and eco-costs reduce if you have an in-house training facility, but they aren’t totally eliminated. So is there a better way?

Remote learning takes centre stage

Online training isn’t new but was seen as a less valuable alternative until the option to meet face-to-face was removed. It’s a learning method we’ve been promoting to veterinarians and vet practice nurses for more than a decade. It works extremely well and ticks both financial and eco boxes.

Now people are familiar with online conferencing it’s become more accepted as a means of training and has many benefits.

1: No travel required

Neither the trainer nor the delegates need to leave their desks. That means a saving in time, cost and carbon footprint. Delegates can attend from their desks or use a meeting room if they need a quieter place.

2: No food and drink costs

When people are working from their desks they can get tea, coffee, snacks and lunch from their usual sources. Even if the company offers to cover the costs there are two advantages – the cost is lower than professionally catered food and the wastage is usually less. When people buy their own choice of food, they usually eat it. No picky eaters who leave things they don’t like to be thrown out or leftover trays of buffet food that can’t be reused.

3: Lower training fees

Online training typically costs less than face-to-face training – even when the same material is being delivered. This is the case even when it’s live training being delivered by a professional trainer to a dedicated group. However, the cost reduces even more when you access pre-recorded training where modules are recorded once and then accessed many times by thousands of learners.

4: Flexibility

When learners are studying for a qualification the content they need to cover is part of a set syllabus, so working through a series of online modules will deliver what they need. If these are supplemented by live Q&A sessions at regular intervals, it’s a much more efficient way for people to learn.

It also allows the learners to choose when they learn so they can study early morning or late evening (or any time in between) if that suits their needs.

5: Wider reach

When employees are in a variety of locations, whether in different towns or different countries, they can all still access the training when it’s online. Gone are the days of multinationals sending their trainers flying around the world to deliver training in different countries. That’s got to be a big win on the environmental front, as well as a massive reduction in costs financially.

Also with smart technology, it’s possible to deliver training online in different languages.

6: Better timekeeping

While some people are habitually late, there are fewer excuses when all you have to do is to click a link on your computer screen. It’s hard to blame the traffic for late arrival at training!

A different approach to management

When your business embraces remote training it needs a change of mindset and a change of management thinking. Training programmes need to be valued by everyone, the delegate, their colleagues and particularly their manager. Whereas most people wouldn’t walk into a training room to ask a delegate a work-related question, it can be easier to distract someone in a virtual session. It’s the manager’s job to educate everyone on the ground rules relating to online learning.

It’s equally important that the manager attaches value to their team members’ learning and doesn’t suggest that time allocated to learning is displaced by ‘more important’ tasks.

Having said that, our experience is that remote learning works extremely well and delivers educational and financial benefits as well as a significant reduction in the company’s carbon footprint.

An image of , Business, How remote training can reduce your company’s carbon footprint and cost.

Anthony Chadwick

BVSc CertVD MRCVS, Founder and CVO at Alpha Vet International

A New Journey to the Cloud

Don Valentine • 23rd January 2023

ERP implementation has changed. And for those companies facing the 2027 maintenance deadline for SAP ECC 6, that is good news. In today’s cloud-first, ‘adopt not adapt model, there are no more white boards. No more consultants offering to customise software to meet any business need. And no more long drawn implementations – followed by...

Travel industry, ‘check-in’ on cart abandonment

Andrew Armitage • 23rd January 2023

People are not loyal to travel brands now – they can’t afford to be. With the right deal and customer experience, there is an opportunity to capture the huge number of customers who will be shopping for their summer deals this month and beyond.

Five Benefits of Cloud-Based Test Automation

Adil Mohammed • 17th January 2023

Test automation has increased in popularity in recent years, however, previously, software has been hindered by a slow pace and an inability to scale with companies at every stage of growth. These challenges became increasingly apparent during the Covid-19 lockdowns when workforces were forced to move almost fully remote. Right now, we are still adjusting...

Five Benefits of Cloud-Based Test Automation

Adil Mohammed • 17th January 2023

Test automation has increased in popularity in recent years, however, previously, software has been hindered by a slow pace and an inability to scale with companies at every stage of growth. These challenges became increasingly apparent during the Covid-19 lockdowns when workforces were forced to move almost fully remote. Right now, we are still adjusting...

Protecting Data Irrespective of Infrastructure

Simon Pamplin • 16th January 2023

The cyber security threat has risen so high in recent years that most companies globally now accept that a data breach is almost inevitable. But what does this mean for the data protection and compliance officers, as well as senior managers, now personally liable for protecting sensitive company, customer and partner data?

Protecting Data Irrespective of Infrastructure

Simon Pamplin • 16th January 2023

The cyber security threat has risen so high in recent years that most companies globally now accept that a data breach is almost inevitable. But what does this mean for the data protection and compliance officers, as well as senior managers, now personally liable for protecting sensitive company, customer and partner data?